jogging and motivation thread

Ender

You can try testing it on track, put your bottle at one corner cool yourself down from time to time

Yes, it's a different workout but it was harder, I was doing 3k easy, 5k steady, 6k HMP. I usually go for harder workout compared to the previous week, to see if I can improve on that. For that run, I tweaked my strategy and then run longer and faster.

I managed to run faster at a longer distance, not having to exert as hard. And I think I can still improve on that, since it's a work in progress.

First 3km: 5.20
Mid 5km: 4.55
Last 6.14km: 4.32

From a comparison standpoint, it's definitely not as exact as what you are getting at. But I want to keep tweaking the strategy to optimise it to be more efficient and also injury-free.

I am more concerned with heat and recovery runs. Not really on cardiac drift. The avg. HR is a lot higher during recovery runs because of the heat. I believe that slowing down is important but it shouldn't come at the expense of changing running form too much. Most of the times, I just go with vdot/macmillian calculator for recovery pace at the slower end of it. This would still give me 150+ avg. HR because of the heat. During the run, I could still run at conversational pace with my sibling. The national triathlete, Aaron Lee went from threadmill running with air con at 125 avg. HR to 153 avg. HR, despite slowing down his pace 5.27 > 6.07.

At the end of the day, what matters is that my legs are not feeling too fatigue after the easy run. And it serves that purpose even though I am running at 150 avg. HR, which isn't considered as easy by the watch. If this was the case and I have been doing this for weeks, I will be injured by now for going too hard continuously for my easy runs.
Maybe I old liao. For me, easy day, has to mean easy. SO there will not be slotting in pushing abit, farlek hill climb., Just pure mileage accumulation. The type of load that can be done everyday if there's no high intensity days or LSD days. In fact I did that with MAF training during the lock down. Every run was easy, and ran almost everyday. Surprise thing was I got my 5km PB during the covid with no threshold or interval training in 2020 or 2021. And it's still puzzle me why like that. My watch also reduce my Vo2max (estimated) to low 40s then due to the slow and low intensity runs.

ctan84

Maybe I old liao. For me, easy day, has to mean easy. SO there will not be slotting in pushing abit, farlek hill climb., Just pure mileage accumulation. The type of load that can be done everyday if there's no high intensity days or LSD days. In fact I did that with MAF training during the lock down. Every run was easy, and ran almost everyday. Surprise thing was I got my 5km PB during the covid with no threshold or interval training in 2020 or 2021. And it's still puzzle me why like that. My watch also reduce my Vo2max (estimated) to low 40s then due to the slow and low intensity runs.
Mai say that lah. 2nd or even third wind in running life is always possible one.

Here, see this: https://run.outsideonline.com/people/how-73-year-old-jeannie-rice-keeps-getting-faster/

Ender

Yep, ok will try to run on treadmill in aircon room the next time I get an opportunity.

Cos I cannot tahan running on treadmill, scenery never change I will get very bored. So far all my runs are done outdoors. But think need to run on it once in awhile to track my progress.
Train outside lah. Drift qiu drift lor, mybfd.
My Seng kang side, got one barefoot runner. He the one that intro me MAF running. His has this habit to do afternoon run in the hot sun (like 10km) a couple of time a week ontop of his usual evening run.
His easy days are >20km, coz his maf pace is fast. 124bpm run at <5:30 pace. no cardiac drift throughout his 25km -30km run all MAF.

Irenicus91

Train outside lah. Drift qiu drift lor, mybfd.
My Seng kang side, got one barefoot runner. He the one that intro me MAF running. His has this habit to do afternoon run in the hot sun (like 10km) a couple of time a week ontop of his usual evening run.
His easy days are >20km, coz his maf pace is fast. 124bpm run at <5:30 pace. no cardiac drift throughout his 25km -30km run all MAF.
Ya, planning to continue running outside at the park mostly. Run treadmill / track really bo feel.

Wah he run MAF for how long liao sia, must be many years by this point?

The track during afternoon really quite hot de sia, maybe contributed to his speed

WussRedXLi

Zhun boh, this year Skechers run is at 4pm in June sports hub ah.

Right now 3.42pm Tai Seng is heat index 40 deg C leh. Dont think at Sports Hub is radically different.
Probably standard route, Stadium walk, Geylang PCN, ME, GBTB, turn.

Too hardcore for me.

WussRedXLi

Yep, ok will try to run on treadmill in aircon room the next time I get an opportunity.

Cos I cannot tahan running on treadmill, scenery never change I will get very bored. So far all my runs are done outdoors. But think need to run on it once in awhile to track my progress.

I cannot tahan treadmill too....plus currently no easy access to it. I dont really like the heat also.
Some folks might some help in finding/experiencing easy paces without being bogged down by the drift.
As you get more conditioned and acclimatised, the drift would get better.

In fact even 5+ am start on the bike is abit warm and just bearable for easy cycling paces, but i'll take it.....coz no other solution. Cannot be always wait till extended rainy weather or wait till Dec - Mar then whack (Even then there would be some drift, just less).

milkiee

i have started threadmill running recently due to change in schedule.
the activesg gym pass is quite cheap for offpeak hours (mon - thurs) at $40 for 6-months.

yeah it is quite boring and i just listen to the podcast while running.
another issue is that you can smell other people sweat because the treadmills are next to one another in a closed environment. if you get a heavy sweater next to you then gg.com

Jeremy1

Uncle just completed my treadmill run for today :s21:

Screenshot-2024-04-26-at-18-27-40.png

Jeremy1

i have started threadmill running recently due to change in schedule.
the activesg gym pass is quite cheap for offpeak hours (mon - thurs) at $40 for 6-months.

yeah it is quite boring and i just listen to the podcast while running.
another issue is that you can smell other people sweat because the treadmills are next to one another in a closed environment. if you get a heavy sweater next to you then gg.com

The AF Gym which I went to super new and inside only have 5 persons using :grin:

WussRedXLi

I really dont understand how come broad daylight and ultra slow moving target in relatively bright clothings also couldnt see........

Ender

My watch record this evening outside temperature as 31C. That' s after 7pm. Supposedly easy run feels like LSD, was dragging and wanted to finish early before the TAO schedule duration. But pushed on to the end, coz the end is nearer to McDee.. Went for the 50c ice cream cone. shiok.

Before the run, the recovery value was 68. Usually on normal day, with this similar distance, will drop to the 30+ range. The heat exhaustion is no joke.

galvin

I am the opposite from you all here and can only run on treadmills because i want to control my pace. Never ran outside before except events like SCSM and AHM etc.

I setup a tablet to watch Youtube music videos while i run so i dont get bored lol. I have a powerful air circulator in front for the wind.

dreamaurora

My watch record this evening outside temperature as 31C. That' s after 7pm. Supposedly easy run feels like LSD, was dragging and wanted to finish early before the TAO schedule duration. But pushed on to the end, coz the end is nearer to McDee.. Went for the 50c ice cream cone. shiok.

Before the run, the recovery value was 68. Usually on normal day, with this similar distance, will drop to the 30+ range. The heat exhaustion is no joke.

Yeah, the heat exhaustion is no joke. I think these few weeks just run by feel instead of keeping to pace.

I registered for the Laguna Phuket Marathon, I think it's going to be brutal.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.