jogging and motivation thread

Ender

New change regime. Today, I am starting to Creatine load everyday. Since the training load given by TAO and my recent recovery for a flu, that is hard to recover in Feb, I think I need the help for recovery if I want to carry on with my regime. Especially so, when I need to be ready for SCSM cycle when July comes.
230a08c4120e45fea0507ad6328666b4_a13a613a523140d091897de22081feda.jpg_1200x1200q80.jpg_.webp

Watch this video for explanation,

WussRedXLi

I don't know run to vomit equals to max hr achieved.. as max hr protocol is a gradual incremental loading in stages.

Also how many of us do push to that level of crouching floor at our age? That's why even if we go for lab test, most of us would likely call off the test before max hr plateau. Threshold zoning is easier, practical and it is fitness base. Don't train, fitness down, threshold hr also down. Zoning also change. Train well, fitness up. Threshold goes up to around 90% of max hr.

Well no doubt LTHR tests even done on a personal level would be easier as it's a lower effort.
Wanna hit max really need to be mentally there....... actually have grown to like that feeling to be honest.

So maybe it's just me i guess. Mentally i really like speed, like to push.

Story : Nowadays I see cyclists gun, i also follow and gun, this is even more so than running coz the speed for cycling is more magnified than running.
Fixies are the easiest to "fix up with", coz they are young guns in their teens and filled with adrenaline so usually they are game. Already had a few times them following me......they are not like roadies which some are really really strong and the aerodynamics on road/TT bikes and riding position is so much better.....so definitely for me a aged 50+ on a foldie the odds against me are too great unless if talking about a national rider riding a foldie, then yeah there is a chance. 😂

Actually those TTs that i have been doing / posting all reached pretty close to MHR, which i previously deduced to be 181. Accurate or not i dont know.... I have never done proper LTHR as an alternate way to verify

Like last night, i reached a peak of 179.....was trying to see what is the max speed i can hit before going for a chill Z2 ride. Other than the lactate esp in the quads, i was also letting out sighs due to the high breathing rate. I know this feeling .....shdnt be too far off from max.

5PEW861.png

WjZYnJe.png

I zoomed in for this.....the first short peak and second peak with a small plateau is of a 1 min 40 seconds duration.

OVAaDER.jpg

WussRedXLi

New change regime. Today, I am starting to Creatine load everyday. Since the training load given by TAO and my recent recovery for a flu, that is hard to recover in Feb, I think I need the help for recovery if I want to carry on with my regime. Especially so, when I need to be ready for SCSM cycle when July comes.
230a08c4120e45fea0507ad6328666b4_a13a613a523140d091897de22081feda.jpg_1200x1200q80.jpg_.webp

You wanna improve your kicks at the end of the run for your FM?

Ender

You wanna improve your kicks at the end of the run for your FM?
Simi is kick?

Mainly I feel this year my fitness not so good, as hyperthyroid relapse coincide with the tricky flu, my recovery from my training til now has always be wanting more rest, but I pushed on the next day. So adding creatine regime to see if it will helps in recovery, coz SCSM training load going to increase alot for July. So felt the need to do something t improve recovery. Came across the above video, gave me the idea to introduce Creatine.

I also add on HRV monitoring, since Coros has HRV reading every night if I wear it to sleep. So far HRV usually gives me good to go for training each day, so I don't know the reliability of this metrics.

Ender

Well no doubt LTHR tests even done on a personal level would be easier as it's a lower effort.
Wanna hit max really need to be mentally there....... actually have grown to like that feeling to be honest.

So maybe it's just me i guess. Mentally i really like speed, like to push.

Story : Nowadays I see cyclists gun, i also follow and gun, this is even more so than running coz the speed for cycling is more magnified than running.
Fixies are the easiest to "fix up with", coz they are young guns in their teens and filled with adrenaline so usually they are game. Already had a few times them following me......they are not like roadies which some are really really strong and the aerodynamics on road/TT bikes and riding position is so much better.....so definitely for me a aged 50+ on a foldie the odds against me are too great unless if talking about a national rider riding a foldie, then yeah there is a chance. 😂

Actually those TTs that i have been doing / posting all reached pretty close to MHR, which i previously deduced to be 181. Accurate or not i dont know.... I have never done proper LTHR as an alternate way to verify

Like last night, i reached a peak of 179.....was trying to see what is the max speed i can hit before going for a chill Z2 ride. Other than the lactate esp in the quads, i was also letting out sighs due to the high breathing rate. I know this feeling .....shdnt be too far off from max.

