jogging and motivation thread

rarenick

U all wear thin or thick socks for running and what brand or from where you bought? Wear cap for long distance?

WussRedXLi

U all wear thin or thick socks for running and what brand or from where you bought? Wear cap for long distance?

Nowadays is taobao. Not very thin not very thick.

Used to be the ones from decathlon.

The same socks that i wear to office. Not long distance runner anyway.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?_...PXGEu97yBGS1..&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.27d52e8dtihaZ8

wwIoODZ.jpg

winningeleven

Used to wear thin socks from swiftwick brands. Very hard to get now . Now just wear normal Uniqlo sport sock and Asics running socks that work just fine for me..however they don't last long like the swiftwick. I tried balega anti blister before. Damn thick and very warm!

My feet is wide. So I never can wear thick sock

HirotoXeno

recently i concentrate alot on aerobic, hardly do any anaerobic.... for losing weight hahhahahahaha. 165cm and 85kg bui bui here

wah i got abit wide and flat feet.. i think singapore cant try xtep 2000km???

for 强风3, so far i have tried with slower pace 6 mins 30 secs/km to 7 mins /km and i felt the forefoot is quite firm and rear foot not that bouncy... tried to go for faster pace and it became more comfortable but the propulsion and bounce is not really there... i think this pair is quite good for beginners doing tempo run since it is quite cheap for a plated shoes...

as of now, bmai fly and NB rebel v4 are my favourite... really good for slow runners like me...
Running will not slim . Is your food intake. Dont eat the food you like and tried to avoid it .. eat the food you dont like then u can cut down and reduce over eating.

WussRedXLi

I know a 3hr30min marathon guy taking hbp medication.

Another 45 mins 10km guy taking high cholesterol medication

A lot is genes.

If want a % figure attributed to genetics.......

For cancer, the number i have come across is around 50%.

For high cholesterol (esp high LDL), seems to be lower.
eg
https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8046820/

For BP, seems to be 30-60%, polygenetic attribution, ie not single gene but a pool of genes, so it depends.

AI :
High blood pressure, also known as hypertension, is believed to be influenced by genetics, with estimates suggesting that genetics account for 30% to 60% of the variation in blood pressure between individuals. However, this heritability is complex and influenced by multiple genes, with environmental factors playing a significant role as well.

Here's a more detailed breakdown:
  • Heritability:
    Studies indicate that a significant portion of hypertension risk is heritable, meaning it can be passed down through families.

• Polygenic Trait:
    Blood pressure is considered a polygenic trait, meaning it's influenced by many genes, each with a small effect, rather than a single gene.

• Gene-Environment Interaction:
    While genetics play a role, environmental factors such as diet, exercise, and stress levels also significantly influence blood pressure. Genes can predispose individuals to hypertension, but environmental factors can trigger or exacerbate the condition.

• Modifiable Risk Factors:
    Despite the genetic component, lifestyle choices like diet, exercise, and stress management can significantly impact blood pressure, even in individuals with a genetic predisposition.

WussRedXLi

But i also like this statement from AI most. This has also been what i have been subscribing to for the past few years esp......

Genes can predispose individuals to hypertension, but environmental factors can trigger or exacerbate the condition.

So depends on how one sees things. Half empty or half full. Things in real world is not digital or black and white, so no need to view things very negatively (if not, just living your life would be a drag).

It is not like things like Type 1 diabetes, autoimmune condition which vast majority is not reversible and need lifetime insulin injections.
Type II diabetes, high (LDL) cholresterol, Hypertension is reversible, just ask my wife or FIL.
It is not easy but it still is reversible and i do mean reversible back to a good healthy range with some meds and aerobic exercise with sufficient volume and good proper eating again causing weight loss etc , eg systolic 110, diastolic 70 for eg. From Sys 150-160 / Dia 110-115 range.......which to me and the specialist that my wife is seeing is fxxxing high. (the rheumatologist got a shock actually). My wife's mother and grandma also got such issues, so could very well be genetic. After which is maintainable without medication but your makan and exercise volume must be up to scratch.

Of coz best is if you are not genetically predisposed + aerobically fit with good mitochondria/strong good muscles ie insulin sensitive/good neruo good motor units good fast twitch + healthy living etc.

edit - actually the healthy lifestyle recommendation of 150 mins of MICT ie zone 2 is really bare minimum vol for healthy individuals. What more individuals with medical issues.
I have come across folks in various medical problems threads saying things like they are doing exercise 4-5 times a week, every day 20-30 mins, which is like really a lot already. Like.....WTF sia.

puffypaddington

Just to share with you guys who want massive improvement (I'm a 31 year old male).

First 2 years my training was just focused on Z1 (occasionally Z2) long slow mileage, went from 20km/week to 160km/week.

Now I'm cutting down my mileage to max 80km/week but adding alot of intensity, been doing this from May 2025 (5k PB was 20:56 then) and just ran a 19:14 ytd.

Hopefully I can reach my full potential in the next 2 years with this method.

winningeleven

Running will not slim . Is your food intake. Dont eat the food you like and tried to avoid it .. eat the food you dont like then u can cut down and reduce over eating.
For me.
To slim down from running and still want to eat as per normal without watching out the diet . Every run must be min 15km and above . Need to run at least 4 times per week .( Where one long run must be 21km and above)

For a lot of recreational runner. Many feel that 10km is a lot and feel they deserved a good treat after that.. but it is not... For my 10km under 1 hour. calories burned about 550 . Just enough to burn off 2 pics of bak kwa .

WussRedXLi

Just to share with you guys who want massive improvement (I'm a 31 year old male).

First 2 years my training was just focused on Z1 (occasionally Z2) long slow mileage, went from 20km/week to 160km/week.

Now I'm cutting down my mileage to max 80km/week but adding alot of intensity, been doing this from May 2025 (5k PB was 20:56 then) and just ran a 19:14 ytd.

Polarized 80% easy 20% high intensity would work beautifully for vast majority of amateurs. If you are able to tahan, 70/30 also can since it seems that nowadays you love intensity. 80km/week is very decent for 5k already even if the mileage is not optimal, even for 10k is good, of which 30% of high intensity is no joke.
Shd be able to pick up some more benefits with plyo/strength or maybe cross train in other areas (swim/bike) and focus more towards recovery nuances (sleep lowest hanging fruit), also probably towards a more rounded athlete then as well.

17-18 mins range shdnt be too much of a big issue.

WussRedXLi

For me.
To slim down from running and still want to eat as per normal without watching out the diet . Every run must be min 15km and above . Need to run at least 4 times per week .( Where one long run must be 21km and above)

For a lot of recreational runner. Many feel that 10km is a lot and feel they deserved a good treat after that.. but it is not... For my 10km under 1 hour. calories burned about 550 . Just enough to burn off 2 pics of bak kwa .

Pro cyclists 6-7k daily possible, but then is 20-30hr weeks.
In Singapore context, who can do? Some if can get 30hrs a week of sleep or work is near home can run to office and not OT + low stress load and wife / kids not demanding of a good lux lifestyle......can go 4 horse road 添油 liao. 🤣

Unless if is ASK and training siaolang (eg ironman events or MY cycling events, even if is just half IM 70.3) 🤣

Ender

Looks like your method working very well. But prior to your change to high intensity workout, your 20:56 is already a solid timing. The rest of us have to adjust our expectation accordingly.

160km a week is really like pro level kinda of mileage.

Ender

For me.

Marathon training, don't control diet with calories with restriction. Carbs, fats and protein are our friend.
I don't know how those calories in and out and deficit work. I really think I eat more than I workout, but maintained my weight at sub 65km for many years, until the day I started Creatin.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.