jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

My last HM was during 2023 AHM where I ran 1:30 if you count the short course. Then this year I ran a 1:25 for first half with 3:02 at the end for China’s marathon

Very fast.

Wish i am young again....... 🤣 (esp the recovery rate reason).

Either that or i hit Toto or some investiment jackpot and i can train and esp recover full time with no next day/week job stresses while sleeping. 🤣 Melatonin/sleep hygiene can only do so much.

WussRedXLi

@rarenick @DigDub

You went to batam to cycle before? How are the roads to Barelang?
Only thing i see is the rolling terrain, double edged sword i guess.
edit - i dont need somewhere fancy, just somewhere safe enough with ok road conditions. ie not like Malaysian B trunk roads. Srsly, wont go to the southernmost tip km zero also one lah.....too far too long too risky.

City area i quite familiar (my in laws moved to Batam post covid, 2 years liao), just returned from there and sheesh the development is decent. My wife quite interested to move there eventually in a few years due to pull and also SG push reasons. Going again 2 weeks after NDP wife need to settle some admin matters.

Actually the drivers there are solid patient, the way they u-turn is crazy even during peak periods.

I used English over there, totally no issues in the malls / Grab or Gojek. Even the mall kopitiam also no issue with the youngsters or even middle-aged, they can understand. For the older chinese folks just use a smatter of Hokkien and Mandarin ok liao totally no issue.

Matador also goes there sia.

Only -ve i can see is the rather expensive ferry ($65 to 75 return trip) and Rp-SGD continous slide but the latter can be hedged.

WussRedXLi

Oh man........

Seems that she has the speed though.

The 12 yr old Yu Zidi 2:08 even though she weakest in the fly :oops: :oops:

DigDub

@rarenick @DigDub

You went to batam to cycle before? How are the roads to Barelang?
Only thing i see is the rolling terrain, double edged sword i guess.
edit - i dont need somewhere fancy, just somewhere safe enough with ok road conditions. ie not like Malaysian B trunk roads. Srsly, wont go to the southernmost tip km zero also one lah.....too far too long too risky.

City area i quite familiar (my in laws moved to Batam post covid, 2 years liao), just returned from there and sheesh the development is decent. My wife quite interested to move there eventually in a few years due to pull and also SG push reasons. Going again 2 weeks after NDP wife need to settle some admin matters.

Actually the drivers there are solid patient, the way they u-turn is crazy even during peak periods.

I used English over there, totally no issues in the malls / Grab or Gojek. Even the mall kopitiam also no issue with the youngsters or even middle-aged, they can understand. For the older chinese folks just use a smatter of Hokkien and Mandarin ok liao totally no issue.

Matador also goes there sia.

Only -ve i can see is the rather expensive ferry ($65 to 75 return trip) and Rp-SGD continous slide but the latter can be hedged.

I went very long ago, think got 10 years? The road to the barelang bridge condition quite bad, got many potholes. Traffic quite bad also. But outside that quite ok. It was an organized event so got traffic police escorted, so wasn't so bad.

WussRedXLi

I went very long ago, think got 10 years? The road to the barelang bridge condition quite bad, got many potholes. Traffic quite bad also. But outside that quite ok. It was an organized event so got traffic police escorted, so wasn't so bad.

Thanks, yeah 15 to even 10 years (2010 - 2015) ago i would not have dared imagine cycling in Batam.
Past few years noticeable pick up, if not for COVID it might even have been better.
You go google map (not sure when taken but confirm not 10 yrs ago so long), Barelang 5 and 6 area the asphalt like totally covered with loose dirt. Now looks much better.

But for running even today it is a challenge, not so much of traffic but rather the paths beside the roads is quite polluted. But 200m away (my in-laws house) is ok. I bought my laser particle counter that i use for haze periods there....... But early morning and evenings got quite the number of walkers / joggers, i dare say significantly more than SG roadsides....this is from my observation over 5 days of walking/jogging 700m to buy Kopi Kenangan at my in-laws place ( 🤣) Maybe coz of the easier schedules and jobs/careers there.
But how they can tahan the localised traffic pollution, i really do not know, the smell alone during morning peak is cannot.
But i guess can be solved by treadmill (aircon + fan! shiok). Suits me and my wife ok since i not long distance runner.

Bo bian, maybe need to get a mountain bike with MTB tires + cheap secondary road bike and put Conti Gatorskin. Not sure how's the e-bike situation there as wel (not talking about the local delivery e-bikes).
The good thing is that if stranded due to puncture and the tools dont work coz the damn tires dont come off the rim or put on safely and dont pinch the tube, the Grab fees damn cheap. In SG it'd cost a small fortune be it bring bike back home or mobile workshop svcs. In SG also if riding in grp, sure got pros able to fix lah......you just need to bring tool bag in bottle or saddlebag. Solo is the issue.

ps. Alternatively also can Batam main RTI. Comparable to Singapore.

WussRedXLi

Wah lao, can literally chase Matador liao. That's a relay team, he solo.
Also second fastest runner, just behind another relay team.

Mind boggling. Maybe need to buy his plans soon. It might work well for SG environment. 🤣

c01E83Z.jpg

WussRedXLi

Wah lao, can literally chase Matador liao. That's a relay team, he solo.
Also second fastest runner, just behind another relay team.

Mind boggling. Maybe need to buy his plans soon. It might work well for SG environment. 🤣

c01E83Z.jpg

Forgot to mention that he also just booked out of reservist camp the day before..... and so he didnt really train much (no brick sessions).

WussRedXLi

yesterday night rain is so heavy, cant even jogggg

Was going out at 8pm and saw the front + lightning and checked radar, really cannot...... took cover at my parent's place but didnt rain in Chinatown. Went out for usual route Sentosa and MBS areas, did not rain at Bay East Garden but rained from Sports Hub area along Geylang PCN coz ground was really wet.

Btu lucky coz still got chance for a session....saw some top of the cars were wet on the road.

sph777

That means he is capable of even more....... just needs more chances, which he is going for now.
But all these are not cheap.
Must really go for early bird. Even then, still ex. If he win, can get money tho. For 85kg bui bui like myself, every race is just trying to hit goals haha

kkkkdllmkkkk

Was going out at 8pm and saw the front + lightning and checked radar, really cannot...... took cover at my parent's place but didnt rain in Chinatown. Went out for usual route Sentosa and MBS areas, did not rain at Bay East Garden but rained from Sports Hub area along Geylang PCN coz ground was really wet.

Btu lucky coz still got chance for a session....saw some top of the cars were wet on the road.
my area wasnt that fortunate... 8pm already super windy and thunder... dun even want to step out liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.