jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Guys, weather damn hot and humid now. Remember to stay hydrated. Best run in shade.

This evening started run at 5.40pm. Supposed to easy run 4k then attempt a 2.4k.

But hao lian. Went to run 4k under sun for suntan. Took a water break. Drinking water from water cooler is warm. At this moment already feel not quite right and thought of quitting.

End up want to speed up for 2.4 also cannot. Can only chug along and struggle to finish.

Don't play play with the heat.
this kind of weather can finish can liao
drink more water and rest well

sales69

How can we know at which point is our heat injury limit?

For me, heavy sweating, feel hot, slight lightheaded, fatigue (when the effort is usually easy or manageable)

From Google.

Early Warning Signs:

Excessive sweating: The body's attempt to cool down can lead to heavy sweating, especially in the early stages of heat-related illness.

Muscle cramps: Especially in the legs, arms, or trunk, these are often a sign of heat cramps.

Fatigue or dizziness: Feeling tired or lightheaded can indicate heat exhaustion.

Nausea or headaches: These can be early signs of heat-related illness.
Increased heart rate: The heart races to pump blood more quickly to cool the body.

Symptoms of Heat Exhaustion:

Heavy sweating: As mentioned, this is a common early sign.

Weakness or tiredness: Feeling physically drained.

Cool, pale, clammy skin: This can be a sign of heat exhaustion, especially if accompanied by profuse sweating.

Fast, weak pulse: The pulse may be rapid and weak.

Muscle cramps: As mentioned, these are often an early sign and can persist in heat exhaustion.

Dizziness, nausea or vomiting: These can be signs of heat exhaustion.

Headache: Headaches can also be a sign of heat exhaustion.

Fainting: Fainting can occur if heat exhaustion progresses.

WussRedXLi

Guys, weather damn hot and humid now. Remember to stay hydrated. Best run in shade.

This evening started run at 5.40pm. Supposed to easy run 4k then attempt a 2.4k.

But hao lian. Went to run 4k under sun for suntan. Took a water break. Drinking water from water cooler is warm. At this moment already feel not quite right and thought of quitting.

End up want to speed up for 2.4 also cannot. Can only chug along and struggle to finish.

Don't play play with the heat.
How can we know at which point is our heat injury limit?

Was cycling yesterday to get the crank done. 2pm time set off. Went off to travel via Marina Barrage/BEG but MB bridge closed. Then lan lan need to backtrack and get onto Nicoll Highway, Guillemard, Paya Lebar then reach Macpherson MRT that area.
Came back same, Peya Lebar, Guillemard, nicoll but i turned into Republic and Stamford coz safer......I hate the bends nearer to Suntec, very dangerous during normal hours as well if the drivers or worst heavy vehs with blind spots bobo coz cyclists visibility is literally zero. But republic and Stamford is literally no shelter from buidlings etc. It was only when i reached 1 marina blvd then i got the shelter from buildings.
The heat from other cars and traffic light stops power also......esp at the start of Nicoll Highway traffic light which is long and the radiant heat from asphalt and cars means the heat index close to 50 deg C, was drinking a fair bit of iced water.

Damn hot, nearly peng san despite 1 x 600ml normal water and 1 x 800ml iced water in vacuum insulated flask. Just timed it nicely that i finished all 1.4L when i reached home.
Not say at the limit of heat injury, morning time i actually took a mala dong feng packet (HDL) and it was salty enough coz i knew afternoon it is gonna be brutal.

But if want a visual, it would prob be like this.....
Dont get to the point when during lower RH, you dont feel sweat on your skin, that one maciam like near to point of no return.

ps. Despite 1.4L of water + cycling wind cooling.........i came back my little bit of pee still solid yellow one.

WussRedXLi

For me, heavy sweating, feel hot, slight lightheaded, fatigue (when the effort is usually easy or manageable)

Yes, the light headed feeling + body feeling !@#!@%$!@# hot, then it is time to stop liao. And pour water preferably iced water. (cyclists have it better coz can carry vacuum insulated flasks)
Resting in the shade doesnt help heaps one, esp if one is past a certain point.

I have 2 water bottle holders behind my saddle in a rear water bottle holder (like those TT bikes), and if i want i can also screw on another 2 bottles to the tubes on the frame. Then cycling jersey back pocket i think can squeeze 3 bottles of 500ml fully iced. Shiokz, i think 80km in the Sun no issue.
I mean can stop by petrol stations lah, but that is for SG......but if carry own iced water can pour direct onto body, then petrol stations can go lim soda 100 plus / ice cream etc.

And of coz the aircon in the petrol station is good. 🤣 All cyclists would know this.

sph777

Which is harder?

Sub 40 10km or sub 90 HM

I am 90s away from both. Thinking to attempt a sub 40 10km with a 8 weeks training plan then go for sub 90 HM.
I think sub 40 10km. I think sub 90 HM is more easy as it is a slower pace. Trying to maintain sub 4/km pace for 10km is much harder haha. I am sure u can do it tho

kkkkdllmkkkk

Srsly bro, if you like it, just get it. Invest in the $100, shiok shiok, just 1 solid nice one with brand ok already. $100 still pretty afforadable for the vast majority of working folks.
Then for rougher use for short runs, get a few pieces from TB.

