jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Posted this before.......1 tip / trick i learnt from our rheumatologist (super experienced).

Just feel the joint with your hands. If that problem part is warmer to the touch than the other side, you have a problem. Dont bother to waste time with other solutions. Put the fire out ASAP.

Jeremy1

TCM can treat bone related meh ?

I also have insertional achilles tendonitis issue. X-ray showing got heel spur.

Can but depending on how serious is it.

It's not cheap, half hour $55 excluding medicine if needed.

Better go before it get worse.

But prepare yourself as it's super painful.

If comparing the sport therapy and this one, the sport therapy one is nothing at all.

For mine is more to the veins and not the bone.

Jeremy1

Painful = need NSAIDs, seriously speaking. No 2 ways. And prob at your stage probably need 120mg or even 200mg if there is noticeable swelling. Gotta abstain from any physical exercises at this stage for a good few days also until it subsides, then you do your whatever rehab that you wanna do.
Unless if you have internal bleeding risk.

Go hoot arcoxia / generic etericoxib, if you dont believe me can go get from GP (with CHAS disc cheap cheap)

My wife's and my experience be it for sprains or these running niggle pains is that is quite noticeably better than naproxen sodium, ibuprofen, dicofenac sodium.

If not, dont even have to think about Garmin or maybe SCSM.

The doctor at polyclinic told me no need, the sport therapist and the TCM person also told me no need to take medicine but then he recommended acupuncture which going to be painful 😣

I asked him can I still go for HM, he said still can but not FM 😀

He told me cannot run if early morning right leg land on floor still feel uncomfortable until it's okay 😣

Ender

The doctor at polyclinic told me no need, the sport therapist and the TCM person also told me no need to take medicine but then he recommended acupuncture which going to be painful 😣

He told me cannot run if early morning right leg land on floor still feel uncomfortable until it's okay 😣
From experience with my own Achilles tendonitis, the healing will be slow, but need to lighten load and at the same time strengthen with that lighten load, i.e. keep on running. Complete rest didn't healed me. Coz I actually took 3 months break from running and switch to indoor cycling, I bought a trainer. The moment I start running when the 3 months were up, the pain at the back of the heel was as intense as before. That was when I already live with Achilles tendonitis for more than a year. And then finally someone on Strava told to start wearing high drop shoes but keep on running low mileage with incremental mileage. Finally got rid of it in a month or two. Basically keep your heel high, and best is avoid soft cushion that get depressed alot under load.

Jeremy1

From experience with my own Achilles tendonitis, the healing will be slow, but need to lighten load and at the same time strengthen with that lighten load, i.e. keep on running. Complete rest didn't healed me. Coz I actually took 3 months break from running and switch to indoor cycling, I bought a trainer. The moment I start running when the 3 months were up, the pain at the back of the heel was as intense as before. That was when I already live with Achilles tendonitis for more than a year. And then finally someone on Strava told to start wearing high drop shoes but keep on running low mileage with incremental mileage. Finally got rid of it in a month or two. Basically keep your heel high, and best is avoid soft cushion that get depressed alot under load.

Actually for my case is early morning right leg will feel uncomfortable when first step on floor and it take a while then it's okay.

I still can easy run but not on heel landing so mid foot landing and slowly land on heel no problem at all. But my right foot will swelled as I run longer mileage.

Only that my right leg is weak and easily fragile as compared to my left which is very flexible n relaxed.

And after the run, my right foot will sored but not to the extend of cannot walked.

I noticed when I wearing those recovery hoka sandal at home does make my right foot feel much better.

The TCM person told me infact this achilles tendon is with me for quite a while but it's getting worse.

Ender

Actually for my case is early morning right leg will feel uncomfortable when first step on floor and it take a while then it's okay.

I still can easy run but not on heel landing so mid foot landing and slowly land on heel no problem at all. But my right foot will swelled as I run longer mileage.

Only that my right leg is weak and easily fragile as compared to my left which is very flexible n relaxed.

And after the run, my right foot will sored but not to the extend of cannot walked.

