jogging and motivation thread

xllms

This is LSD?.. 22km it is.. Good job.. But next day rest well for recovery. I always find LSD need more recovery compare to high intensity session. I will make sure I get a good portion of protein (meat for me) intake after run and all the way to the next day.
craving for burgers now 😂
wanted to do a fast 10km initially (57-59min), but slowed down after feeling a twitch on my hamstring during the 500m. Return run was more towards LSD cos worried hamstring and also feel rather 喘. Then cramps slowly came in.

xllms

My left upper hamstring portion also a wee bit niggle. Just a wee bit of feeling tho, no pain no nothing.

Think wont have any specific running sessions for the next 2 weeks.....just the daily getting to work/returning and returning home for lunch short sessions.
Yah, mine this morning similar situation on my right hamstring after one week’s rest. After a few hundred metres, felt a twitch, straight away slow down.

WussRedXLi

Yah, mine this morning similar situation on my right hamstring after one week’s rest. After a few hundred metres, felt a twitch, straight away slow down.

For me 1 week usually not enough from my previous experience with my hamstring. Not that i cannot run through it, but my experience is that if i dont let this heal 100%, it would never go away, even after 2 weeks, 3 weeks, 4 weeks of lowered volume. And then your fear is that it's worsen so you never do stuff like hills or even strides. Then LLST. So just stop running, at least 2 weeks.

But now with cycling, this fear of any significant de-training is gone. Just total rest, 2 weeks test again if not then 4 weeks, no pressure at all.
Plus my daily home-to-office-to-home-to-office-to-home is rather short (1km each leg), so lagi better. Not 1 shot do 4-4.5k.

Current running level i am more or less ok liao. Need to train more for cycling.

xllms

For me 1 week usually not enough from my previous experience with my hamstring. Not that i cannot run through it, but my experience is that if i dont let this heal 100%, it would never go away, even after 2 weeks, 3 weeks, 4 weeks of lowered volume. And then your fear is that it's worsen so you never do stuff like hills or even strides. Then LLST. So just stop running, at least 2 weeks.

But now with cycling, this fear of any significant de-training is gone. Just total rest, 2 weeks test again if not then 4 weeks, no pressure at all.
Plus my daily home-to-office-to-home-to-office-to-home is rather short (1km each leg), so lagi better. Not 1 shot do 4-4.5k.
yah, i have the same worry as well, thats y don't dare go all out. can feel my stamina going down thats y must run at least once a week trying to sustain. once fully recover will work towards alternate days runs.

Kuudere

Are we allowed into school tracks?
Poly and uni is fine, can go on weekdays and weekends depending on the opening time.

Only issue to be concerned is when the track team trains. For ngee ann poly, they usually train on wed/fri. NUS trains on mon/thur.
Don't run your long run at more than 40% of your weekly mileage. High chance to get injury.

Also, bring water bottle to hydrate or stop at water cooler if the run takes a while to finish.

WussRedXLi

Some training talk/mindset from a cyclist

15 hrs per week.
Now more time = 20 hrs weekly.

luei74

Decided to make it a 3x runs within a week. Enjoy your weekend run guys🙏🙏

N415nwx.jpeg

xllms

Don't run your long run at more than 40% of your weekly mileage. High chance to get injury.

Also, bring water bottle to hydrate or stop at water cooler if the run takes a while to finish.

This week 0 mileage, today 10+12km. :ROFLMAO:

Normally drink after the run, at vending machine or convenient store.

Kuudere

Anyways, what is done is done liao, focus on recovery now

Can try these stretches for calf/hamstring

Best is to find a route with a water point midway, good to train hydration for the longer races

Ender

Under 21km, I usually don't drink during run. Unless it's a hot and humid evening. Not advising this though

And for lsd, ever since I started using TAO, I bring hydration along for the run, so to minimize stopping. TAO analysis is only accurate if you don't stop or pause your run. Basically it considered elapse time instead of moving time.

milkiee

Under 21km, I usually don't drink during run. Unless it's a hot and humid evening. Not advising this though

And for lsd, ever since I started using TAO, I bring hydration along for the run, so to minimize stopping. TAO analysis is only accurate if you don't stop or pause your run. Basically it considered elapse time instead of moving time.

i always have to stop my watch because of traffic light. jialat.

Ender

i always have to stop my watch because of traffic light. jialat.
TAO did ask you to disable auto pause or auto stop on your watch. Also plan you route with no disruption from traffic light. That is if you want TAO to have accurate data.

As for off season run, I also pause at traffic light. Only when I have to run to another neighborhood to check out some food stalls, else it would be PCN with minimal disruption.

WussRedXLi

Numb to this liao. Who the F rides until like this, ok not to dismount by fly through the zebra crossing?

Flew 3 m. His left elbow and left kneecap area road rash type of lacerations sure somewhat deep like mine.
Good luck, easily 6 months before 95% recovery.....coz it's gonna heal and tear and heal and tear and heal and tear, esp the elbow area. It's a hotspot area.

Heng shd be no fractures coz the Nissan not going fast.

He is lucky that he did not land head first, without a helmet.

milkiee

TAO did ask you to disable auto pause or auto stop on your watch. Also plan you route with no disruption from traffic light. That is if you want TAO to have accurate data.

As for off season run, I also pause at traffic light. Only when I have to run to another neighborhood to check out some food stalls, else it would be PCN with minimal disruption.
wah cannot sia. mine will definitely have traffic lights or cars turning into small roads.

WussRedXLi

Trainsition to running
Dont know why must race around car race track

Anyway, they are coming in April

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.