jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I think first race is the defining moments whether you get hook to joining races. Like this guy, this is unlikely will be his last race. He most likely looking for new challenges.
https://www.facebook.com/share/v/19u1uzUMTa/

Wow....nearly peng san mentally. But that peng san effect might be addictive to some.
Esp if got story behind, like since young lots of pple called him bbfa...... and now finally.

My kid also, kena called like that. But few months ago managed to rode 90+ km on a fine day. Now he confidence liao and wanna do more. I am going to intro him to speed soon.

But to "prove any points" best to do it safely / progressively, preferably with some guidance. If not anyhow hoot no good.

WussRedXLi

Even pros cry..... that mental effect

Just yest.....

Demi vollering doesnt look too pleased tho......

Ender

Hi can a beginner with sub 7.30m/km run finish a maratron?
I ask Gemini to calculate how long would it take at 7:30min/km. 5:16 hour is very well within the cut off of SCSM. I think it's 8 hour if I am not wrong.
But you said you are a beginner? why not join 10km race first? and slowly progress to FM? Actually FM is not really fun for me. HM is the sweet spot for me for endurance and running at tempo instead of LSD.

At a pace of 7:30 min/km, it would take approximately 5 hours, 16 minutes, and 27 seconds to complete a full marathon of 42.195 km.

Ender

Wow....nearly peng san mentally. But that peng san effect might be addictive to some.
Esp if got story behind, like since young lots of pple called him bbfa...... and now finally.

My kid also, kena called like that. But few months ago managed to rode 90+ km on a fine day. Now he confidence liao and wanna do more. I am going to intro him to speed soon.

But to "prove any points" best to do it safely / progressively, preferably with some guidance. If not anyhow hoot no good.
That's is one experience most edwmer will never experience and never understand why got 'stupid' people pay money to run and suffer. LOL The crossing of finishing line is really a euphoric moment especially for first timer.

Ender

Cycling also got anti-chafing cream products. Shd be around the same stuff, anti friction. But i never need to use, coz not really ultra kinda distances (far far from it)
I find petroleum jelly works well for the chest strap I used and in the past, nipple chafing. They are a lot cheaper than all those sports brand lube,.

xllms

My 1st marathon also have the same preparation like u. Run 5km to 7km only. I walked and ran and finished it at 6hr 45 mins. I really walk most of the time during the race.
good idea 😂
if FM objective is merely 重为参与 why torture oneself and run so much
SG Marathon 2025 cut off time is 7hr 30min, average pace to complete is 10:40/km...can walk all the way!😜

winningeleven

Bro is it expensive?
Need to apply the feet before walk?
Market price should be less than $18. I used to get it from Amazon.

Now the cheapest to get is from aid station Australia. I checked they do ship to sg .

Yes before my run. I always apply on my feet / toes before I wear running my sock .

xllms

That's is one experience most edwmer will never experience and never understand why got 'stupid' people pay money to run and suffer. LOL The crossing of finishing line is really a euphoric moment especially for first timer.
moi can only pretend to understand 😂

WussRedXLi

good idea 😂
if FM objective is merely 重为参与 why torture oneself and run so much
SG Marathon 2025 cut off time is 7hr 30min, average pace to complete is 10:40/km...can walk all the way!😜

Last Pen starting around 5.30am. Go plus another 6hr plus , you'd hit WCH at a time when you really dont wanna be there, if they are not changing from 2024 route. Quite terror actually....then you hope for the best and not DNF due to heat/cramps etc.....coz cutting so close to a borderline pace that any slowdown = gg

One needs to try running at 11am on a cloudless day on hot unshaded asphalt to look see what it feels like (try TMCR or something). Last monday i tried liao, but cycling. Similar lah.....Nicoll and Guiilemard/Paya Lebar.
Either that or pray for cloudy but not rainy weather.

edit - to and fro both directions on WCH is a total of 7.6km distance, no cover.

But the good thing is that with a 7:30 pace prob for 5k distance (esp if that is zone 2), within 4 months still quite possible to guarantee a decent + confirmed finish. If couch potato standard+sedentary+BMI well over 25 for past 20 yrs, then that is another story.

Bonus...most probably not exposed to the sun (well before 10am, see the sun ray angle and he ran a 4:38)
Actually even for Keppel Rd towards CBD, still exposed to the sun for the left side, if really take so long to run the FM.
Early morning prior to 10am then is shaded by the viaduct.

sales69

Anyone tried Therapin or other brands of nose strip? Seems popular among runners now.
Recently saw someone ran with black nose strip. I thought what was that? New fashion? :s13:

Oh so is help to breathe in easier.

Maybe I need that. My breathe is always loud, like not enough regardless through nose or mouth.

WussRedXLi

Anyway when talking about WCH, i always get reminded by this middle age abang doing his multi laps there one. Somemore is right in the middle of the day sometimes, and avg 40kmh . Super hardcore

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.