jogging and motivation thread

Ender

still trying to decide on my shoes for SCSM.....

1. superblast 2 (usual shoe i used for my LSD)
2. prime x2 strung (foot slippage, awkward high stack but the plates might serve me well after 30k)
3. qiaodan pb3.0 (i have only use those for intervals so far)

decisions decisions decisions zzzz
Need to bring all of them for a long run >25km to decides. Likke the PB3 for me, has toe issues with insole. Without insole I can bring it to 21km, but wouldn't dare to run above that distance.

For SCSM, I am still waiting if I can snatch a Nike VF 4 for under $150. Else it's the last year Vf3 or 361 Flame 4.

Ender

Condensed version of the performance head/coach at UAE Team Emirates and 2 (or was it 3 years) coaching Pogi. Current coach for pogi is another fella now for 2 years.

15:00 is most important Dont overcomplicate - chose modality that you enjoy and you can maintain/show up consistently - over complicating with trying to hit a scientific HR number and obsess about the number of minutes is not going to do you any good….

It can be cycling, running, swimming, power/racewalking.

ya, ultimately the best exercise for you is the one you can keep showing up for years. But I think people who gets into the technicality of it are the ones who do it consistently.

WussRedXLi

ya, ultimately the best exercise for you is the one you can keep showing up for years. But I think people who gets into the technicality of it are the ones who do it consistently.

Well, true that also lah..... heh.

VonDeVous

Need to bring all of them for a long run >25km to decides. Likke the PB3 for me, has toe issues with insole. Without insole I can bring it to 21km, but wouldn't dare to run above that distance.

For SCSM, I am still waiting if I can snatch a Nike VF 4 for under $150. Else it's the last year Vf3 or 361 Flame 4.
i tot u sure flame 4 de. based on your opinions

dont use vf3 liao, lao hong already

VonDeVous

2. prime x2 strung (foot slippage, awkward high stack but the plates might serve me well after 30k)

u countdown yourself how many more weeks to scsm. then every week u try 1 pair for 30km(full, non stop) first then u know agar which is your pair. the pair u like may not give the best results.
the best pair will hit the sweet spot for u and u will know de.

i dont like carbon but bo pian it hitted the spot nicely.

i got 2 pairs of identical shoes, the sole can slip inside on 1 feet for pair a, but pair b no issue. mostly long 20k runs then the sole slip. probably very drenched inside, still runnable

sph777

Dry cough and a bit of runny nose yesterday. Still have the dry cough

Thanks

Thanks, will see how my condition progress. Can do light runs but definitely nothing hard for the time being.

My freestyle 50m pb was 36s and 750m was slightly above 15 minutes. I remembered the fastest in my team went 32s for 50m but he was only 15 at that time.
I've never been a sprinter. School time did 1500m and 400m free. Maybe running stamina came from swimming stamina haha. speed wise not fast for run or swim. Only got stamina

Ender

i tot u sure flame 4 de. based on your opinions
My SCSM shoes for the past 3 years,
2023 - Vf2
2024 - Vf3
2025 - ???

But I did mentioned I have concern using flame 4 for SCSM, as this shoes doesn't feel good at slower pace. My target pace is only faster than 5:40 to reach 4hr goal. Also there concern of when fatigue set in, pace getes even slower. Not a comfortable shoe to be in at that pace for a long duration.

sph777

2023 - Vf2
2024 - Vf3
2025 - ???

But I did mentioned I have concern using flame 4 for SCSM, as this shoes doesn't feel good at slower pace. My target pace is only faster than 5:40 to reach 4hr goal. Also there concern of when fatigue set in, pace getes even slower. Not a comfortable shoe to be in at that pace for a long duration.
lol my opinion was this shoe and plaid 2 are both not good at slower pace but plaid 2 is even worse haha.

sph777

2023 - Vf2
2024 - Vf3
2025 - ???

Did not manage to get the adios pro 3?

milkiee

good idea. should i do the runs with a marathon pace section to test?

my legs felt beat with the sb2 but strangely i recovered fast the next day.
it proves to me how good the sb2 is in terms of cushioning.
had my longest run ever yesterday at 26km and it was near max effort for me.
the fatigue from running that long is very real. i don't think i am ready for sub 4 :ROFLMAO:

VonDeVous

good idea. should i do the runs with a marathon pace section to test?

my legs felt beat with the sb2 but strangely i recovered fast the next day.
it proves to me how good the sb2 is in terms of cushioning.
had my longest run ever yesterday at 26km and it was near max effort for me.
the fatigue from running that long is very real. i don't think i am ready for sub 4 :ROFLMAO:
jiayou!

GlassDoor

I already have pro 3, bought 1 year ago. Not a fan of this shoes. Maybe need to be a faster runner to appreciate it coz quite popular with elites.
this weekend i bring the pro 3 for a 5:30" pace 20k+ to see if I like it for long distance cruising

winningeleven

Do u feel pain at the ankle side ( assesory navicular ) when wearing the prime X2 strung?

I think I am not the only have this problem.. ended up I can't use the top lace and have to cut away the size tag inside the shoe ( recommend by Reddit)

Ender

this weekend i bring the pro 3 for a 5:30" pace 20k+ to see if I like it for long distance cruising
My long run easy pace is 6:20 to :30 min/km. So didn't like it. 5:30 for you, should be alirght.

milkiee

Do u feel pain at the ankle side ( assesory navicular ) when wearing the prime X2 strung?

I think I am not the only have this problem.. ended up I can't use the top lace and have to cut away the size tag inside the shoe ( recommend by Reddit)
nope but i can feel my foot is like sliding down when i propel forward.
like the upper is collapsing downwards to my toe.

GlassDoor

My long run easy pace is 6:20 to :30 min/km. So didn't like it. 5:30 for you, should be alirght.
my easy pace is similar to yours... but recently i have switched to running my long runs with some pace in them.
fingers crossed that these ap3 don't rub

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.