jogging and motivation thread

rarenick

Actually I sorta used to do that in 2023 for my longer jogs when i was still interested in 10k, 3-4 times a week.
Short ones i just do my run workouts at my rooftop coz can chop chop in the morning at 7am, which i am doing now once a week.
Now i still go cycling there nearly daily, i actually train all my intervals there (after 9pm, 7-8pm can RIP too crowded), sometimes Sentosa. Or after rides or looping at WCH just nice, go there joy ride 1 or 2 rounds / cool down see tourists and lululemon girls. hehe....

So good pinnacle duxton

sales69

My speed 2 outlasted my speed 3 lor LOL. My speed 2 the grip starting to fade liao.
My Speed 3s still around. Not as bouncy anymore but I don't think they were from the start.

Damn well built. Just won't breakdown. If throw, feel heartpain. 😂

sales69

My 1st pair endorphins speed 3 ran until 1500km . Already standby another pair ES3 before that. When I retired my 1st ES3. The 2nd ES3 already left more than 1 year untouched after I bought it. In the end ..my 2nd pair of ES3 only last 100km where the upper and mid sole become separated..quite a waste.
Another reason why must rotate shoes but the scientists never say. :s13:

Shoes must wear instead of storage. Otherwise will open mouth and disintegrate.

WussRedXLi

Faith Kipyegon gonna attempt 3k WR (8:06) during Tokyo WC....which has stood for over 30 years amid doping accusations then.

Kuudere

I don't run marathon ma. Below 400m distance is the only way I can run at around 3.45/km pace.

Coros app will classify the run as Anaerobic.

Usually after 10-12 sets will do another 2km easy. But will feel the heart is tired. Weak ah. 😂

If you try at 10k pace, should be quite doable actually.

Hoping Shaun gets bronze at least for 5/10k.

Think he just restarting his speed training i think as he mentioned it was time he started to get his legs really spinning again with some speed stimulus, last post was in June 2024 so maybe he did rest for quite a while and he is happy to be "back" and able to film himself for YT vids.
Additionally he at altitude....
edit - watched the vid again, oh he did mention he did his build up before that also.....mile repeats, tempo, he did 30k the week before. For his long run, 30k at tempo he said he was able to do 3:20 pace, and he will be trying 35k soon. His coach mentioned he started the build up 2 months ago.

One big difference is the float/rest......part of the training for regular folks like me. My microburst intervals at 130-140% of threshold i rest at half the work period. Quite vomit inducing at first even during first set, gotta train and get used to it then could manage. Even now the last set of 12 i still cannot sustain at 2:1 work rest and i gotta pull back to 1:1.
That is why i mentioned what he did was not dissimilar to the cycling microburst intervals 40/20s at VO2max / 130-140% of FTP.

I think all these and the whatever short running chapalang workouts that i did helped me shave another 30-45 seconds for my 3k. Not sure how much it helps / maintain my 5k specifically...... not really running "long". Maybe end of the year of in early 2026 i try 5k. (T100 in April, that'd a 4k run and then a longer 6k run)

He is more of a 3/5k guy. Remembered him trying for Olympic 10k team and he didn’t manage to make the team. Marathon was even worse since he dropped out. He ran a 2.18 marathon recently. I don’t see him going under 2.10. Bernard Lagat, another fast twitch runner, only managed to run 2.12. He will improve definitely but unlikely to be significant.

I6cbdKf.jpeg

We did similar workout. One set lesser than you haha.

Seems hard since you did jog recovery and transition from warm up to the actual interval. Probably can push for sub 90 min HM

sph777

First off, by thermometer measurements, 50 sty is ~ 1.0 deg C cooler than ground level @ Cantonment or Duxton plain park. I measured several times before. This i can share with you...
26 sty is also warmer by heat index, due to the concrete and less "airy".

50th sty in terms of distance got chance that it is quite accurate per lap for my GT runner, even with the overhead concrete blockage at 1C. My GT runner usually registers over 800m (810 - 815m usually to be more exact, but of coz nothing is absolutely accurate).....so 400m is half that lap, and 200m is like half that like 1G to 1D's turnstile.

The 26th sty confirm cannot rely on GPS, everything is screwed up. But the track they claim is 800m.
I tried google map measurement of distance and it shd be pretty close to 800m though a bit longer .

So yeah if really want to have more absolute accuracy for TT purposes, gotta go track.
However, even on a track, 3k to 5k distances, 10s to even 20s timing range it is also not gonna be very indicative of whether fitness dropped or improved, coz dependent on so many other variables which are probably even more affecting, things like rest/taper, heat index etc. Much less 10k - HM distances.
But of coz it is something that you can, on paper, say that you have set a PB for that timing.

Not sure what is Google map's accuracy and my manual plotting accuracy, and i dont have a wheel distance measurement device. Unless i go ultra kee siao and use my 7m tape measure go and measure, that means i'd be dragging the metal tape measure over the whole lap for 114 times (800/7). 🤣

Actually to be frank, with some elbow grease and 18-20 mins duration, it is actually doable if you really want an exact answer to the distance there. :unsure:
But seriously speaking also, that four 90 deg turns at 1A and 1G also would impact the timing of paces obelow 4:30

rK93pmv.jpg
I only run there if jogging with wife or lazy to go out run. Haha, the 90 degree turns are the worst part for gps and momentum haha.

sph777

My Speed 3s still around. Not as bouncy anymore but I don't think they were from the start.

Damn well built. Just won't breakdown. If throw, feel heartpain. 😂
My ES3 I think 500-700km, started to be super super squeaky and below grip starting to go.

dev_stg_prd

My 1st pair endorphins speed 3 ran until 1500km . Already standby another pair ES3 before that. When I retired my 1st ES3. The 2nd ES3 already left more than 1 year untouched after I bought it. In the end ..my 2nd pair of ES3 only last 100km where the upper and mid sole become separated..quite a waste.
1500km?? i think no bounce already.

WussRedXLi

He is more of a 3/5k guy. Remembered him trying for Olympic 10k team and he didn’t manage to make the team. Marathon was even worse since he dropped out. He ran a 2.18 marathon recently. I don’t see him going under 2.10. Bernard Lagat, another fast twitch runner, only managed to run 2.12. He will improve definitely but unlikely to be significant.

Yea last year he also did try for the Paris Olympics trial for FM, but didnt make it.
He will be remembered for his 5k of course. Maybe he is gonna try again....coz nothing much for him to do.

For me i just watch his workouts.....which is very mesmerizing in terms of stride. 🤣

Even Joshua Cheptegi did debut @ 2:08 in Valencia and second attempt 2:05 in Tokyo FM.

June 22 2024 vid for the first, Feb 12th 2024 for the second.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.