WussRedXLi
30 vs 60
Do both running and cycling. I gave up jogging totally for more than 7 years then later realised I have a collapsed arch for my left foot. Strangely after getting back into running, my collapsed arch isn't so noticeable anymore. Not forgetting, running can prevent osteoporosis, whilst cycling might cause osteoporosis.
As for road bike, can consider a Giant TCR or Giant Defy. Do ride safely. Don't join a cycling group that always chiong speed and ignore traffic lights.
Alternatively, just buy a spin bike for cycling at home. This is really good for training if u don't mind no outdoors.
Just now saw an accident between Hello SG bike vs roadie. Roadie lying semi upright against a passer by's leg, surrounded by like 10 members of the public and 4 AETOS.
Got AETOS coz marina barrage area, at the fountain and ramp.,,,their main guard room just 50 metres away nia.
From the look of his grimacing face (pale also), i think some fracture of sorts cannot siam one. Cant be a slow speed accident. Probably waiting for SCDF ambulance or something.
very happy today I bought my road bike tarmac sl8 pro but haven’t collect. Will use my hybrid bike sirrus 4.0 much lesser.
really loved the sirrus, faster than a mountain but slower than a road.
Since Jan this year enjoyed riding my sirrus on road and pcn
Congrats! I tot u first timer road bike so recommended something friendlier pricing for u to try out in case regret. I was so wrong. 动不动就超过一万。
Again, safety first. Don't be influenced by peer riders. Speed doesn't mean anything. Strength, fitness, health, and safety are the things that matter.
I just crashed on hello ride yesterday too, at mbs area swerve to the left to avoid ppl although I rang the bell. Luckily only bang my leg on the bike. Some shin swelling, knee swelling a bit and a cut toenail as the pedal ripped through my toe area but otherwise ok.BTW since you old bird, is it common (or have you heard) folks "scolding" people bringing road bikes into the lift?
I "only" have foldies now but it's the kid and me.....so we occupy the lift together. We try to wait for our own "dedicated" lift and not go wait for one in which 1-2 other pax have already been waiting.
Kena "commented" twice before. Eg we went into the lift and suddenly found got 2-3 pax coming in. Not in the face but after they got out.
Actually for groups, depending on one's character/goals......also no need to join i feel......own time own target. I also dont join any running groups, or those triathlon/duathlon groups on TT bikes etc.
Many Singaporeans (maybe foreigners as well now) really hate cyclists, trust me on the hate (driver of nearly 30 years as well and i used to join car groups / track etc).
But i fully understand the hate, last night Shenton Way came across 2 roadies beating the red chionging past at no less than 30kmh just outside UIC with a family and carrying a young kid just 1 lane away. The father was raising his hand and my guess is that it was not a friendly wave.
Other than the accident that i saw at Marina Barrage just beside the ramp/fountain at the turn junction.
And last weekend also saw 1 mountain biker chiong red man at the junction from Takashimaya -> Orchard Mandarin, i mean he checked the traffic first of coz but issue is that the junction is a semi-blind slight bend one plus blocked by shrubs and also 3 other trucks which were parked outside Taka to off load their goods.
The pedestrians' visibility is limited to no more than 6 car lengths probably. 1 fast speeding car and that is it.
I noticed that some mountain bikers in the area like to treat the steps at Taka, ION and Wisma as training.....seen it several times liao.
My block each level only 5 households and 3 lifts, so rarely will have anyone sharing lift. Got one instance though, a boomer come in and commented "bicycles should keep at the void deck". Jitao kan him say my house your problem ah?
I just crashed on hello ride yesterday too, at mbs area swerve to the left to avoid ppl although I rang the bell. Luckily only bang my leg on the bike. Some shin swelling, knee swelling a bit and a cut toenail as the pedal ripped through my toe area but otherwise ok.
I stay hougang HDB. I have never been scolded for my road bike in the lift. Occasionally got people friendly to me and asked me how much is my bike. They also avoided taking same lift as me.BTW since you old bird, is it common (or have you heard) folks "scolding" people bringing road bikes into the lift?
