jogging and motivation thread

xllms

yes most energy drinks have caffeine. Made the mistake before of drinking energy drinks before races. Caffeine crashed and felt terrible. Now only using gels
just wondering if the gels you guys consume taste sweet? I have tried one brand here in China, which is too sweet for me.
When I was younger, my go-to energy drink was red bull, works really well for me but it drains me badly as an after effect. Now I no longer touch such drinks.

WussRedXLi

Cycling kpkb, now jogging also liao

One of the reasons why i do solo vast vast majority of the times or at most smaller grps of less than 10 (Same for cycling, that one best if below 5-6).

WussRedXLi

yes most energy drinks have caffeine. Made the mistake before of drinking energy drinks before races. Caffeine crashed and felt terrible. Now only using gels

Think have a special way / timing of using those caffeinated gels and drinks. But if dont need that caffeine assistance or not used to it can dont use.

For me is seems to be only able to fall asleep that easily after that. :ROFLMAO:
80mg is like a normal coffee, i drink coffee daily 2x a day so maybe neither super sensitive nor super immune to caffeine.
Managed to sleep last nite at 2am+.

xllms

Think have a special way / timing of using those caffeinated gels and drinks. But if dont need that caffeine assistance or not used to it can dont use.

For me is seems to be only able to fall asleep that easily after that. :ROFLMAO:
80mg is like a normal coffee, i drink coffee daily 2x a day so maybe neither super sensitive nor super immune to caffeine.
varies from person to person based on ability to digest caffeine well and fast.

I used to be able to do so when am younger (till around late 30s or early 40s), drinking coffee at night has no effect on me. During my uni days, my schoolmates drink coffee to stay awake to complete deadlines the next day noon time (work through the night) and coffee has no effect on me, only redbull works.

now, i can lose sleep at night with coffee and some tea if i drink them from late afternoon onwards.

Ender

One of the reasons why i do solo vast vast majority of the times or at most smaller grps of less than 10 (Same for cycling, that one best if below 5-6).

Don't know how the running group in CBD area behave. But the running group who I met very regularly along the Punggol Waterway PCN is more considerate. The Punggol SAFRA Running club. When they are in a big group, and saw me coming in the opposite direction, they will called to their fellow runners to keep single file and left.

sph777

Ender

I read not very good things about these energy caffeine drink Mostly anecdote, rather scientific. Usually involve teens who drank too much of the energy drink, the high amount of caffeine trigger abnormal heart rhythm and later cardiac arrest. But those reported cases are those who overdose, like more than 5 cans in a short period and usually teens. I don't use them for this fear.

sph777

can these be purchased off supermarkets in SG? will be keen to try when i am back in SG later this month
I don't think supermarkets have. I did see in decathlon. I buy the gels on simply active website as rui yong got discount code

Ender

just wondering if the gels you guys consume taste sweet? I have tried one brand here in China, which is too sweet for me.
When I was younger, my go-to energy drink was red bull, works really well for me but it drains me badly as an after effect. Now I no longer touch such drinks.
I have the SIS and High 5 , both are sweet.

Jeremy1

😱

SCSM2024-Route-Web-HM-min.jpg

WussRedXLi

I read not very good things about these energy caffeine drink Mostly anecdote, rather scientific. Usually involve teens who drank too much of the energy drink, the high amount of caffeine trigger abnormal heart rhythm and later cardiac arrest. But those reported cases are those who overdose, like more than 5 cans in a short period and usually teens. I don't use them for this fear.

Wah so serious cardiac arrest.....yeah it's definitely a stimulant. The redbull (thailand type) that i purchased reads 80mg of caffeine. Some other energy drinks have more than that, 2X also have. So shd be fine, as i am a coffee drinker (also around 80mg thereabouts) and i down 1 cup in the morning and 1 cup after lunch.

Only issue is that if drink after 6pm, cannot sleep one. :ROFLMAO:

Sometimes i also drink a cup of 3-in-1 before going out for my early morning session (if not sleepy by 9am lah, esp if 5-6am start type) , so shd be fine, i guess gotta be mindful if i down 1 x RB if i already had 1 kopi which would be double.

I know caffeine can increase HR a bit, so got pros and cons for our aerobic type of activities. Guess some runners/cyclists can tahan, some cannot.
It might trigger irregular heartbeat (arrythmia) also, like my mum coz she hyperthyriodism, which already by itself carries arrthymia risk whenever it is triggered. So she cant take coffee and actually not even larger amounts of Coke ot tea, eg 1 large cup of mcdonald's coke.

WussRedXLi

Don't know how the running group in CBD area behave. But the running group who I met very regularly along the Punggol Waterway PCN is more considerate. The Punggol SAFRA Running club. When they are in a big group, and saw me coming in the opposite direction, they will called to their fellow runners to keep single file and left.

Some areas in CBD are tight, already solo or 2-3 grp cyclists vs pedestrians got slight friction, but vastly ok if the cyclists are experienced enough, just mere inconveniences coz gotta change direction a bit. For me i always train ultra low speed / nearly track stands at Merlion area vs big group of tourists so no issue. lol :ROFLMAO:
The most pro are the mountain/fixie bikers, mountain bike usually pop wheelies at Helix bridge amongst groups of clapping (ang moh) tourists, good ones can sustain the whole length of Helix bridge. :ROFLMAO: (y)
The fixie guys will do Superman, Spiderman, stand on the saddle or those stuff.

Big groups of 50-100 of coz will always be the worst off. Not possible to do single file, which IMO should be the norm at those areas, same goes to cyclists, Too big at those areas which are already tight.
If got human wall of 3-5 pedestrians walking "horizontally" along the path at SG river/MBS/GBTB/Bay Garden East, no problem also become problem. And that is not super rare, nearly every night i will come across one.

WussRedXLi

varies from person to person based on ability to digest caffeine well and fast.

I used to be able to do so when am younger (till around late 30s or early 40s), drinking coffee at night has no effect on me. During my uni days, my schoolmates drink coffee to stay awake to complete deadlines the next day noon time (work through the night) and coffee has no effect on me, only redbull works.

now, i can lose sleep at night with coffee and some tea if i drink them from late afternoon onwards.

I am an avg or slightly above avg coffee drinker, 1 cup morning 1 cup afternoon. But i keep it before 2pm for the afternoon one. Post 6pm confirm cannot, tried before. 4pm is half half, sometimes got issue at night, sometimes no.

Deadmaninc75

That’s why I never join in grp running liao

winningeleven

As a jogger myself who likes to run in a stadium. I also encountered a group of inconsiderate 4 jokers who jog side by side and took out 5 of the 8 lanes. I have run zig zag to overtake them and also need to avoid other joggers that happened to run near them

I keard Soh rui yong also screamed and shouted at those who blocked his path in the stadium . I believe slow runner should use the outer lane of the stadium.

Safra runners are very considerate in the stadium that i used. Usually in A large group more than 20 and they always keep within the inner 2 lanes. They won't anyhow run and block the whole lanes in the stadium.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.