jogging and motivation thread

Jeremy1

Next Wednesday, going for a morning run with a friend who will trained me how to run :s21:

Ender

I dont know why but i think 2.4k distance or even 3K is also possible to attain a max HR value already.....just a feeling. Must not be afraid to try though. 5k times 2 the distance is quite siong for many beginners or even intermediate. Esp with the current weather here
To me,max heart rate is elusive, especially to amateur runner. I think most of us never push to that level. Our mental is not there.
I watched an episode of this local runner who did a lab test vo2max. He gave up and what he thought was his max effort. But according to the lab guys, his hr is still rising when he gave up, meaning it actually can rise further.

Threshold hr is something most seasons runners can do and almost regularly. It is therefore to me the most practical way to zone and you can update it as regularly as you need. And the measurement of threshold hr is over a period of of say 30 mins, so a wrist base Optical HR would do alright since it is averaging.

ctan84

Thanks bro for your advise and encouragement.

my super slow speed for 10km I tried yesterday, constant average speed I checked is 10.40km/hr.
if I maintain this speed from the beginning, I think I have no problem complete the 10km run.

but bro, you know lah, when start, you see runners speeding, you automatically tried to run abit faster and that is a bad mistake as I might completely breadthless not even reach 5 km.
You mean min / km. If its 10.4km/hr you would have finished the 10km in about 59.5 mins.

ctan84

21.1Km I haven't tried before yet.

But if you can complete the 10Km at about 1 hour n 40 minutes. You base on this timing and calculate. Your HM should be able to complete within 4 hours.

By completing the HM, you'll get the finishing Tee Shirt and the medal so when you wear this Tee Shirt and walk outside, everyone will wow at you :s12:
Errr might not be a good idea to encourage him for HM. Spare a thought for the event organisers, severely under-trained participants are at very high risk for medical issues during the event one. Don't stress the organisers unncessarily leh.

Jeremy1

Errr might not be a good idea to encourage him for HM. Spare a thought for the event organisers, severely under-trained participants are at very high risk for medical issues during the event one. Don't stress the organisers unncessarily leh.

I think if can really slow jog at 10.40 pace, don't think anything can happened to you 🤔

ctan84

I think if can really slow jog at 10.40 pace, don't think anything can happened to you 🤔
Heat exhaustion, muscle cramp until cannot move lah, just plain fatigue until blackout or the worst - exercise-associated hyponatremia. Saw all of these cases b4 when I was on the other side of the fence. If anything, that 10km timing is an indication of a very under-prepared body liao.

Jeremy1

Heat exhaustion, muscle cramp until cannot move lah, or just plain fatigue until blackout. Saw all of these cases b4 when I was on the other side of the fence. If anything, that 10km timing is an indication of an under-prepared body liao.

But very slow jog also will happened ?

I think at a pace of 10.3 is really cfm zone 2 easy run liao.

That should be able to run for long without any problem and also there's water point so 🤔

ctan84

But very slow jog also will happened ?

I think at a pace of 10.3 is really cfm zone 2 easy run liao.

That should be able to run for long without any problem and also there's water point so 🤔
90% of the medical emergencies I had to handle last time when in the sports events industry nicely happened to the super back of the pack runners. So you tell me loh.

Jeremy1

90% of the medical emergencies I had to handle last time when in the sports events industry nicely happened to the super back of the pack runners. So you tell me loh.

I think bro Lchlch know his limits so no worries.

Actually I believe if can maintained Zone 2 running for 3 hours cfm completing a HM is np at all 🤔

WussRedXLi

To me,max heart rate is elusive, especially to amateur runner. I think most of us never push to that level. Our mental is not there.
I watched an episode of this local runner who did a lab test vo2max. He gave up and what he thought was his max effort. But according to the lab guys, his hr is still rising when he gave up, meaning it actually can rise further.

Threshold hr is something most seasons runners can do and almost regularly. It is therefore to me the most practical way to zone and you can update it as regularly as you need. And the measurement of threshold hr is over a period of of say 30 mins, so a wrist base Optical HR would do alright since it is averaging.

I think most males would have been there, just unknowingly. IPPT. Regardless of training level. So see if got the chance to measure that or not with a decent device. Should get a good enough number.
I remember once that i ran the time of my whole life. Even vs current level.
Even though it was just 2.4, that time i remember i ran until i crouched down and legs so much lactate that i could not walk, and breathed so hard (maybe hyperventilating liao) that i almost blacked out. I remember telling myself not to do such things again just go for RT, coz had the nearly died feeling.
Oh yeah, tried to vomit and retched but nothing much came out, only dripping saliva.

Coz it was very difficult to ensure a pass and i didn't train much that year. Then suddenly the first 4 static stations all ok pass.......coz all the fellas also cheated a little lah. And then also came midpoint the marker and the fella handling out the airbase chopped pieces of cupboard were walking towards the start/end point ie less than 2.4k. The conducting officer and PTI nowhere to be seen one. The last few hundred metres or so i remember many of us were just running around and screaming, coz very good and easy chance to pass.
Those who finished already also screaming for us to hurry up, 12.30/12.40 mins cut off time coming liao, can pass one just dont give up.

ctan84

I think bro Lchlch know his limits so no worries.

