jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

More consistent pacing, first half 21km is controlled (3.12 - 3.18 min/km). Injected speed at 21km to run at 3.09 min/km. He kept 3.15 and under for 21 - 27km. Paid the price from 30km onwards running at 3.20. At 34km, he tried to speed up back to his old pace. And from 35km till the end, start to struggle a lot, closing in at 3.43.

[/USER] :geek:

I noticed that he always tries to run with the pack so the pace might not be what we say optimal. Maybe it's due to various reasons like being tactical and also drafting effect to save energy, which is noticeable at those speeds and duration.
The drafting effect of a whole group of people / cyclists in a race is no joke. For cyclists, that whole group (peloton) is more than the usual 2 columns that we see on SG roads, coz that is the legal requirement anyway.

Lchlch

So now go to sleep liao.......... luckily weather (rain) for your route not so bad just now.
Last nite i shared the weather forecast.
Bro, last Sunday morning around 3am, thunder storm and lighting, have to pause for about an hour.

i wanted to hit 65km , that is my target.

Lchlch

wow how long u take for 50km walk - 8hrs? its takes me 6hrs to walk 26km from sengkang to bugis, albeit at normal walking pace...
including drinks, breaks total about 10 hours also one hour plus waiting for rain to stop Due to lighting.
the last 30;km onwards, the pace is about 6km every an hour…

Foetid

including drinks, breaks total about 10 hours also one hour plus waiting for rain to stop Due to lighting.
the last 30;km onwards, the pace is about 6km every an hour…
i walk the no #22 to no#43 in your route roughly, to n fro.... my thinking was partly to save that $4, walk from town to city then further walks in city then after walk back. i felt bus/mrt is overpriced!

partly is to keep healthy and reduce hbp. did that 26km walk on sat then 11km jog on sunday in the SK PCN. last time i did 22km jog till Coney's but felt its kind of long for the jog...

100km i guess is like takes more than a day liao....impressive.... 72 km is the commando's, doing it at retirement age is absolutely fantastic...26km already alot for me... my motivation drops post the sky darkness.

Lchlch

wow how long u take for 50km walk - 8hrs? its takes me 6hrs to walk 26km from sengkang to bugis and back, albeit at normal walking pace...
Bro, i just walk for health.
not for completion .
so actually timing is not so important to me.
probably this Saturday, might walk from kampong Bahru rail way to Kranji rai way, about 21km and than from Kranji walk u turn back to kampong bahru.
not sure, still planniing for the next long walk.

Lchlch

Wah bro that pace is very face for that distance and walking.

Got calculate pace correctly or not ?
Bro, why I know is i was literally jogging to catch up one young lady…her pace is like my Jogging pace.
then I told her hey we stop cos the group can’t catch up.
i told her you pace is super fast.
she look at her watch and told me this is a 6km per hour pace…
I literally jog almost 2 hours , catch up with her, then fall back again, jog to catch up…..

also I carry my haversack with 2 bottle of water and power bank, etc etc…

Foetid

not for completion .
probably this Saturday, might walk from kampong Bahru rail way to Kranji rai way, about 21km and than from Kranji walk u turn back to kampong bahru.
actually maybe its really for health, u can consider the japanese studies on IWT. Not sure if what you are doing is excessive thou.... 10hrs walk to the 100km is indeed quite substantial to many people.

sustainable is the key and eating right as well..

Kuudere

I noticed that he always tries to run with the pack so the pace might not be what we say optimal. Maybe it's due to various reasons like being tactical and also drafting effect to save energy, which is noticeable at those speeds and duration.
The drafting effect of a whole group of people / cyclists in a race is no joke. For cyclists, that whole group (peloton) is more than the usual 2 columns that we see on SG roads, coz that is the legal requirement anyway.
The pace group does help him to push for a better pace. It's good that he sticks with the group. At the end of the day, marathon is very long. So, if he drops in pace later on, it's quite normal. As long as can get goal time, that's all it matters.

WussRedXLi

PSA again, you must be very careful about this, be it as a jogger or a cyclist crossing at the crossing.
Encountered a few times food delivery riders doing this, beat the light for a few seconds.
And as a cyclist myself, i know why they do it.

That's why i also use rather powerful front lights, to brightly illuminate the area of asphalt in front of me. It does help.

WussRedXLi

not for completion .

If walk at night need to carry lights, front white and rear red. Best if it is blinking.

Some cyclists gun at 25-30kmh there, in the dark.

Let me gai siao you some good and cheap ones.

ps. Actually it is best that your whole group use lights for night walking.

Lchlch

If walk at night need to carry lights, front white and rear red. Best if it is blinking.

Some cyclists gun at 25-30kmh there, in the dark.

Let me gai siao you some good and cheap ones.
Yes bro.
Last Saturday, we walk in urban path, so there are street lights.
Yeah especially pcn , cyclists cycle very fast . Very scary

WussRedXLi

not for completion .

RED and white colours available. Get both
This Machfally BK400 flashing in lower power can sustain around 6hrs. If you get 2pcs red 2 pcs white, you can go gun 80km no issue. :ROFLMAO: Also, the light beam spread is pretty white, so very visible in all directions. Not a long range visibility light tho, but for walking you dont need that.
Also good for crossing pedestrian crossings at night.

There is a clip which is rotatable, just clip to your running vest / belt / backpack.
Cheap and good. Get 2pcs red 2 pcs white and you are set.
MicroUSB charging tho.....but i think ok lah.
Charges pretty fast.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?sp...82653420&ns=1&abbucket=10&skuId=4305714964758

Yes bro.
Last Saturday, we walk in urban path, so there are street lights.
Yeah especially pcn , cyclists cycle very fast . Very scary

Do say you all....... early morniing or around midnight hrs, i also scared sometimes and always on the lookout for
1. If on the road, drunk / tiong chia / exotic cars orchard gudang drivers doing rounding.
2. If on PCN (most likely Bay East Gardens), ebikes/escooters doing anywhere from 40 to 100kmh. < - this one i personally encountered 4 times as of now.

I can't find the SGRV video on the PMDs gunning at Bay East Gardens PCN @ 100kmh now, but trust me it's true.

But i can also tell you from experience, if you put lights, esp rear red blinking lights, very high chance nothing would happen to you.
If don't put, better have 100% lane discipline at stick to the extreme left or pedestrian paths.
It actually depends on both parties, if you are very visible, that is more than half the battle won.

Dont depend on bright clothings or neon clothings. Even 3M reflective strips might not work, simply coz the other party no front lights illum.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.