WussRedXLi
Posting here in a long while. Got into longer distances around 10km but everytime I will either do a u turn or carry an extra shirt around with ezlink card.
Any other methods to make carrying the extra shirt less painful?
Last Pen starting around 5.30am. Go plus another 6hr plus , you'd hit WCH at a time when you really dont wanna be there, if they are not changing from 2024 route. Quite terror actually....then you hope for the best and not DNF due to heat/cramps etc.....coz cutting so close to a borderline pace that any slowdown = gg
One needs to try running at 11am on a cloudless day on hot unshaded asphalt to look see what it feels like (try TMCR or something). Last monday i tried liao, but cycling. Similar lah.....Nicoll and Guiilemard/Paya Lebar.
Either that or pray for cloudy but not rainy weather.
edit - to and fro both directions on WCH is a total of 7.6km distance, no cover.
But the good thing is that with a 7:30 pace prob for 5k distance (esp if that is zone 2), within 4 months still quite possible to guarantee a decent + confirmed finish. If couch potato standard+sedentary+BMI well over 25 for past 20 yrs, then that is another story.
Bonus...most probably not exposed to the sun (well before 10am, see the sun ray angle and he ran a 4:38)
Actually even for Keppel Rd towards CBD, still exposed to the sun for the left side, if really take so long to run the FM.
Early morning prior to 10am then is shaded by the viaduct.
which is why many claimed 400m is the one of tge toughest if not the toughest race. Usain Bolt himself claimed he hated the training.In 200-meter sprint races, elite male sprinters typically produce a blood lactate concentration of around 10.3 mmol/L according to research published by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This is higher than the concentration seen after a 100-meter sprint (8.5 mmol/L). The increase in lactate concentration is correlated with the average velocity sustained over the race.
A 400-meter sprint results in a significant production of lactate, with post-race blood lactate levels typically reaching 12-25 mmol/L, according to ScienceDirect.com and RunningFront. This high level of lactate indicates a substantial reliance on anaerobic energy production during the race. The exact amount varies between individuals and depends on factors like gender and training.
In an 800-meter race, a runner's blood lactate concentration can reach levels around 15.53 mmol/L, according to one study. This is a significant amount, reflecting the high-intensity effort required for the event. The 800m is a middle-distance event where both anaerobic and aerobic energy systems are heavily involved. While lactate production is a byproduct of this energy production, it's important to note that lactate itself doesn't cause muscle fatigue, but rather the buildup of hydrogen ions that lowers the pH of the blood.
In a 1500-meter run, athletes typically produce a significant amount of lactate, with concentrations reaching upwards of 15 mmol/L. This high lactate concentration is a result of the intense anaerobic metabolism required to sustain the race. While the exact amount varies between individuals and depends on factors like training and pacing, the 1500m run generally results in a substantial increase in blood lactate levels.
In a 3000-meter run, the amount of lactate produced varies, but it's generally lower than in shorter, more intense events like the 400-meter run. Specifically, a study on under-20 male track athletes found that the peak blood lactate concentration after a 3000-meter steeplechase (a variation of the 3000m) was 11.87 mmol/L, according to the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This is significantly lower than the peak concentration of 18.27 mmol/L observed after a 400-meter run in the same study.
In a 5000-meter (5K) race, blood lactate levels typically reach around 6.5 mmol/L at the finish line, according to RunningFront. This level is significantly lower than what might be seen in shorter, more intense races like the 400m, where lactate levels can reach 25 mmol/L.
Yeah you are correct, Pen A to G usually i think.am struggling to understand the abbreviations
Pen: assuming some marathon event
WCH: some location which i have no idea
TMCR: Tenah Merah...?
which is why many claimed 400m is the one of tge toughest if not the toughest race. Usain Bolt himself claimed he hated the training.
simi ish PCN?Yeah you are correct, Pen A to G usually i think.![]()
WCH = west coast highway.....starting from the surface level road right at the to-be-opened Circle Line keppel MRT up the raised viaduct which is also called WCH.
TMCR is tanah merah coastal road......the road beside the to be opened T5 areas (new runway etc). Also got a PCN path beside it.
U stay in China too long liao. Pen is start pen for SCSM, based on your registration. Usually based on expected timings but they don't check except for elites and national challenge runners.simi ish PCN?
indeed. gum sia very muchU stay in China too long liao. Pen is start pen for SCSM, based on your registration. Usually based on expected timings but they don't check except for elites and national challenge runners.
PCN is park connector network for all your neighbourhood parks in SG
simi ish PCN?
Recently I had stir fry laksa for lunch.I somehow on easy runs always have to rush to toilet halfway lol. Cause start I ignore