Actually I believe if can maintained Zone 2 running for 3 hours cfm completing a HM is np at all 🤔
3 hours is still fine, but if 10km is 100mins, 21km won't be linearly extrapolated. Its gonna easily be 10k timing X 2 + 20mins or so, which is 220 mins or 3hr 40 mins loh. Look, I'm not trying to be elitist here, but won't a race/event be much more enjoyable if you dedicate sufficient time and effort to train/prepare for it, ensuring you can at least cover 75-80% of the distance comfortably in your training? I don't know about you, but I certainly don't think its very fun if the 2nd half of the distance I'm being baked under the sun wondering how far more to the end. Rule of thumb of when its reasonably good to take part in a half-marathon is clocking at least 1hr 15 - 1 hr 20 mins for your 10km run and you still have about 8-9 months left to prepare (run at least 3X a week) b4 the half-marathon event.

binbinpon

Do a gradual progression, though I don't believe in adding 10% mileage per week.

If one can do 10km, then he can train for HFM in a structured way. Once hit 20km, then aim for 30km gradually. Not wise to jump from 10km to 40km.

Just because 1 can run 10km at turtle pace, it may not be all smooth at 15km or 20km. There are cases where the joints start to fail, heat exhaution etc.

Slow and steady wins the race!

Jeremy1

3 hours is still fine, but if 10km is 100mins, 21km won't be linearly extrapolated. Its gonna easily be 10k timing X 2 + 20mins or so, which is 220 mins or 3hr 40 mins loh. Look, I'm not trying to be elitist here, but won't a race/event be much more enjoyable if you dedicate sufficient time and effort to train/prepare for it, ensuring you can at least cover 75-80% of the distance comfortably in your training? I don't know about you, but I certainly don't think its very fun if the 2nd half of the distance I'm being baked under the sun wondering how far more to the end. Rule of thumb of when its reasonably good to take part in a half-marathon is clocking at least 1hr 15 - 1 hr 20 mins for your 10km run and you still have about 8-9 months left to prepare (run at least 3X a week) b4 the half-marathon event.

I think it's a matter of stamina n endurance to complete the HM.

I think no matter how enjoyable it can be, at the end cfm will be very tiring liao.

Jeremy1

After reading from the experts here, I think I am going to try running 21.1K Garmin Race 🤔

I believe if I can really slow pace, I would be able to make it 🤔

Jeremy1

You would want this to occur probably at the last 2-2.5km, not at 11-12km mark loh.

That's why if run at slow pace zone 2, think should be 👌.

Hopefully my leg still no issue before end 🙏

If you don't see me here, that's mean I am happily in another world liao :s13:

Ender

I think most males would have been there, just unknowingly. IPPT. Regardless of training level. So see if got the chance to measure that or not with a decent device. Should get a good enough number.
I remember once that i ran the time of my whole life. Even vs current level.
Even though it was just 2.4, that time i remember i ran until i crouched down and legs so much lactate that i could not walk, and breathed so hard (maybe hyperventilating liao) that i almost blacked out. I remember telling myself not to do such things again just go for RT, coz had the nearly died feeling.
Oh yeah, tried to vomit and retched but nothing much came out, only dripping saliva.

Coz it was very difficult to ensure a pass and i didn't train much that year. Then suddenly the first 4 static stations all ok pass.......coz all the fellas also cheated a little lah. And then also came midpoint the marker and the fella handling out the airbase chopped pieces of cupboard were walking towards the start/end point ie less than 2.4k. The conducting officer and PTI nowhere to be seen one. The last few hundred metres or so i remember many of us were just running around and screaming, coz very good and easy chance to pass.
Those who finished already also screaming for us to hurry up, 12.30/12.40 mins cut off time coming liao, can pass one just dont give up.
I don't know run to vomit equals to max hr achieved.. as max hr protocol is a gradual incremental loading in stages.

Also how many of us do push to that level of crouching floor at our age? That's why even if we go for lab test, most of us would likely call off the test before max hr plateau. Threshold zoning is easier, practical and it is fitness base. Don't train, fitness down, threshold hr also down. Zoning also change. Train well, fitness up. Threshold goes up to around 90% of max hr.

ctan84

Bro I am using run keeper apps ans it show avg speed.
But I used 1 hr 40 min to complete 10km.
Alamak you do the math yourself lah. If you are running at 10.4km PER HOUR, it means in ONE hour you can cover more than 10km. But you took 1hr 40mins to cover 10km, so your speed clearly isn't 10.4km per hour wat. Face palm.....

Lchlch

Alamak you do the math yourself lah. If you are running at 10.4km PER HOUR, it means in ONE hour you can cover more than 10km. But you took 1hr 40mins to cover 10km, so your speed clearly isn't 10.4km per hour wat. Face palm.....
In another words, it should be 6km × per hour?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.