jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

This guy's explanation like not very good leh, is he suggesting it as a way to make up for the lack of protein?

I find these explanations much better:

This one goes into very detailed explanations about the biology:

This one more practical:

But seems to be mainly for muscle-building / sprinting, not too sure for endurance running

Just hooted the creatine and whey protein.
Was looking at whey protein isolate but too bad OOS for the choc flavour. https://sg.iherb.com/pr/evlution-nu...in-double-rich-chocolate-5-lb-2-268-kg/120307
But as far as i can remember, i can drink some milk (eg 200ml) without lactose GI irritation so shd be fine.
I dont intend to drink too much whey too, maybe half scoop (20g) can already.....my diet pretty decent.

Coz fo cycling i feel overall the stuff i do for it is even tougher than running. Esp the climbs and also endurance aspect (coz cycling can easily last 2 to even 3 times longer than running, not sure why but mentally i can do that)
Really need the grow some more muscles for more power......including for upper body.
Running is more like limited by the weather / temperature, at least for me. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: 😅 😅

WussRedXLi

Yes. Unfortunately FM are also very unfriendly to walkers. They have something call "designated" cut off times to open road for traffic. For eg. flag off time is at 11:30pm, there will be checkpoint at 24.5km that close at 04:30am. You got 5 hours to reach there with plenty enough for 12 mins/km. But flag off can delay by 1 hour one hor. In 2019 sundown flag off delay by 1 hour. In 2022 Stand chart flag off delay by 1 hour. Flag off time become 12:30am instead of 11:30pm. That means to reach point 24.5km becomes need 9:47 mins/km. Some people end up DNF because the barricades close. Also expect races to start 5 - 20 minutes late. Runners go out in 3 waves - elites first, expert second then average last. Check with the organizer weather got "designated" cut off timer boh. I think 21km most likely dun have.

Can racewalk a FM.

Issue is, it takes even more fitness for that. :ROFLMAO:
Coz racewalking is more inefficient (and higher energy consumption) per unit distance than running.

Actually for the folks here, why not just join a parkrun. TEL gonna be opening soon so can go the ECP one for some. Very accessible. You wanna racewalk you wanna run even you wanna crawl also can. Every Sat hoot 1 time until you song for 1 year 52 times. And it's FOC. And make no mistake, 52 x 5 = 260km of "racing" per year....that's more than 6 full marathons.

Jeremy1

Was looking at whey protein isolate but too bad OOS for the choc flavour. https://sg.iherb.com/pr/evlution-nu...in-double-rich-chocolate-5-lb-2-268-kg/120307
But as far as i can remember, i can drink some milk (eg 200ml) without lactose GI irritation so shd be fine.
I dont intend to drink too much whey too, maybe half scoop (20g) can already.....my diet pretty decent.

Coz fo cycling i feel overall the stuff i do for it is even tougher than running. Esp the climbs and also endurance aspect (coz cycling can easily last 2 to even 3 times longer than running, not sure why but mentally i can do that)
Really need the grow some more muscles for more power......including for upper body.
Running is more like limited by the weather / temperature, at least for me. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: 😅 😅

I just completed my whey protein isolate.

My ex colleague also tried before.

We think taking natural protein will be better like stream chicken breast.

Ender

Do a gradual progression, though I don't believe in adding 10% mileage per week.

If one can do 10km, then he can train for HFM in a structured way. Once hit 20km, then aim for 30km gradually. Not wise to jump from 10km to 40km.

Just because 1 can run 10km at turtle pace, it may not be all smooth at 15km or 20km. There are cases where the joints start to fail, heat exhaution etc.

Slow and steady wins the race!
Heat exhaustion, muscle cramp until cannot move lah, just plain fatigue until blackout or the worst - exercise-associated hyponatremia. Saw all of these cases b4 when I was on the other side of the fence. If anything, that 10km timing is an indication of a very under-prepared body liao.
Actually slow pace for a race can be more torturous compare to others who did it in lesser time. It depends on the intensity which get worst as time goes by. Even if one starts at zone 2 pace, but if he is not adapted for long distance, and even if his HR doesn't gets higher, the zone2 HR will feel like zone 4 eventually. And he actually suffers alot more than those who finishes at higher pace, because that faster guy's zone 2 lasted a much shorter time period.

A run with recovery intervals might be a better strategy for slow runners. Like the gAlloway's run,walk,run strategy. The walking recovery may help to lessen the suffering and go further.

Ender

This guy's explanation like not very good leh, is he suggesting it as a way to make up for the lack of protein?