5PEW861.png

WjZYnJe.png

I zoomed in for this.....the first short peak and second peak with a small plateau is of a 1 min 40 seconds duration.

OVAaDER.jpg
Anyway using LTHR, is don't want to know maxHR liao. But I think you are different from most of us folks. You can really push hard like an pro athletes. So ya, possible you found your max HR.

WussRedXLi

Anyway using LTHR, is don't want to know maxHR liao. But I think you are different from most of us folks. You can really push hard like an pro athletes. So ya, possible you found your max HR.

Prob i going the other way round.....i went searching for MHR route first and now maybe wanna aim LTHR route just to verify. haha.... but then like you said not much use also ba. It's more or less there.
Still, got some data better than no data and use the ubiquitous 220 - age to deduct.

WussRedXLi

Simi is kick?

Mainly I feel this year my fitness not so good, as hyperthyroid relapse coincide with the tricky flu, my recovery from my training til now has always be wanting more rest, but I pushed on the next day. So adding creatine regime to see if it will helps in recovery, coz SCSM training load going to increase alot for July. So felt the need to do something t improve recovery. Came across the above video, gave me the idea to introduce Creatine.

I also add on HRV monitoring, since Coros has HRV reading every night if I wear it to sleep. So far HRV usually gives me good to go for training each day, so I don't know the reliability of this metrics.

Kick as in the final surge at the end of the race.

Coz my (basic) knowledge of creatine monohydrate is mainly for short bursts of power, high resistance/high power kinda exercises.
eg for running esp shorter distances like 200-800. 2.4, 3k probably got use also.
Then for cycling is those 15 seconds sprints.
And of coz, powerlifting and the likes.

Creatine for recovery, not so sure never heard of that.

But it might have a significant downside, weight gain. Of coz, weight gains rather individual too.... i mean some folks so easy to gain weight. Some folks dont

For me not so easy to gain weight. But i have not touched Creatine, still.

So far the supplements i have touched on a very regular basis are Magnesium (glycinate), D3, curcuwin (Curcumin) to manage inflammation. Occasionally i take iron too but low weekly dose ba, and also once in a while a multi-vit chewable since it is cheap enough so dont really care even if it's just placeabo.
Nowadays quite occasionally is melatonin, but nowadays i shifted my timings to night as well so no need to be super siao on and ensure i sleep by 9.30 - 10.30pm. (i still do take esp if i wanna wake up early at 5am). I used to take a fair bit last time when i never do night sessions.
For food is canned sardines/don don donki 5 for $12.80 frozen saba fish w/sauce, blueberries and lots of fruits. 2-3 eggs daily (make sure bloodwork ok and healthy). Sufficient proteins in general.
As much as possibly, stay away from fast food and processed/fried or oily foods unless if it is prepped with lots of proteins, for eg Wow Wow West $8 chicken chop which is damn big portion and so i can accept that and i also whack the skin one.
Coz i also doing resistance bands and body weight exercises to grow muscles ba.....really need it and find it useful for cycling (eg to maintain aero position on the foldie....back and upper body).

Ender

Kick as in the final surge at the end of the race.

Coz my (basic) knowledge of creatine monohydrate is mainly for short bursts of power, high resistance/high power kinda exercises.
eg for running esp shorter distances like 200-800. 2.4, 3k probably got use also.
Then for cycling is those 15 seconds sprints.
And of coz, powerlifting and the likes.

Creatine for recovery, not so sure never heard of that.

But it might have a significant downside, weight gain. Of coz, weight gains rather individual too.... i mean some folks so easy to gain weight. Some folks dont

For me not so easy to gain weight. But i have not touched Creatine, still.

So far the supplements i have touched on a very regular basis are Magnesium (glycinate), D3, curcuwin (Curcumin) to manage inflammation. Occasionally i take iron too but low weekly dose ba, and also once in a while a multi-vit chewable since it is cheap enough so dont really care even if it's just placeabo.
Nowadays quite occasionally is melatonin, but nowadays i shifted my timings to night as well so no need to be super siao on and ensure i sleep by 9.30 - 10.30pm. (i still do take esp if i wanna wake up early at 5am). I used to take a fair bit last time when i never do night sessions.
For food is canned sardines/don don donki 5 for $12.80 frozen saba fish w/sauce, blueberries and lots of fruits. 2-3 eggs daily (make sure bloodwork ok and healthy). Sufficient proteins in general.
As much as possibly, stay away from fast food and processed/fried or oily foods unless if it is prepped with lots of proteins, for eg Wow Wow West $8 chicken chop which is damn big portion and so i can accept that and i also whack the skin one.
Coz i also doing resistance bands and body weight exercises to grow muscles ba.....really need it and find it useful for cycling (eg to maintain aero position on the foldie....back and upper body).
I am entering unfamiliar ground with Creatine. It's all based on the Coach Perry 's video I posted above. Can check out his explanations for it.

