jogging and motivation thread

GlassDoor

Why so many people trying 10k now. :unsure:

That very much is your V02max pace based on 40+ for 10k and 19+ for 5k. That is 3 sets of 3K @ 10:30. Or 3 sets of 10 mins VO2max. 10 full mins VO2max 1 shot....if it is possible in the first place depending on training/genetics.
No wonder you puked.... even for 5 x 2k. Which is 7 mins x 5.
edit - even norwegian 4 x 4 is 16 mins total.

3k TT @ 10:30 i can do on good days only. 10 mins flat on excellent days and i only achieved twice only out of dozens and dozens of tries. I "try" that sometimes as part of my weekly run workout session, not too difficult to recover from. As shared with you before, i aim 3:20 but of coz quite a few times too fast, 3:15 is still ok but then sometimes i hit 3:07-3:10 be it first or 2nd km then i know is game over liao.
But then if too slow coz mindset wanna be disciplined and dont satart off too fast, but 1st km 3:30-3:35 then it really is too slow, difficult to neg split and catch up later unless stars and moon align to get below 10 mins.

How about trying 3:30 for 30 seconds and then 15 to 20 seconds rest. 12 reps, 3 sets....between sets can rest for 2-3 mins. At first see if can do 2 sets also can (12 mins work), then progress to 3 (18 mins work). Microburst intervals.
If feel better, then do these occasionally is can......
Technically, from the stuff that i have come across, this is very very effective in cycling....esp since that sport might be surgey, even for non draft legal races we'd have to contend with accelerating out from corners, which is even more brutal than running hairpin turns.
But 10k, not so sure if it is as effective.......see how you'd alternate with LT2 intervals and this.

Holding at VO2max for "extended periods" meant for LT2 intervals too brutal, not sure if it is a positive training stimulus or 反效果 just fatigue you out and increase risks esp for us middle aged.
you are spot on!
my aim was to train at/or near VO2max pace which is about 3:35" based on mcmillan pace calculator.
i puke on the first 5X2K cos the recovery in between was too short.

with the 3 x 3k with 3:35-3:30" pace, i adjusted the rest period by HR (very slow walk 200m to bring it down to under 140). With this adjustment I can complete(barely) the session while not passing out :ROFLMAO:

this session does take a toll on the body and i do this once every other week. so far body still ok with recovery.

I have already tried 3:30-3:15 shorter intervals earlier in the year. Saw improvements in speed but not speed endurance. Also feel that my body can take more so trying something new.

short of injecting my body with illegal stuff or setting a very hungry bear running after me, I am open to ideas :D

WussRedXLi

you are spot on!
my aim was to train at/or near VO2max pace which is about 3:35" based on mcmillan pace calculator.

with the 3 x 3k with 3:35-3:30" pace, i adjusted the rest period by HR (very slow walk 200m to bring it down to under 140). With this adjustment I can complete(barely) the session while not passing out :ROFLMAO:

this session does take a toll on the body and i do this once every other week. so far body still ok with recovery.

I have already tried 3:30-3:15 shorter intervals earlier in the year. Saw improvements in speed but not speed endurance. Also feel that my body can take more so trying something new.

short of injecting my body with illegal stuff or setting a very hungry bear running after me, I am open to ideas :D

Got 2 i can think of.

If running track, pour ice cold water over ya + over the neck wrapping those 100 plus towels that can soak a bit of the iced water. Set up 2 chairs with cups of iced water. Better yet, get someone to do with you, like your kid. We are talking about 5 x 5 setup of disposable plastic cups (can be reused for next TT). You might need to do pretty early in the morning.
For sure some folks would say this is stupid and not properly race speific so it is "buay zhun", similar to running on a treadmill @ 0% or using GPS timing, but it works and it is what it is.

Do plyometric depth jumps if you are still not doing any form of plyo. I think you are already doing strength training....hitting the soleus esp gives you very good for the buck for not much suffering/time.

Actually got 1 more, use beta alanine. Probably it works, small chance it might not. Regardless, baking soda too hardcore on GI liao. And Maurten system too ex.

GlassDoor

Got 2 i can think of.

If running track, pour ice cold water over ya + over the neck wrapping those 100 plus towels that can soak a bit of the iced water. Set up 2 chairs with cups of iced water. Better yet, get someone to do with you, like your kid. We are talking about 5 x 5 setup of disposable plastic cups (can be reused for next TT). You might need to do pretty early in the morning.
For sure some folks would say this is stupid and "buay zhun", similar to running on a treadmill @ 0% or using GPS timing, but it works and it is what it is.

Do plyometric depth jumps if you are still not doing any form of plyo. I think you are already doing strength training....hitting the soleus esp gives you very good for the buck for not much suffering/time.
will definitely try your cooling suggestion since i do it at track and is easy to do.

i do a simple suite of strength training twice a week and it includes plyometric depth jumps. 20+ min session. i got most of the exercises from a video i watch a few years back. I will try to dig out the video again. should be helpful to runners here. i do these more as injury prevention rather than from improvement perspective

GlassDoor

ctually got 1 more, use beta alanine. Probably it works, small chance it might not. Regardless, baking soda too hardcore on GI liao. And Maurten system too ex.
been exploring these.. and the fact that every race fueling review/overview feels like an advert is not helping.
i guess i am a newbie in these area as I don't race FM. I never had the need. even on/after long 25-30k run. i just drink water/coconut water or whatever is cold in the fridge :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

will definitely try your cooling suggestion since i do it at track and is easy to do.

i do a simple suite of strength training twice a week and it includes plyometric depth jumps. 20+ min session. i got most of the exercises from a video i watch a few years back. I will try to dig out the video again. should be helpful to runners here. i do these more as injury prevention rather than from improvement perspective

Can try on prologned rainy days too like today.......just that, got blister risk. Careful of lighting. Anyway year end Dec coming, so sure got chance. Then you do not have to faff around with cups and all those stuff.

