jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

all his 5k splits are amazing. If i am not wrong, his 15km timing during this record breaking run was another record.

”His winning mark of 40:42 is the fastest time ever recorded in a standalone 15km race, though Kiplimo clocked a 40:27 split en route to his 57:31 half marathon performance, then a world record, in Lisbon in 2021.”
https://worldathletics.org/news/rep...rd-world-15km-best-zevenheuvelenloop-nijmegen

I think his 5km splits for yesterday’s record breaking run are as below:
5K 13:34 2’42”/km
10K 26:46 2’40”/km
15K 39:47 2’39”/km
20K 53:10 2’39”/km
HM 56:38 2’41”/km

His fastest 5k split recorded 13:01 i think.

fantasyrulz

Chao running at neighborhood really sibei pek cek ppl don't bother to let u pass watching phone or bicycle just zoom pass u or car turning in to carpark without letting u pass plus road condition and elevation and air condition wa really pek cek

From sub 6' /km to nearing 7' /km with high heart rate.

From 10.XX KM/hour to 9.XX/KM cui

Running in stadium or park is so much better 🤣

xllms

all his 5k splits are amazing. If i am not wrong, his 15km timing during this record breaking run was another record.

”His winning mark of 40:42 is the fastest time ever recorded in a standalone 15km race, though Kiplimo clocked a 40:27 split en route to his 57:31 half marathon performance, then a world record, in Lisbon in 2021.”
https://worldathletics.org/news/rep...rd-world-15km-best-zevenheuvelenloop-nijmegen

splits amended from Google AI information:
5K 13:44 13:44 2’45”/km
10K 26:46 13:02 2’36”/km
15K 40:07 13:21 2’40”/km
20K 53:42 13:35 2’43”/km
HM 56:38 2’41”/km (overall)

WussRedXLi

Wow, UAE Abu Dhabi temperature 29 deg C.
But RH 19%.

You pour water it would be like somewhat icy cold over here. (the evaporative coolers get down to very nearly single digits)

WussRedXLi

UAE XRG team the team mate just behind Pogacar @ 7.7k from finish line was drinking water from bottle and then suddenly got unsettled (coz 1 hand) and then buanged.

That time i saw in one vid 1 recreational fella on WCH also buang like that, in the peloton. She fell onto second lane, luckily the truck just 1-2 seconds after her was in lane 1 (ultra defensive driving). The lady fooking heng.

That's why whenever i want to drink water, i slow down to around 20kmh thereabouts. Lower risks even if buang. My balls not that big. If on the roads, i wait till traffic lights then drink.

I believe another lady at NUS climbing hills also lost footing and fell, alas she did not make it coz the bus rolled over her head.

All these risks i think long term (defensive) drivers only can anticipate. (got licence does not mean you'd know.....esp those Getgo/bluesg folks)

rarenick

UAE XRG team the team mate just behind Pogacar @ 7.7k from finish line was drinking water from bottle and then suddenly got unsettled (coz 1 hand) and then buanged.
That time i saw in one vid 1 recreational fella on WCH also buang like that, in the peloton. She fell onto second lane, luckily the truck just 1-2 seconds after her was in lane 1 (ultra defensive driving). The lady fooking heng.
That's why whenever i want to drink water, i slow down to around 20kmh thereabouts. Lower risks even if buang. My balls not that big. If on the roads, i wait till traffic lights then drink.
I believe another lady at NUS climbing hills also lost footing and fell, alas she did not make it coz the bus rolled over her head.
All these risks i think long term (defensive) drivers only can anticipate. (got licence does not mean you'd know.....esp those Getgo/bluesg folks)
Cycling in big group can be pretty dangerous, and everyone is rushing for silly reasons. Nowadays I ride solo instead. Might consider quiting road cycling altogether and just ride pcn or indoor. Now my jogging is already more than road cycling.

Ender

ohhh same but i can't run at that pace.
think i lacking a lot in endurance.
Garmin VO2MAX estimation usually too optimistic, especially so for Asian. Alot of Garmin users have above 50 for VO2max from Garmin estimation, but can't do sub 20 minute 5km. You are using Runalyze, it would give a more realistic estimation. ANother good estimator is Vdot. Vdot is not VO2max, but it's a very close if running is the main sports. Else Cooper test.
Look thru your Strava, and SPH's, the big difference is weekly mileage and lot's of interval. I can't do SPH's training, too tough..

Ender

That means sub 2hr in FM is possible one lah....... esp if got further improvements in foam technologies, nutrition and perfect running conditions.
Looking forward to witness this asap before I cannot run and lost all interest. Best chance Kiptum already gone, the one and only member of the Sub 2:01 club. Kipchoge aging liao.

sales69

Guys share a nice deal for NB Rebel V4. Bought a pair. 😄

Taobao NB official store.
Price including air shipping + GST - $133.98.