I find these explanations much better:

This one goes into very detailed explanations about the biology:

This one more practical:

But seems to be mainly for muscle-building / sprinting, not too sure for endurance running

Ya, Creatine is popular for the muscle guys for strength and explosive training, for the ready energy form and muscle hypertrophy. It's only recently the runners are starting to use it for endurance. Coach Perry is explaining in way for runners as a recovery, for muscle rebuilding. Endurance running is very catabolic , and thus muscle built back is very important for recovery. So he is not explaining the benefits for the muscles which he said already has ton of literature on it, like the one you posted. But for endurance running, which not many talk about it. And yes he is suggesting taking it for the lack of natural protein in our diet. 4 chicken breast a day, and you can't eat them at one go but spread it out throughout, is too much a hassle, compare to one scoop of 5g of Creatine a day to promote muscle growth, or rebuilt back in our case.

Ender

So fast hoot both. Actually Creatine alone can promote muscle growth liao. Don't know if combine whey and creatine will double the growth. :ROFLMAO:

in 2019, I tried whey protein isolate from the brand ON. It was used in conjunction for the SCSM training. I don't really find it helps in my recovery, and the drinks was horrible. I endure it till SCSM was over and stopped drinking it even though I had leftovers.

Today, tried Creatine for the first time. Tasteless, just like drinking a cup of water. SO I thinking taking Creatine for me can last for a long time, until I no money.

Ender

Can racewalk a FM.

Issue is, it takes even more fitness for that. :ROFLMAO:
Coz racewalking is more inefficient (and higher energy consumption) per unit distance than running.

Actually for the folks here, why not just join a parkrun. TEL gonna be opening soon so can go the ECP one for some. Very accessible. You wanna racewalk you wanna run even you wanna crawl also can. Every Sat hoot 1 time until you song for 1 year 52 times. And it's FOC. And make no mistake, 52 x 5 = 260km of "racing" per year....that's more than 6 full marathons.
Evening runners very hard to join park run one.

Jeremy1

I think I am quite confident of finishing the HM liao.

This morning really easy run after 15K still fresh but only thing is the legs are tiring.

And surprisingly I never stopped for drinking water but only when coming to traffic light.

This morning run I don't feel exhausted at all 🤔

xllms

This morning really easy run after 15K still fresh but only thing is the legs are tiring.

And surprisingly I never stopped for drinking water but only when coming to traffic light.

based on what you have shared and personal experiences, i have confidence in you to complete HM

dreamaurora

Slow and steady win the race. Good discipline maintaining your pace.

WussRedXLi

So fast hoot both. Actually Creatine alone can promote muscle growth liao. Don't know if combine whey and creatine will double the growth. :ROFLMAO:

in 2019, I tried whey protein isolate from the brand ON. It was used in conjunction for the SCSM training. I don't really find it helps in my recovery, and the drinks was horrible. I endure it till SCSM was over and stopped drinking it even though I had leftovers.

Today, tried Creatine for the first time. Tasteless, just like drinking a cup of water. SO I thinking taking Creatine for me can last for a long time, until I no money.

Hoot ah......yea, i realised my account has this usd 15 rewards, think they deposited into it. Think i had usd 2-3 from the product reviews that i posted, the rest they added on, so decided to make use of them.
Both items themselves are discounted, but really need discounts if not Amazon SG could be cheaper.

Yeah i was afraid the isolate form could taste bad. 4 decades ago i was trying to buff up for NS, i was drinking whey only (isolate not even popular then i think) iirc the choc whey already like not so nice. I had to mix a bit with choc marigold milk.
So far from what i see, the brand of whey i bought the reviews mentioned great tasting, but of coz need to discount a bit.

Vanilla taste i think i cannot.......yucks.

But heng i not really very lactose intolerant. 500ml low lactose milk is still somewhat ok, that'd be around 1.5 * 5 = 7-8g of lactose.

Jeremy1

Slow and steady win the race. Good discipline maintaining your pace.

Guess maybe I am not slow enough on my previous few run so after complete the 10Km, total exhausted and feel giddy.

But this morning run, I reduced my pace and can feel super relaxed and my heart beat is easy. Even after 15K, I think I can go further because feel very fresh.

Maybe the past few run I did it at the hot hour timing too.

And I also had a good 7 hour sleep last night.

WussRedXLi

Oh btw, this early morning, @ Marina East PCN there was one part (~ 150m) that was pitch black coz the MRT construction path lights pai liao. The future TEL Founders Memorial Station part.

So for those aiming to go there later or tmr morning, do take note, don lights if possible.
Safety First.

Whispers

back to running. last sat, did a 30min 5km. woke up on sunday to a sore back...

now trying out zone 2 running mostly, about 9:30-11:00 min/km, relying all on apple watch instructions, accurate enough?

comments pls. need to get back fitness for some travels in Oct. hhaha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.