jogging and motivation thread

raylong

6 months ago I say I want to reduce my HR by 10 bpm for 5k
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...vation-thread.6863001/page-212#post-149546304

Back in Aug 2023 very cham...
8aUt133.jpeg

Now after 7 months of low HR training...
s9UZVgJ.jpeg

Secret sauce:
Average 160 km/mth
6.5 hrs / week of running
85% easy, 10% zone 3-4, 5% zone 4-5
1st month pure MAF only, 2nd month onwards must at least 1-2 hard runs

So far improvement is quite linear. My goal is 10km under 60 minutes, that means must maintain 5:59/km for 10k (knn). Current improvement: red bar disappearing but still not enough. Will need to grow more green and orange bar. Wait for 2 more improvements. By then HR will dock 4 more bpm. Swee.

Ender

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...vation-thread.6863001/page-212#post-149546304

8aUt133.jpeg

s9UZVgJ.jpeg

Secret sauce:
Average 160 km/mth

So far improvement is quite linear. My goal is 10km under 60 minutes, that means must maintain 5:59/km for 10k (knn). Current improvement: red bar disappearing but still not enough. Will need to grow more green and orange bar. Wait for 2 more improvements. By then HR will dock 4 more bpm. Swee.
Good job to lower hr. That's a significant improvement.

raylong

Good job to lower hr. That's a significant improvement.
Gamxia. During the months of training sometimes don't feel like running but persist anyway. Honestly run until very sian. After the recent improvement I also start running lesser and no longer look at my watch, just let the feel take over.

Jeremy1

Gamxia. During the months of training sometimes don't feel like running but persist anyway. Honestly run until very sian. After the recent improvement I also start running lesser and no longer look at my watch, just let the feel take over.

How do you manage to lower your hr ?

xllms

Thanks, 必迈 惊碳fly looks interesting. After conversion only 80ish 90 bucks. pretty reasonable.

Probably will load one to try try...

Any other worthy china jogging shoe to recommend?

a couple of us here really think 乔丹飞影pb3.0 is really value for money. The latest version is pb4.0. To me pb3.0 has the qualities between adidas adios pro 3 and takumi sen 9.

many top marathon athletics in China are using xtep特步

raylong

How do you manage to lower your hr ?
By doing low heart rate running. You do most of your run at 70 - 75% of your maximum heart rate. Then once every 2 weeks a 10 minutes hard run at >90% HR

To know your max HR you need a watch and strap to measure. Run and gradually pick up speed, let your heart rate slowly rise to the maximum. See how high your HR can reach. That's your max HR. If you don't want to do that just use 220 minus your age. Eg. 220 - age 35 = 185 max hr

sph777

Limped and still get sub 1:51. For the coming Income econ run, I can get sub 2, will be happy liao.
Get rested and recover well. Maybe cross trained with sometime else more like swimming.

congrats. limped your. way pass finish line in sub 2 timing. damn steady
👍

Slowly recover and get well soon, kena this last time when I got cramp in the last km of the run.
Thanks, now will probably take a break from running, completely recover from the left calf strain then come back. In the meantime do spin or swim.

sph777

8aUt133.jpeg

s9UZVgJ.jpeg

Secret sauce:
Average 160 km/mth

Very impressive. Keep it up!

xllms

By doing low heart rate running. You do most of your run at 70 - 75% of your maximum heart rate. Then once every 2 weeks a 10 minutes hard run at >90% HR

To know your max HR you need a watch and strap to measure. Run and gradually pick up speed, let your heart rate slowly rise to the maximum. See how high your HR can reach. That's your max HR. If you don't want to do that just use 220 minus your age. Eg. 220 - age 35 = 185 max hr
like that for 50yr old person,
75% of max heart rate based on (220-age) = 3/4 x (220-50) = approx.128.

must do 9-10min/km pace to achieve that. brisk walking liao.

Ender

Hahaha, that's why I say once a runner can do an all out 5km run, go and do the threshold test and use threshold HR for zoning instead of maxHR.
That's why we see some runners show their Garmin screenshot that shows running at zone 5 for 30mins . I believe Garmin just use 220-age as default maxHR to zone your intensity zone if you didn't overwrite it .

Jeremy1

Hahaha, that's why I say once a runner can do an all out 5km run, go and do the threshold test and use threshold HR for zoning instead of maxHR.
That's why we see some runners show their Garmin screenshot that shows running at zone 5 for 30mins . I believe Garmin just use 220-age as default maxHR to zone your intensity zone if you didn't overwrite it .

Yes but through the times, garmin max hr will adjust like for me initially was 163 but now change to 167

WussRedXLi

Walking can achieved 1.27 hours 😱

Yeah....iirc Garcia Leon walks at around 4.20-4.25 min/km pace (20km) the last time i calculated. That's for zhar boh.

For guys, fastest 1 mile is around 5.30 min or around 3.25 pace

For normal races. 20km the guys do around 3.55 pace.
50km they do around 4hrs, 4.45 pace.

Personally, i have TT-ed 2.4, 3 laps at my place / 3 * 800m........managed to come in under 12 mins 30 seconds, ie my last IPPT passing mark nearly 20 years ago. One of my play-play type of goals. :ROFLMAO:
For fast intervals, managed to sustain 4.10 pace for 400m (1 min 40 seconds), slightly faster than Garcia Leon, but of coz i cannot sustain more than that. The lactic acid is terrible.

But nowadays i don't racewalk already, I just focus on cycling first and then a bit of running.

xllms

Yeah....iirc Garcia Leon walks at around 4.20-4.25 min/km pace (20km) the last time i calculated. That's for zhar boh.

For guys, fastest 1 mile is around 5.30 min or around 3.25 pace

For normal races. 20km the guys do around 3.55 pace.
50km they do around 4hrs, 4.45 pace.

Personally, i have TT-ed 2.4, 3 laps at my place / 3 * 800m........managed to come in under 12 mins 30 seconds, ie my last IPPT passing mark nearly 20 years ago. One of my play-play type of goals. :ROFLMAO:
For fast intervals, managed to sustain 4.10 pace for 400m (1 min 40 seconds), slightly faster than Garcia Leon, but of coz i cannot sustain more than that. The lactic acid is terrible.

But nowadays i don't racewalk already, I just focus on cycling first and then a bit of running.
garcia leon walking pace faster than my running pace 😂

sph777

the physiotherapist said based on my current calf condition, should take a 1-2 month break from running o_O

Kuudere

Thanks, now will probably take a break from running, completely recover from the left calf strain then come back. In the meantime do spin or swim.
I know a friend that went to run 18km easy run today after the HM yesterday. He didn't hit his expected timings but can understand the emotional frustration to run and get his mind off the HM. Of course, it's not good for recovery.

In terms of pace, it should be 40s - 1min/km slower than current pace for that specific distance. If you run faster than that, your legs will feel more tired after the run. I usually run slightly faster than this for long run but I make sure to do a slow recovery run the day afterwards.

40s - 1 min/km will usually satisfy the 70-75%. Longer distance, maybe 1 min.

I know a girl from my club that did her HM at 5.06-5.07 min/km yesterday and her usual runs are in the low 6.00 min/km pace (6.05-6.07).

Slower than this is also ok, provided you have the time.
the physiotherapist said based on my current calf condition, should take a 1-2 month break from running o_O
Definitely take a break, do cross training if necessary.

Runs need to adaptive. For e.g. you scale up intervals and/or threshold, long run must be either shorter distance and/or slower pace, just to compensate. If you end up not doing threshold, then you can push more for long run, but definitely not HMP for >12km (time trial).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.