I "only" have foldies now but it's the kid and me.....so we occupy the lift together. We try to wait for our own "dedicated" lift and not go wait for one in which 1-2 other pax have already been waiting.
Kena "commented" twice before. Eg we went into the lift and suddenly found got 2-3 pax coming in. Not in the face but after they got out.
Actually for groups, depending on one's character/goals......also no need to join i feel......own time own target. I also dont join any running groups, or those triathlon/duathlon groups on TT bikes etc.
Many Singaporeans (maybe foreigners as well now) really hate cyclists
, trust me on the hate (driver of nearly 30 years as well and i used to join car groups / track etc).
But i fully understand the hate, last night Shenton Way came across 2 roadies beating the red chionging past at no less than 30kmh just outside UIC with a family and carrying a young kid just 1 lane away. The father was raising his hand and my guess is that it was not a friendly wave.
Other than the accident that i saw at Marina Barrage just beside the ramp/fountain at the turn junction.
And last weekend also saw 1 mountain biker chiong red man at the junction from Takashimaya -> Orchard Mandarin, i mean he checked the traffic first of coz but issue is that the junction is a semi-blind slight bend one plus blocked by shrubs and also 3 other trucks which were parked outside Taka to off load their goods.
The pedestrians' visibility is limited to no more than 6 car lengths probably. 1 fast speeding car and that is it.
I noticed that some mountain bikers in the area like to treat the steps at Taka, ION and Wisma as training.....seen it several times liao.
Yeah I was at 5 am ish, alr not many people but I think they cannot hear the bell or ignore, I swerve cause otherwise cannot avoid. PMDs from afar can hear, very loud lolMBS area esp before 9.15pm need some skills one, even roadies without much "pavement" experience better keep to below 10. No need to bother ringing, it does not work/ineffective and just generates more ill feeling.
During weekend mornings go there for fun, i will never let my kid ride in front of me, coz his experience just insufficient.
One eg, overtaking via the left of runners/pedestrians is just asking for it. Cannot over take by left one.
Seen no less than 10 times fixies over there crashing into pple, not coz they are no skills but more of others being inpredictable. . Im not joking it's that many(also coz i frequent there all the way till Mountbatten a lot lah, other than Republic Ave/Sentosa as training).
The interesting thing is that i have never seen the illegal PMDs there crashing into pple, maybe less numbers lah...hence less probability. Or maybe also coz they ride in a different way and are more often than not more careful with pax around (Relatively). The PMDs also only come out after 10pm @ MBS area, so naturally less pax around liao.
Luckily yours sounds superficial.
I stay hougang HDB. I have never been scolded for my road bike in the lift. Occasionally got people friendly to me and asked me how much is my bike. They also avoided taking same lift as me.
They be glad that yours are not ebikes. Even if 1 small one, people also don't dare to enter the lift.
I ride bike more than 30 yrs no one ever told me off regarding my bikes (foldie, mtb, roadie). Stayed Pasir Ris HDB also no problem.
https://www.carousell.sg/p/java-ari...t-referrer_source=listing_page&t-tap_index=13
A bit gian on this......also looking out for a 3rd bike as wife now willing to join during weekend. No need to mod already, maybe change chainring to 60T at the shop, cheap cheap can liao.
But im a bit scared of the yellow part which is not a triangle, coz i will be using on the roads (potholes, i kena 2X pinch flat already coz could not see, even @ 70-80 PSI)...so the impact stresses i think no joke. If PCN still relatively ok.
Once was that stupid bloody huge pothole at the Customs House right at the bus stop there along Keppel....i totally forgot about it, not fast also, at most 25kmh.
Already instinctively raised my bum to try reduce the impact and not buang as i only detected it some metres away but still kena pinch flat....so you can imagine the impact stresses.
If that part break, i think a 25-30kmh crash on the road is no joke.
Java CF is i think still pretty ok, but the design i a bit skeptical.