【淘宝】假一赔十 https://e.tb.cn/h.Trnn3Yw4V67CA65?tk=pA37eiYL3eZ CZ028 「New Balance NB官方春季男女情侣Rebel v4专业减震轻量竞速跑步鞋」
点击链接直接打开 或者 淘宝搜索直接打开

There's also a trail version of Rebel V4. NB Venym. Considering getting that as well.

https://e.tb.cn/h.TrMdc1SAi4gyNkA?tk=H5jMei1ePUq

Kuudere

That means sub 2hr in FM is possible one lah....... esp if got further improvements in foam technologies, nutrition and perfect running conditions.

Kipchoge already did it but under perfect conditions 😂 So, I believe that it’s possible, only a matter of time

If you watch the video again, for his first 5km, the other Kenyans were pushing hard just to run side by side with Kiplimo. Their stride is a lot more extended compared to Kiplimo who is more relaxed. He probably does long intervals at 2.40s, that’s why he is so smooth.

Garmin VO2MAX estimation usually too optimistic, especially so for Asian. Alot of Garmin users have above 50 for VO2max from Garmin estimation, but can't do sub 20 minute 5km. You are using Runalyze, it would give a more realistic estimation. ANother good estimator is Vdot. Vdot is not VO2max, but it's a very close if running is the main sports. Else Cooper test.
Look thru your Strava, and SPH's, the big difference is weekly mileage and lot's of interval. I can't do SPH's training, too tough..

Yes, most people actual vo2 is -2/-3 from their watch vo2max, when doing the actual test, based on YouTube videos I watched previously.

WussRedXLi

He could very well be sub 36 if he paced a little better. But IMO he is already a sub 36 runner...his fitness since the nationals zwift race quite good.
Young people can hoot one lah.

WussRedXLi

Just hope the driver no jail time. I think 2-5k fine cannot siam for negligent driving (Even tho blocked by motorbike etc). The cyclist will also be fined, but comparatively sup sup water.

Note : Got earbuds also, if freeze frame by frame. Other than the obvious no brakes no lights (motorbikes also got lights) all black etc.

xllms

If you watch the video again, for his first 5km, the other Kenyans were pushing hard just to run side by side with Kiplimo. Their stride is a lot more extended compared to Kiplimo who is more relaxed. He probably does long intervals at 2.40s, that’s why he is so smooth.
No doubt about it. From another point of view, one will notice the vehicle was so near in front of him almost functioning as wind breaker, thus Kiplimo probably expended less energy and hardly show any signs of strain in his face. Nevertheless, an amazing run.

WussRedXLi

Kipchoge already did it but under perfect conditions 😂 So, I believe that it’s possible, only a matter of time

A few who can shield him from the wind can liao.....issue is, who can run so fast in the first place even for say first HM distance. lol

I think most recreational runners cannot appreciate aerodynamics effect at 2:50 pace (21.2kmh), esp for 42km.
In % terms it's the same be it 3k or 42km, but in absolute time (seconds) it becomes more and more glaringly visible for 21.0875, 42.195 esp when going for record.
It's not heckloads, but it's there. Cyclists esp those doing races, TTs, triathlons are on the other extreme end. lol. If the helmet improves CdA by even just 1.00% but costs $800, you can be sure esp the TT, triathlons like T100/ironman will buy esp if no cost in heat.

xllms

Guys share a nice deal for NB Rebel V4. Bought a pair. 😄

Taobao NB official store.
Price including air shipping + GST - $133.98.

【淘宝】假一赔十 https://e.tb.cn/h.Trnn3Yw4V67CA65?tk=pA37eiYL3eZ CZ028 「New Balance NB官方春季男女情侣Rebel v4专业减震轻量竞速跑步鞋」
点击链接直接打开 或者 淘宝搜索直接打开

There's also a trail version of Rebel V4. NB Venym. Considering getting that as well.

https://e.tb.cn/h.TrMdc1SAi4gyNkA?tk=H5jMei1ePUq
do check out these 天猫 shops if they offer shipping to SG (RMB599)
https://e.tb.cn/h.TrlcDPH2NcWMTbs?tk=cHM2ei55Kvu
https://e.tb.cn/h.Trld1OADNyFH3ya?tk=bwGmei56BGN

another shop with new colorways but not 天猫, bought from them before and they are reliable. (RMB579)
https://e.tb.cn/h.TIYikfHBl0JkibK?tk=J08Mei5Rmq0

Ender

Yes, most people actual vo2 is -2/-3 from their watch vo2max, when doing the actual test, based on YouTube videos I watched previously.
The difference more than that for Singaporean non elite runners. Could be up to -10. But I find their estimation for elite athlete are close to actual.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.