jogging and motivation thread

LWZ

These few days keep raining but found a window to go for a jog

Attempt 1 last week was 3mins (LOL)
Attempt 2 doubled to 6 mins.
Today finally pushed to 10mins of very very slow pace jog without stopping.

Ignoring distance and speed.. just trying to get my heart pumping again after years of inactivity.

Gonna try and get used to 10mins before pushing further.
Yeah gradual progressive is the way to go.

Exercise is good anyway.

Nicholas92

also wan to go easy on the knees and ankles so that dont pain here pain there

maciam like i early 40s but parts also becoming LKK lidat haha

and prolly some better sleep quality too
I 10 years younger than you, already feel the machinery inside LKK also

exercise and diet is like maintenance and fuel, I Bo maintain so spoil early hais

matey1982

I 10 years younger than you, already feel the machinery inside LKK also

exercise and diet is like maintenance and fuel, I Bo maintain so spoil early hais

think i go easy not to pound the path or run too fast these days cos wan to spare the knees and ankles lor
probably weather also play a part cos sometimes get demotivated whilst the morning heat can be sweltering

amongst the many things i hope to also have is better quality sleep
cos sometimes sleep for 7-9 hours liao
morning wake up still at times lerthargic/sleepy

xllms

These few days keep raining but found a window to go for a jog

Attempt 1 last week was 3mins (LOL)
Attempt 2 doubled to 6 mins.
Today finally pushed to 10mins of very very slow pace jog without stopping.

Ignoring distance and speed.. just trying to get my heart pumping again after years of inactivity.

Gonna try and get used to 10mins before pushing further.
you can also try to do brisk walking if slow pace jogging is too strenous.

LWZ

Good for you. envious you have the emart options.
Oh, my pair was bought at the end of March 2023, just before I officially MR. :D

Pity about the hole at the side, cos the rest of the shoe (especially the soles) is still solid

xllms

jialat, once started running consistently, 买买买bug is biting me again...just placed an order for the XTEP 特步 160x5
Screenshot-2024-02-12-20-50-37-05-090d9ae461b065ca11c329abb9cd0d70.jpg

LWZ

Fell down while running outside for the second time in 4 weeks. Wonder what's happening with me...

This usually happens once a year at most.

Kuudere

Ya. My fastest ever was 9:57, which strangely was as an NSman in the midst of long hours and days in the accounting Big 4
Given that it's Sg, that's probably equivalent to 9.46 abroad. Got to factor in humidity/heat too.
jialat, once started running consistently, 买买买bug is biting me again...just placed an order for the XTEP 特步 160x5
Screenshot-2024-02-12-20-50-37-05-090d9ae461b065ca11c329abb9cd0d70.jpg
Planning to get a new shoe soon too, since my current pair of shoes a bit spoiled after running 1.5 yr with it.
Fell down while running outside for the second time in 4 weeks. Wonder what's happening with me...

This usually happens once a year at most.
Might be shoe stability.

WussRedXLi

The driver sleeping ah ?

My biggest fear of such seemingly light bangs + subsequent falls (be it from the bonnet of car or from my bicycle) is that i kena some wrist, collarbone/upper arms or pelvis fracture, which older people like esp above age 50 is more susceptible. Dont even have to talk about the real accidents in which bang until buay lin chu and lay on the ground one, that one i dont even dare to think about it.
The medical costs (private) no joke, dont even have to tell me about it, my wife super expert liao even with private hosp coverage with 10% rider.

Can only hope that since 2020, my Mg (Mg glycinate), D3 and a wee wee bit of Calcium supplementation is worth it. And also from the stimulus of the impacts from exercising, w regards to bone matrix density.

That also prob explains with my obsession with safety.

WussRedXLi

I guess we will have to wait for more news to be announce. But still a pity we won't get to see him in action again. Sad day for the running community.
Who is driving? I wouldn't think it was Kiptum, since he is putting alot of effort in training for the coming Rotterdam MArathon. He would risk his fitness with alchohol.

I came across a youtube vid that Kiptum's father asking for official investigation from Kenya president and police chief. The father said a few days ago got 4 unknown men coming to his house asking for the whereabouts of Kiptum. :oops: :oops:

I think this ought to be fully investigated, quite a lot at stake esp with rotterdam just 2 months away.

WussRedXLi

Could be one of those 30/40 years record that cannot break Liao :(

The other thing is that this fella with so much talent (and good genetics) has his whole road paved in front of him liao.....at least for the next 10-15 years. This is esp so for Kenyans, and his family and NOK is poor.....so really means a lot.

WussRedXLi

Hard to contest 2 hr, so far only Kibiwott Kandie and Jacob Kiplimo have the pace based on their HM timings.

Kibiwott 2.04 marathon runner, haven't fully transited to marathon and Kiplimo still haven't transited.

Kiplimo has 3x 57 min half marathon finishes more than Kibiwott, but Kibiwott more consistent (always run below 1 hr, current world lead at 57.40).

Really no more contender liao. Kiptum 2.00.35 recently was our mankind's best shot.

See what kipchoge has up his sleeves, hope his age he still can tahan, no joke also. See if kiptum's pressure spurred him to have something special in him left, for Paris Olympics.
Life goes on, we must remain positive.

Ender

Really no more contender liao. Kiptum 2.00.35 recently was our mankind's best shot.

See what kipchoge has up his sleeves, hope his age he still can tahan, no joke also. See if kiptum's pressure spurred him to have something special in him left, for Paris Olympics.
Life goes on, we must remain positive.
Kipchoge's next run is the Tokyo Marathon in March. It's the next interesting marathon after Rotterdam if Kiptum was to run. But agree, no one contender liao. Even Kipchoge, I think hard to go under 2:01. Remember reducing 1 min from 2:01 is alot harder compare to 2:02 and 2:02 is alot harder than 2:03.

WussRedXLi

Wow....second incoming wave @ ard 4pm.
Tonight also shd be good for cycling/running/walking after work.
Huat ah!

WussRedXLi

Kipchoge's next run is the Tokyo Marathon in March. It's the next interesting marathon after Rotterdam if Kiptum was to run. But agree, no one contender liao. Even Kipchoge, I think hard to go under 2:01. Remember reducing 1 min from 2:01 is alot harder compare to 2:02 and 2:02 is alot harder than 2:03.
Oh wow...3rd mar. 2.5 more weeks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.