jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

This one I have my doubt. Too front heavy. Not a joke.. Coz endurance sport is extreme fat burning .. an efficient fat burner has a very typical shape profile. Maybe she is an outlier.

Wah good observation. You have a point....didnt think of that before seriously.

She did post the results tho so it shd be real. For her maybe is a bit outlier, not intending to be rude to her but possibly modified also. Her shape seems to be shapely type also. I\ll see if can find the 42.

Other than 10K she also finiished a few local and overseas marathons. Cant remember the time but it isnt slow.

WussRedXLi

Not sure what was the nett time, but this was gun time (4.30hrs)

Somemore she walked a bit i think

uxNAIBc.jpg

sph777

IMG-1697.jpg
IMG-1695.png
IMG-1694.png
IMG-1693.png

Today is track day. 8X600m at 4min/km (2:24) with 200m jog in between. Followed by short jog then 4 X 400m sprint at 90s with 200m jog in between. Ran at home of athletics stadium. Missed 2 of the 600 splits as first one was still gauging distance and 2nd last one chilled a bit too much before the last set. Hit all the 400m sprints.

sph777

This one I have my doubt. Too front heavy. Not a joke.. Coz endurance sport is extreme fat burning .. an efficient fat burner has a very typical shape profile. Maybe she is an outlier.
To be fair. I am fat but can pb 10km around 42 also so I don’t think it is impossible as she is just top heavy. I’m 1.73m and 88kg lol

sph777

Can I ask if half way urgent during the marathon, how ?
Go the nearest toilet. Got toilets along the route at some points. If not then tactical, find a bush somewhere hidden lol. I rmb 2022 rain delay, immediately at start saw so many guys just run to nearest grass patch and do it lol

Ender

To be fair. I am fat but can pb 10km around 42 also so I don’t think it is impossible as she is just top heavy. I’m 1.73m and 88kg lol
You are an outlier. That's why i left the possibility of she being an outlier in the statement.

WussRedXLi

Recently I've been starting to cycle too with the green bikes that are everywhere. Quite fun but no plans to invest in a bike yet. Gonna ride for a few more session and see how things goes.

Just get a cheap foldie or something and you'd be a rocket on PCNs already. Whether to cycle on the road (other than those short distances for getting between point A and point B nearby) really depends on your risk appetite, coz that is the only area where you can legally get above 25kmh.
Those with 9 speed Sora 22" wheels more than enough gearing for you to pace road bikes weekend warriors.
Endurance shd be a piece of cake for you.

In doing so, your quads mainly might take a bit of getting used to, but the lactate capacity for this muscle would grow and you'll adapt in no time, just maybe 2-3 months shd be great.

This abang i think late 40s or even 50s

Bonus

Ender

Is your high BMI is contributed by muscle mass.

WussRedXLi

IMG-1697.jpg
IMG-1695.png
IMG-1694.png
IMG-1693.png
Today is track day. 8X600m at 4min/km (2:24) with 200m jog in between. Followed by short jog then 4 X 400m sprint at 90s with 200m jog in between. Ran at home of athletics stadium. Missed 2 of the 600 splits as first one was still gauging distance and 2nd last one chilled a bit too much before the last set. Hit all the 400m sprints.

Today clear holiday in lieu ah?

WussRedXLi

first of all, don't think i can sustain my last week's mileage as it was clear leave period. now fully back to work, even if i can keep to 4x/weekly runs, don't think i can spend too much time doing my runs on tuesdays and wednesdays.

45+km/week is possible if i keep to 4x weekly as i normally do 2x6km per run. so a week total will be approx. 48km. if i replace one of such runs to a 20km, it will go beyond 50km/week.

other factors will be work schedule and body recuperation status, eg. don't think i can run tomorrow morning after sat's 22km and yesterday's 15km. now feeling quite breathless. 🤣

I think if you are going to start aiming for longer distances and also the requisite higher mileages, really need to see if you have the time or not.
Coz the recovery aspect, as in sufficient quality sleep, i think is pretty impt.

For my experience, i think for running i don't share already, i posted the improvements......but seriously the improvements are not that quick and clear to see, in terms of training and sleep.

What is even clearer, in my experience, is the improvements in the area of strength training, in the number of (quality) reps as well as able to progressively load. I do daily, but just short periods on coz i load different muscles via different exercises on alternate days. Sometimes i might take 1 rest day, but i never hit say for eg decline/diamond push ups, calf raises basically bodyweight stuff on consecutive days. Then other muscles with resistance bands via rows/curls/good mornings/whatever.
Earlier on in the strengthening/body weight game, i have ever tried consecutive days push ups......really not much power at all, not productive one.

But then for strength training there is 1 big difference from running/cycling or sometimes walking with the wife........and that is strength training is train till near failure. For running cycling still got zone 1 zone 2 stuff, so i think can do 6-7 times a week. But regardless, i think sleep is damn important, since late 2022 i place a lot of emphasis on this, so much so that sometimes i take melatonin. But largely with good sleep habits and sleep hygiene and with some melatonin, more or less is can get at least 7 hrs daily, vast majority of the time is quality.

But not asking folks to try melatonn, it might not be a good thing esp if you are using it for longer periods.
Quite personal thing this one.......
But then sometimes i really need to wake up at 5am, so really need to get to sleep by 9.30pm latest, so........
Nowadays cooler weather at night so at least can do evening sessions as it's not too warm.

But if work demands (regular OT?) and the commute/family schedules cannot let you squeeze in enough sleep + training time, it's gonna be quite tough.

And then for me, i also place some emphasis on diet and supplements. Not sure how much the effect that has though...... But i do know for the kinf of supplements that i and my wife are taking, it does show up in my wife's blood tests. eg iron, D3, calcium (Calcium one is my mother in law). Coz some do not believe in these chemical supplementation.....of coz if your diet can eat enough of real quality food then that is the best.

ps. I know for sure if sick with colds/flus, really need the sleep. If it's just a slight cold and you think it's ok, no need to sleep it off, that bout of cold sure drag one. Then sleep 1 night solid one, next day like literally symptomless liao.....recovered. I think most of you would have experienced before.

mewmew

how to tackle joint pain during jog?
fweels rike moi joints are breaking on landing every step esp at the side of knee level

Jeremy1

Urgent find toilet lor. Pre race pang sai is a ritual I try my best to adhere to. Lol.

What I mean is that during the run, will there be any toilet booth along the Marathon route which you can go so that your run will not be diverted and still be valid for the Marathon.

WussRedXLi

how to tackle joint pain during jog?
fweels rike moi joints are breaking on landing every step esp at the side of knee level
Have to take it easy, let it fully recover first, it could be weeks or even 2-3 months in serious cases. Then try again.

Likely you did some training errors earlier on and kena some slight injury. Need to slowly up the mileage, ie 10% increase every week. That means 2 km this week , next week then attemp 2.2, then 2.4 3rd week etc.
Maybe if you are already middle aged, you might aim for 2 weeks then increase mileage.

Either that or do stuff like cycling, i really find that cycling less demands on the joints, aerobic capacity still can help increase. Quite a bit different demand in various muscle groups though....though it's still exercise/training.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.