I noticed when I wearing those recovery hoka sandal at home does make my right foot feel much better.

The TCM person told me infact this achilles tendon is with me for quite a while but it's getting worse.
Same for my case, first thing in the morning is this discomfort at the injured area, which will go away after some movement. The next time I experience pain is when I run. And that will also go away after like 15 or 10 minutes into running. So I can train as usual as long I start off very slow with low pain and wait till the pain goes away, then I increase to my training pace.

Anyway this to me is one of the most difficult injury to heal that I had, which doesn't get better from complete full rest. It needs some strengthening while it heals., that's why needed to keep stretching the achilles tendon via running, but taking care not to overload from overstretching, hence the high heel drop and firm mid sole.

Jeremy1

Same for my case, first thing in the morning is this discomfort at the injured area, which will go away after some movement. The next time I experience pain is when I run. And that will also go away after like 15 or 10 minutes into running. So I can train as usual as long I start off very slow with low pain and wait till the pain goes away, then I increase to my training pace.

Anyway this to me is one of the most difficult injury to heal that I had, which doesn't get better from complete full rest. It needs some strengthening while it heals., that's why needed to keep stretching the achilles tendon via running, but taking care not to overload from overstretching, hence the high heel drop and firm mid sole.

May I know what shoes you are wearing that time ?

Ender

May I know what shoes you are wearing that time ?
that was in 2019, the shoes model EOL. It was the Adidas Adiizero Mana 7, heel drop of 10mm. Ran in it for a few weeks without rotation. Then when I was confident it wouldn't flare up, i rotate in other shoes with lower heel drop. Now I even run in sandals once a while that is zero drop.

sph777

DO lots of stretching, rest, and don't overload as @Ender said. If worst case then try the meds @WussRedXLi suggested

WussRedXLi

I think the problem with this persistent and worsening issue is to determine if it is really chronic and worsening inflammation or not that is present in your case.

Not a doc here but you can ask for it. I believe a simple blood test can show inflammation in such soft tissue injuries (eg just a "simple" and cheap C reactive protein test that costs like what....$50-60?) but at the moment just by j touching the area and seeing if it is warm can tell you heaps. Not discounting x-rays next time .
In fact, if the problem side is noticeably warm vs the other side , i'd be pretty concerned already coz it's been quite long. If it is not then still ok it might not be inflammation, then fine can continue what treatment avenues that you are doing. It's not inflammation.

Side story : The consultant at SGH ARC actually under-treated my wife's chronic inflammation at a level that was not very jialat / symptomatic, but bad enough that still it was a 2 or 3 out of 10 pain scale, for a period of around 9 months. Then we changed doc to private, and found out that she has already lost about 20 degrees of flexion mobility for her left elbow already. In fact the SGH consultant didnt even do all those ultra simple joint mobility tests to determine functionality. I dont know if her private rheumatologist is just over-scaring or just wanted us to continue with him ($$$ biz) but the fact is that the loss in flexion did not worsen under his management. Also the much improved blood work indicates so.

Of coz that happened over months and Rheumatoid Arthritis is totally different ballgame vs sports injuries , but nowadays when you tell me stories about any inflammation, we are super sensitive.
Of coz, short duration 3 days to 1 week ones due to training niggles or slight pain ok, chillax la.....it happens.
But if talking about persistent chronic pain issue past the one or even two months mark, really have to take note, really can F up the joints one way or another, really gotta fix the root cause.

Of coz i am not a doc but that sounds like pretty agaration to me without the diagnostic tests. HM can but not FM. Also speed is a factor, which others would not be able to gauge. I know that my fastest 5k my body and joints feel more beat up than those 12-18k zone 2 runs.