ctan84

I am entering unfamiliar ground with Creatine. It's all based on the Coach Perry 's video I posted above. Can check out his explanations for it.
No harm trying. Seems to help with recovery from workouts. Just a word of advice: remember to mix it really well in water (fully dissolved) before drinking to minimize gastro discomfort like bloating.

raylong

yeah unfortunately will just take note of those and run next year

I wasn't in 10k shape during that time, so it's probably going to be worse than my Sketchers Run :ROFLMAO:
Bro is actually spell "Skechers" without "t". Can tell you never wear Skechers before. Me only known this when I receive my shoe 3 day ago.

raylong

I think it's a matter of stamina n endurance to complete the HM.

I think no matter how enjoyable it can be, at the end cfm will be very tiring liao.
Determination will trump stamina, endurance and everything else, no different from elite aiming for PB. If you got 5 months to prepare no problem lah.

WussRedXLi

Iherb got offer for this California Gold Nutrition. It's tested also, legit.
I use their products for D3, Omega 3 etc before...... is ok.

Now got offer.

Wondering if i shd try. Daily 3-5g leh, so gotta mix into a drink or something. And with dry powder format, not sure if it'd absorb and become useless after 30 openings (30 days). 1 tub here is 90 days.
Each day is 24 SG cents. This is important, coz even if it has little to even no benefits, the $$$ is not a lot.

Another eg is curcuwin / curcumin, i find that it has some effect with regards to inflammation (various egs, from PF or knee inflammation with my father to myself and my wife's RA last time), but it is very costly. Esp what i found is that need 2 servings daily, so that is like S$1.40 daily and that is after discounts liao.

Anyway i also gotta find and get other stuff, which i dont have much to get coz i have stocked up a fair bit.

https://sg.iherb.com/pr/california-...atine-monohydrate-unflavored-1-lb-454-g/71026

WussRedXLi

raylong

So like that also can complete the FM 😱
Yes. Unfortunately FM are also very unfriendly to walkers. They have something call "designated" cut off times to open road for traffic. For eg. flag off time is at 11:30pm, there will be checkpoint at 24.5km that close at 04:30am. You got 5 hours to reach there with plenty enough for 12 mins/km. But flag off can delay by 1 hour one hor. In 2019 sundown flag off delay by 1 hour. In 2022 Stand chart flag off delay by 1 hour. Flag off time become 12:30am instead of 11:30pm. That means to reach point 24.5km becomes need 9:47 mins/km. Some people end up DNF because the barricades close. Also expect races to start 5 - 20 minutes late. Runners go out in 3 waves - elites first, expert second then average last. Check with the organizer weather got "designated" cut off timer boh. I think 21km most likely dun have.

Irenicus91

This guy's explanation like not very good leh, is he suggesting it as a way to make up for the lack of protein?

I find these explanations much better:

This one goes into very detailed explanations about the biology:

This one more practical:

But seems to be mainly for muscle-building / sprinting, not too sure for endurance running

dreamaurora

Yes. Unfortunately FM are also very unfriendly to walkers. They have something call "designated" cut off times to open road for traffic. For eg. flag off time is at 11:30pm, there will be checkpoint at 24.5km that close at 04:30am. You got 5 hours to reach there with plenty enough for 12 mins/km. But flag off can delay by 1 hour one hor. In 2019 sundown flag off delay by 1 hour. In 2022 Stand chart flag off delay by 1 hour. Flag off time become 12:30am instead of 11:30pm. That means to reach point 24.5km becomes need 9:47 mins/km. Some people end up DNF because the barricades close. Also expect races to start 5 - 20 minutes late. Runners go out in 3 waves - elites first, expert second then average last. Check with the organizer weather got "designated" cut off timer boh. I think 21km most likely dun have.
Yeah, a good strategy for first time FM amateur runners is maintain a nice slow jog up to 30 km, then after that just walk to the end.

Easier said than done to maintain a leisurely pace at the start. Takes a lot of mental discipline. My Phuket marathon coming up soon and I am forcing myself to run at my planned marathon pace for my runs. I am going to keep my run in Zone 2 up to first 21km.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.