For cycling i have tried gunning during rainy days a few times, is very cooling even at threshold power, you wont feel warm one. Just that, instead of blister risk, is buang risk. 🤣 More suitable to do climbing interval session but must really be careful when downhill.

Tudo88

Very cooling weather to run today.
lYfF3HO.jpeg

8Zj6IoW.jpeg

Kuudere

AI says 88km is average for Strava worldwide for getting below 3hr.

If want to do at your current weight, i think avg might be 120km, peaking even higher at 150?
Assuming normal and avg talent. Some might be able to hit that with much less of coz.

Guess must be sure about the goal (even if overseas) if that is not possible and whether or not you can spare the time needed and tahan the duration.

My current cycling is at that equivalent of around 150km/wk of running, but i can tell you really no life outside of "sports". (Of coz i also faff around a lot more with the stupid bike lah, now also spoil liao).

Anyway i just weighed myself, 69.8kg wtf, not sure is it coz of Creatine......haha. 10g/day now. I 173 only.
Other than the muscle gain.....
That time in 2022/23 i was below 60kg, lowest was 58kg......but that time my 5k/10k not say miles faster also.

Seems to make sense for overseas marathon average. I think 100km average should be reasonable in sg. This is also provided don’t get any injuries. 120-150k of course, don’t even need to say. He would lose weight also, since mileage per week is significantly more, assuming he consumes similar calories of food.

Sub 40 10k is way tougher than I thought it will be. This is like 95-98% of max effort.

If I thought sub 20 5k was hard in the past,this is literally double the pain and pleasure.

5vN22MR.jpeg

Kg7q9it.jpeg

Not easy, I haven’t attempted yet. But I heard a good estimate was 2k x 4-5 @3.59 min/km and 2 min jog rest at low 6 min pace to keep HR high.

Another way is to base this on your HR effort attempt. I ran 5k two days back at 3.57 min/km at 150 bpm average. Was tempo for me. Not too hard but not easy either.

you are spot on!

Don’t try that, if you value your health. Macmillan calculator gave me 3.30 VO2max and I usually run my 3 x 3km at mid to high 3.50s average, with a 2 minute standing rest. I have done this workout 4-5 times liao, nowhere close to puking or going out of breath.

WussRedXLi

This lao uncle broke it. 39:46.
18 years younger he hooted 36:09 (42 yrs old)

So good, got 40 min pacer also.

I think if your VO2max on your watch is 55/56 i think is trainable for sub 40 ba....the limiter is elsewhere like your lactate clearance or RE. Just continue training. If around 50 or even 48/49 then maybe quite kang kor.....coz must remember that the watch is just a rough est (though in some cases pretty decent estimation)

bbbbbw

For the bike computer buy Garmin or wahoo any idea? Leaning towards edge 850 as newly launched

rarenick

For the bike computer buy Garmin or wahoo any idea? Leaning towards edge 850 as newly launched

U won't go wrong with either of them. Use chatgpt and YouTube to compare features and reviews and look at the interface. If u already have garmin watch, then makes sense to also buy their bike comp. Sometimes they have so many features that you might be only using 10% of them. So is it worth to pay very high price for them, it's really your own choice. For me I sold my $600+ (can't remember exact price) garmin 830 to a friend within few months and then downgraded to $50 basic cyclpus bike comp. I wasn't short of money in case u tot I was broke. The 2 bike comps I had before 830 were also midrange garmin.

Tudo88

Seems to make sense for overseas marathon average. I think 100km average should be reasonable in sg. This is also provided don’t get any injuries. 120-150k of course, don’t even need to say. He would lose weight also, since mileage per week is significantly more, assuming he consumes similar calories of food.

Not easy, I haven’t attempted yet. But I heard a good estimate was 2k x 4-5 @3.59 min/km and 2 min jog rest at low 6 min pace to keep HR high.

Another way is to base this on your HR effort attempt. I ran 5k two days back at 3.57 min/km at 150 bpm average. Was tempo for me. Not too hard but not easy either.

Don’t try that, if you value your health. Macmillan calculator gave me 3.30 VO2max and I usually run my 3 x 3km at mid to high 3.50s average, with a 2 minute standing rest. I have done this workout 4-5 times liao, nowhere close to puking or going out of breath.
I think you should be able to hit sub 40 pretty easily considering your 2.4 and 5 km timing are much faster than me.

WussRedXLi

Weather forecast 7am rain. Not accurate.

I purposely set off at 6am. Until now also no rain.

Trusted own instinct, ran from hougang to Coney Island from east gate to west gate. 9km done.

Arrived a bit earlier, 8.45 or so hit liao.

GlassDoor

Weather forecast 7am rain. Not accurate.

I purposely set off at 6am. Until now also no rain.

Trusted own instinct, ran from hougang to Coney Island from east gate to west gate. 9km done.
same here... woke up at 6+ saw the rain forecast but still decided to proceed with my track workout.
was thinking just need the rain to hold off until 8ish. if really rain then go eat prata and drink teh tarik in my tights loh :ROFLMAO:
swee.. no rain but was very very windy!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.