jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I like the way she is doing those push ups.....what i have been doing for training for the past year as well. Explosive up, slow eccentric down, decline of 50cm height + resistance bands. Or you can add clapping as well.
A touch of plyo for middle aged folks is always good for your latter years (for fast twitch)

xiNAKht.jpg

Ender

mai lah......the soggy socks feeling sucks
Wet socks is part of my running. Used to it. In fact these few days my socks are not as wet compare to a hot and humid days. Can see how much much sweat loss I have compare to getting wet from the rain.

Ender

Anyone gotten shin splints before? What’s e remedy besides stopping running?
Keep on running, just regressed volume and intensity such that pain level is low. The specificity at low volume is exactly what you need to strengthen.

And put resistance for your ankle dorsi flex to strengthen calf muscle at the tibialis.

Anyway shin splint is an over use injury. It means somewhere along the line your incremental is too much for your current level with volume or intensity.

mcylo

Wet socks is part of my running. Used to it. In fact these few days my socks are not as wet compare to a hot and humid days. Can see how much much sweat loss I have compare to getting wet from the rain.
I also sweat a bucket when running…..but usually is upper body sweating. Socks usually is slightly damn, but never soaking wet

xllms

siE="Ender, post: 155672247, member: 725"]
[/QUOTE]
summer is coming, will be back to soaking feet again
earlier week was single digit degC today 20sdegC and after 10km, can feel wetness in my shoes 😂

WussRedXLi

Opps. Pop goes the weasel. Young fella tho......sometimes can really take the punishment (before sometimes does give way even with all the precautions).

edit - actually i used to try and train with the wall sit / wall squat (isometric hold) that he mentioned in the vid. "One set" in my server room i used to do 5-6 mins. Whole session i could do 2 sets as i go through my whole range of exercises.....usually i superset this with resistance band standing hamstring curl and then TFL raises. Now i dont do liao, on bike strength training more interesting. And i am so much older than him so I am not sure what is happening to him now with the damage but he mentioned by 50th second he really could feel the quads burning, and 3 mins now is max.
Not haolianing or what.....but something seems really wrong for him 3 mins is too low ....hope the damage is not permanent (he is a 2:14 PB marathoner which is super fooking fast for a non-pro, cant be that weak). But heng the knees are inherently more stable than other joints like shoulders / rotator cuffs.

basic___

good news. hope u get what u want
Bought the pb 5.0, one of the racer singlet and tights. Racer tights material is quite good and not your generic rubber material, with two side pockets for gels. About 200sgd in total. I think a bit more ex compared to Taobao but at least I get to try the sizing for the shoes and clothes. Hopefully the pb 5.0 suits me for HM distance

WussRedXLi

Bought the pb 5.0, one of the racer singlet and tights. Racer tights material is quite good and not your generic rubber material, with two side pockets for gels. About 200sgd in total. I think a bit more ex compared to Taobao but at least I get to try the sizing for the shoes and clothes. Hopefully the pb 5.0 suits me for HM distance

Welcome to the China brands club!

chopra

Keep on running, just regressed volume and intensity such that pain level is low. The specificity at low volume is exactly what you need to strengthen.

And put resistance for your ankle dorsi flex to strengthen calf muscle at the tibialis.

Anyway shin splint is an over use injury. It means somewhere along the line your incremental is too much for your current level with volume or intensity.
What do u mean by resistance?

Ender

What do u mean by resistance?
The last time I had shin splint, for my rehab the kettlebell was my resistance when I tib raised.

something like this in the video. But if you have resistance band, can loop it around a pole and your foot, dorsi-flex your ankle

Ender

siE="Ender, post: 155672247, member: 725"]
summer is coming, will be back to soaking feet again
earlier week was single digit degC today 20sdegC and after 10km, can feel wetness in my shoes 😂

The AMDK consider 20 degC as extreme weather. LOL

WussRedXLi

Interesting........ never came across this before so dont know if it is true or not, but the pure runners here esp those without strength training can try doing the exercise (something like a 1/4 partial rep modified pistol squat....but maybe it is just an arbitary exercise lah lol)
I think esp relevant for those over age 50......think majority of youngsters shd be able to still squat rather deep and return up.
@Jeremy1 @Ender (y)
@xllms maybe can try as well

Talk about running as well.

I timed it with regards to running in the 2nd vid (@ 1:05 mark), but she also talked about Creatine / strength earlier part of the podcast. (@59 min mark)

Front part of the vid showing the exercise

Timestamped to the talk about running

basic___

Opps. Pop goes the weasel. Young fella tho......sometimes can really take the punishment (before sometimes does give way even with all the precautions).

edit - actually i used to try and train with the wall sit / wall squat (isometric hold) that he mentioned in the vid. "One set" in my server room i used to do 5-6 mins. Whole session i could do 2 sets as i go through my whole range of exercises.....usually i superset this with resistance band standing hamstring curl and then TFL raises. Now i dont do liao, on bike strength training more interesting. And i am so much older than him so I am not sure what is happening to him now with the damage but he mentioned by 50th second he really could feel the quads burning, and 3 mins now is max.
Not haolianing or what.....but something seems really wrong for him 3 mins is too low ....hope the damage is not permanent (he is a 2:14 PB marathoner which is super fooking fast for a non-pro, cant be that weak). But heng the knees are inherently more stable than other joints like shoulders / rotator cuffs.

Looking at his kamikaze way of running, it is no surprise that he got injured.

WussRedXLi

Interesting........ never came across this before so dont know if it is true or not, but the pure runners here esp those without strength training can try doing the exercise (something like a 1/4 partial rep modified pistol squat....but maybe it is just an arbitary exercise lah lol)
I think esp relevant for those over age 50......think majority of youngsters shd be able to still squat rather deep and return up.
@Jeremy1 @Ender (y)
@xllms maybe can try as well

Talk about running as well.

I timed it with regards to running in the 2nd vid (@ 1:05 mark), but she also talked about Creatine / strength earlier part of the podcast. (@59 min mark)

Front part of the vid showing the exercise

Timestamped to the talk about running

Oh.... from the vid, supposed to be something to do with this

ie keep the pelvis as level as possible, without having the knee fall in.

Bonus
Anyway i starting doing this as a beginner years ago even before covid. Really helps, 3rd week magically significant improvement. It helped my father and FIL as well (they aren't even runners but apparently their glutes ******* weak esp as old age). My father esp last time before doing this used to need as much as 200mg generic eterocoxib for nearly 2 weeks, damn terok. (arcoxia only goes up to 120mg)
Nowadays i for abductors i just whack resistance bands (minibands nowadays, least fuss max convenience in server room) coz can get higher strength.

WussRedXLi

Looking at his kamikaze way of running, it is no surprise that he got injured.

He managed to stave off injuries for years through strengthening and plyo. But i guess still got its limitations, although it was a very high threshold before injury. His mileage is like maciam Kelvin Kiptum one but at a non-pro elite level.
But for the rest of us even for locals at a very high level, more than sufficient.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.