WussRedXLi

One more thing, if the inflammation is noticeable enough to cause warm enough tissue to be detected by your hands, it's not gonna be good for other parts of your body. eg blood vessels. Not scare mongering but those risks are present in other more serious diseases. Risks naturally increases coz of our older ages also.
Just go check it out with preferably diagnostic tests like bloodwork or x-ray or what.
I know that with my ITBS and knee pains nowadays (and PF in the past), once it starts and then i hoot Arcoxia, the difference in feeling and relief is pretty pronounced. But that is not the root cause fix, it is just to put out the fire in the house. You still have to catch the arsonist. But you do not go catch the arsonist when the fire is raging in the house.

WussRedXLi

DO lots of stretching, rest, and don't overload as @Ender said. If worst case then try the meds @WussRedXLi suggested

Yeah it's actually very safe if one does not have internal bleeding issues (particularly GI(), kidney or liver functions are good / decent. You'd know if it works or not and it is inflammation based issue, within 6 hours you'd know the answer liao. Pretty typical first line treatment. I also believe that etoricoxibs like Arcoxia work best for us and probably for many others as well. If cannot manage coz it recurs or what.....then steriods liao, plus need to find the root cause which means the underlying issue is jialat enough to present recurrence.

Jeremy1

I think the problem with this persistent and worsening issue is to determine if it is really chronic and worsening inflammation or not that is present in your case.

Not a doc here but you can ask for it. I believe a simple blood test can show inflammation in such soft tissue injuries (eg just a "simple" and cheap C reactive protein test that costs like what....$50-60?) but at the moment just by j touching the area and seeing if it is warm can tell you heaps. Not discounting x-rays next time .
In fact, if the problem side is noticeably warm vs the other side , i'd be pretty concerned already coz it's been quite long. If it is not then still ok it might not be inflammation, then fine can continue what treatment avenues that you are doing. It's not inflammation.

Side story : The consultant at SGH ARC actually under-treated my wife's chronic inflammation at a level that was not very jialat / symptomatic, but bad enough that still it was a 2 or 3 out of 10 pain scale, for a period of around 9 months. Then we changed doc to private, and found out that she has already lost about 20 degrees of flexion mobility for her left elbow already. In fact the SGH consultant didnt even do all those ultra simple joint mobility tests to determine functionality. I dont know if her private rheumatologist is just over-scaring or just wanted us to continue with him ($$$ biz) but the fact is that the loss in flexion did not worsen under his management. Also the much improved blood work indicates so.

Of coz that happened over months and Rheumatoid Arthritis is totally different ballgame vs sports injuries , but nowadays when you tell me stories about any inflammation, we are super sensitive.
Of coz, short duration 3 days to 1 week ones due to training niggles or slight pain ok, chillax la.....it happens.
But if talking about persistent chronic pain issue past the one or even two months mark, really have to take note, really can F up the joints one way or another, really gotta fix the root cause.

Of coz i am not a doc but that sounds like pretty agaration to me without the diagnostic tests. HM can but not FM. Also speed is a factor, which others would not be able to gauge. I know that my fastest 5k my body and joints feel more beat up than those 12-18k zone 2 runs.

I had underlying diseases like Ulcerative Colitis so I am sceptical of taking additional medicine though it may not caused any issues.

Achilles Tendon is not new to me and I used to have it last time but then after resting for quite a while, I had recovered and then it's back again.

WussRedXLi

I did a Dr google, i dont know but what if it isnt the tendon, but the neighbouring bursa. That is also inflammation and just beside it. Maybe can see the sports doc again to determine exact location and confirm esp if it continues to worsen. I think bo bian. Dont risk prolonged or worse any form of permanent damage via degeneratio if it gets dragged.

WussRedXLi

I had underlying diseases like Ulcerative Colitis so I am sceptical of taking additional medicine though it may not caused any issues.

Achilles Tendon is not new to me and I used to have it last time but then after resting for quite a while, I had recovered and then it's back again.

Fwah colitis ah....then NSAIDs cannot wo doctor clearance with additional meds like omeprazole or what. Gotta see GP/specialist liao.
Heng i gave the contraindication. :ROFLMAO:

Since it also is not new, if this time round more jialat (coz you are training now for HM or what, new intro of mileage/intensity), really need to see sports doc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.