jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Of coz runners cannot run on WCH on normal days, but WCH viaduct once past 8-ish 9am ish is only suitable for cycling which brings better cooling from the higher windspeed, even foldies / mountain bikes better maintain above 20kmh ( those very unfit or newbies not suitable). Return leg is right in your face from the morning sun at this time of the year.

For slower / newbie cyclists best to have daytime visible rear lights also, drivers cannot see easily together with the glare from the sun. The cyclist looks only like a silhouette against the dark asphalt.
As far as possible, cyclists usually keep it to before 8am......or they just gun it and maintain 40 or above for the 5.5k stretch.

WussRedXLi

When you use glycogen, you also lose water.
After which you'll regain glycogen to be stored in the liver/muscles when you resume your normal diet.
Stick to zone 1-2 for burning more fat % vs glycogen. It's a long process.

Glycogen in muscle, liver, and fat cells is stored in a hydrated form, composed of three or four parts of water per part of glycogen associated with 0.45 millimoles (18 mg) of potassium per gram of glycogen.

WussRedXLi

Now you all know why i am so anal about heat index, active cooling, until to the point of being kiasee / boliao / crazy. If you are gunning it fast and hard and able to use lots of energy (watts), even a short 7-10km can drop....esp when you are all zoneed in and you might not be able to recognise the warning signs in a timely manner.

Read in another thread.

5hr previous FM but overseas, now here 6:30
End up walking the 2nd half and finished 6hr30min. I still had some gas in the tank but the conditions and weather especially at the West Coast highway was too much to risk.

Zero90 was in the other thread

From what I understand, quite a number of runners collapsed at West Coast Highway and required medical assistance earlier today.

Another wrote
I really believe the designers of the route is dumb.
West coast highway at 9am to 12pm is really dam ***** hot and humid.

No shade no nothing. That heat was really unbearable

Kuudere

U r right .
My usual weight is 54kg ++. After 21km and it drop to 53kg. My lowest ever recorded is 52.5kg.
I am around that weight, trying to go back to high 50s. Will be eating 4 meals a day and see how it goes.
If like that, everyday run LSD very fast can dropped to your desired weight, all those weight loss shops n equipment can closed down liao :s21:
LSD fast everyday unsustainable, legs will cry one!!
last week keep rain cannot run
I ran in the rain last week, quite shiok

Kuudere

the rain heavy bo when u ran?
Initially, it wasn't so bad but it got worse during the run, I just kept going. Run through the puddles.

I did run at 100 Plus Promenade Track during the week also, it's fully indoor so you wouldn't get wet

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
Initially, it wasn't so bad but it got worse during the run, I just kept going. Run through the puddles.

I did run at 100 Plus Promenade Track during the week also, it's fully indoor so you wouldn't get wet
a bit far for me

wish there are more such locations

winningeleven

I am around that weight, trying to go back to high 50s. Will be eating 4 meals a day and see how it goes.

LSD fast everyday unsustainable, legs will cry one!!

I ran in the rain last week, quite shiok
I used to be 58 to 59kg. For my height . Is already quite lean . But after I lost another 3 to 4 kgs to my current weight. (Below 55kg) I feel my running form is better and able to run faster . I don't want to go back to the high 59kg back .

I want to run a few more full marathon before 50 as long I am healthy to run.

Jeremy1

Now you all know why i am so anal about heat index, active cooling, until to the point of being kiasee / boliao / crazy. If you are gunning it fast and hard and able to use lots of energy (watts), even a short 7-10km can drop....esp when you are all zoneed in and you might not be able to recognise the warning signs in a timely manner.

Read in another thread.

5hr previous FM but overseas, now here 6:30

Actually to me not much of a difference :s13:

Jeremy1

need some getting used to for me who run outside usually

If you're used to running outside, doubt running treadmill should have any problem.

Whereas for people used to running on treadmill will encounter more problems running outside.

sgmegadeals

ywFXTPn.jpeg

Radioshack also go run
Would like to ask how to access this ? Just did my HM this morning and keen to download the cert. TIA

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
If you're used to running outside, doubt running treadmill should have any problem.

Whereas for people used to running on treadmill will encounter more problems running outside.
hopefully no rain when i want to run outside

but will consider treadmill

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.