jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

2 consecutive days failing to get out of house after waking up at 6am but felt cold within my body. All i wanted then was a warm breakfast. No runs in 2025 so far. 😂

Over here in SG, 1st Jan cluster fug everywhere here @ MBS in the morning, plus the usual drunks + folks sitting around waiting for the first sunrise post countdown , other than the plentiful joggers fufilling their new year's resolution and the occasional cyclist.
Banglas pressure washing Esplanade, Merlion One Fullerton and MBS full force out. After 2 rounds my kid and i buay tahan liao, hooted the roads went to Orchard and Republic Ave and then Shenton/Keppel finishing at Sentosa before returning home via Keppel. Initially a bit hesitant due to drunks on roads but i think MBS area even more riskier esp many spots there are pretty dark in the morning.

2nd and esp 3rd Jan this morning, really very few people. Could even do intervals this morning.

sph777

2 consecutive days failing to get out of house after waking up at 6am but felt cold within my body. All i wanted then was a warm breakfast. No runs in 2025 so far. 😂
Best not to take risks. Get well alr then run.
Over here in SG, 1st Jan cluster fug everywhere here @ MBS in the morning, plus the usual drunks + folks sitting around waiting for the first sunrise post countdown , other than the plentiful joggers fufilling their new year's resolution and the occasional cyclist.
Banglas pressure washing Esplanade, Merlion One Fullerton and MBS full force out. After 2 rounds my kid and i buay tahan liao, hooted the roads went to Orchard and Republic Ave and then Shenton/Keppel finishing at Sentosa before returning home via Keppel. Initially a bit hesitant due to drunks on roads but i think MBS area even more riskier esp many spots there are pretty dark in the morning.

2nd and esp 3rd Jan this morning, really very few people. Could even do intervals this morning.
Yeah, agreed. Today intervals bo lang

Kuudere

Hakone Ekiden, Live stream, but need VPN to Japan to watch.
https://tver.jp/live/special/leqwwd8oq0

Finished watching, must said that the winner made a good move in running behind the lead runner, reduce air resistance and energy loss.

Kicked at the right time, with 600m left to go when he saw the lead runner struggling hard.

lampano

My first run of the year. 16.6km in 1:33, 5:38/km.

How do I fix the issue of a new nike running shoe being too narrow?
I now have a red sack of blood on the root of a toe. not bleeding though.
nike are for narrow feet de, should size up 1/2

xllms

almost 900 km in my current pair now, left side squeaky liao
good that your shoes can last 900km. For me, left outer heel outsole will be worn out and erosion eats into the midsole by 100km, right outer heel by 150km for most of my running shoes, Puma DN2, Brooks Hyperion Tempo, Hyperion Elite 2, Adidas AP3, Saucony Endorphin Speed, Endorphin Pro 3, etc.

LWZ

best to just wear wide shoes.

I am wearing Nike Winflo 11 wide variant

winningeleven

Not all running shoes I have are same size. My usual size is US8 but some of the shoes I have to wear US8.5. probably the Nike shoe u ran with required a half size upside .

I have 4 running shoes in rotation now and none of the shoes I have are from Nike..because the shoes are usually narrow.

Not sure what Nike model u r wearing. I have tried a few running shoes recently and there are some models I owned and very suitable for wider feet. They are Asics novablast 5 , NB fuelcell rebel v4 and adidas adios pro 3.

Ender

Finished watching, must said that the winner made a good move in running behind the lead runner, reduce air resistance and energy loss.

Kicked at the right time, with 600m left to go when he saw the lead runner struggling hard.

This video is from the Corporate Ekiden that happened one day before the Hakone Ekiden.

WussRedXLi

Really admire the running culture in Japan. These are corporate runners. Wonder do they get paid extra for representing the company for such events?
Tomorrow will be the Hakone Ekiden.

Here's a vid by Sweat Elite on workers running in the coporate ekiden. Note, they term them as "semi" professional runners.
Usually they are doing both so that both work career experience and sports fronts are satisfied (better for the person), but i guess as usual if the results are good then of coz that'd be a fatter PB / performance bonus / variable bonus. Of coz needless to say, they got into the coy coz of running first and foremost, then the normal work aspect just slot him into something the fella is willing to do as secondary. :ROFLMAO:
I dont think someone can gun a 13+ mins 5k and then also have the saki-ness armed with a MBA and thus become a director or VP, dont think so super talented jack of all trades.

WussRedXLi

Yeah, agreed. Today intervals bo lang

Actually a lot are not "around", on 1st Jan the roads were crazy empty in the morning other than the usual cyclists (i got greeted by 6 groups, good morning or happy new year lol...and i waved to some cyclist resting at the Esplande bus stop) . This weekend shd be the same too, other than the hardcorders, most still in holiday mood and gathering together with family members or overseas.

Ender

Here's a vid by Sweat Elite on workers running in the coporate ekiden. Note, they term them as "semi" professional runners.
Usually they are doing both so that both work career experience and sports fronts are satisfied (better for the person), but i guess as usual if the results are good then of coz that'd be a fatter PB / performance bonus / variable bonus. Of coz needless to say, they got into the coy coz of running first and foremost, then the normal work aspect just slot him into something the fella is willing to do as secondary. :ROFLMAO:
I dont think someone can gun a 13+ mins 5k and then also have the saki-ness armed with a MBA and thus become a director or VP, dont think so super talented jack of all trades.

This is informative. Learnt something from the video. Wonder if those kenyans have some phantom jobs in the company, but we know they main role is to run for the company. Interesting to know that big group running is not allowed in Japan, or at least in the area for this team. I think it's a good rule. MAybe not more than 5 per group.

Kuudere

This video is from the Corporate Ekiden that happened one day before the Hakone Ekiden.
Went to rewatch the vod, and the winner kicked 2 min 17 sec/km (3.40/mile) for 520m to win. He also turned to look back.

That's like 55 sec 400m after 15 km of running. Race leader was doing something like 1 min 1 sec 400m pace, looked slow behind the winner.

Jeremy1

Today I had terminated my AF Gym Membership so in 1 month time I no more treadmill liao.

:sad:

Ender

Today I had terminated my AF Gym Membership so in 1 month time I no more treadmill liao.

:sad:
Join activesg gym lor. Since you retire liao, can go during off peak time for cheaper entry and less crowd. Off peak season half year priced quite attractively.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.