Coz actually it is pretty simple, you'd just need 1 solid T, 1 solid singlet, can liao. Hand wash it and just wring it a bit (no need to be too dry) and it dries within 3-4 hrs, ie next day can use. You can use that piece for 1000 runs, this kind of material still would look ok.

sorry cos i 80kg bui bui and my sweat smelly so need to use washing machine... 1 piece confirm not enuff de... buy 1 aeroswift maybe can buy 2 to 3 pieces of China brand singlet liao....

Ender

Which is harder?

Sub 40 10km or sub 90 HM

I am 90s away from both. Thinking to attempt a sub 40 10km with a 8 weeks training plan then go for sub 90 HM.
Talking about absolute number of 90s, 10km is harder coz it's the shorter duration race. It's like how improving 15 sec is a big deal for those 10 minutes runner for 2.4km (very likely improved fitness) vs 15 sec for 6 hour for 42km runner, which could be attributed to variability.

Ender

sorry cos i 80kg bui bui and my sweat smelly so need to use washing machine... 1 piece confirm not enuff de... buy 1 aeroswift maybe can buy 2 to 3 pieces of China brand singlet liao....
I am using these brands Asics aerobreeze, qiaodan, uto for singlet with ventilated holes. The uto and qiaodan one feels like the Asics aerobreeze but cost less than $20 while the aerobreeze retail at $69. The uto one are even lighter at sub 30g dry weight, while Asics and qiaodan are 60g.
Nike may feel nicer at dry, but they all feel the same when they are fully soaked for a heavy sweater. That's why not willing to spent on upper.

Ender

From Google.

Early Warning Signs:

Excessive sweating: The body's attempt to cool down can lead to heavy sweating, especially in the early stages of heat-related illness.

Muscle cramps: Especially in the legs, arms, or trunk, these are often a sign of heat cramps.

Fatigue or dizziness: Feeling tired or lightheaded can indicate heat exhaustion.

Nausea or headaches: These can be early signs of heat-related illness.
Increased heart rate: The heart races to pump blood more quickly to cool the body.

Symptoms of Heat Exhaustion:

Heavy sweating: As mentioned, this is a common early sign.

Weakness or tiredness: Feeling physically drained.

Cool, pale, clammy skin: This can be a sign of heat exhaustion, especially if accompanied by profuse sweating.

Fast, weak pulse: The pulse may be rapid and weak.

Muscle cramps: As mentioned, these are often an early sign and can persist in heat exhaustion.

Dizziness, nausea or vomiting: These can be signs of heat exhaustion.

Headache: Headaches can also be a sign of heat exhaustion.

Fainting: Fainting can occur if heat exhaustion progresses.
I don't agree with heavy sweating as an early sign. If fact many untrained individual with get heay stroke bypassing heavy sweating phase as their body is not adapted to cooling and heavy sweating is that adaptation.
For me, is when the sweating stops, that's a red flag for me. My palms get dry

WussRedXLi

Which is harder?

Sub 40 10km or sub 90 HM

Technically shd be the sub 40 10k, since you already can run HM in good pace.

sales69

Go for the China brands mentioned here. Value for buck. (y)

WussRedXLi

I don't agree with heavy sweating as an early sign. If fact many untrained individual with get heay stroke bypassing heavy sweating phase as their body is not adapted to cooling and heavy sweating is that adaptation.
For me, is when the sweating stops, that's a red flag for me. My palms get dry

I think no matter what, when the sweating stops, that is already a pretty good sign for heat stroke.
That's probably also the point of no return when it stops and the pax would start to become delirious/unconscious soon coz further rises in core temp would then be comparatively easier.

But heng is way before that, there would be a lot of signs telling you to stop lah. Issue is those "mind over body" hardcore David Goggins types. :unsure: :s16:

Actually exercising during afternoon heat already not a good idea, got other ways to do safely.
Our afternoon heat is like 42 deg C heat index one leh, and that is shade. Under direct sun exposure on asphalt on a hot cloudless afternoon like yesterday/today, that can exceed maciam like over 50 deg C. I experienced that yesterday on the bike. !@#@!$% Heng got 1.4L water of which 800ml is absolutely ice chilled with ice floating in the vacuum sports flask.

>>
AI Overview

In heatstroke, the body may stop sweating because it becomes severely dehydrated and its cooling mechanisms fail. Sweating is a primary way the body cools itself, but when dehydrated, the body can't produce enough sweat to regulate temperature, leading to a dangerous rise in body temperature.

WussRedXLi

My tan lines from yesterday's afternoon commute on the bike. Around 1hr 40 mins or so, GPS registered total duration as 2h 30 mins but that is inclusive of the workshop time taken to change my cranks.
Bleah......
Huawei GT Runner and gloves.

bM9BkAC.jpg

kkkkdllmkkkk

My tan lines from yesterday's afternoon commute on the bike. Around 1hr 40 mins or so, GPS registered total duration as 2h 30 mins but that is inclusive of the workshop time taken to change my cranks.
Bleah......

bM9BkAC.jpg

very blur leh

sales69

Bleah......

bM9BkAC.jpg
Wah Huawei GT runner is huge.

Skyrillex

Which is harder?

Sub 40 10km or sub 90 HM

For me it’s definitely sub 40 10km. Basically all out whereas sub 90 HM has some buffer in case you slow down to hydrate etc.

Source: Already achieved both.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.