jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Ok now i get it now, all the other folks complaining about the haze in other threads are not fearmongering.

My kid wanted to "check out" the haze, so went up Upp Serangoon Rd to Punggol East (near Lor Halus red bridge) and turned left towards and rode along Punggol North Ave towards Punggol Safra / Seletar Airport dir.

After the second traffic light or so, suddenly we got hit by pretty strong haze smell, and it got stronger and stronger until we got to Safra/Waterway Park where it was the strongest, and remained so until Punggol Timur island at the sand storage area. It only started to clear until just before we had to turn left on Punggol Barat island very near to Seletar Airport.

From the bridge just beisde Punggol Marina Country club, the distance to Malaysia (Pasir Gudang Ferry terminal) is 2.3km. This was totally invisible.

From Punggol Timor Island bridge, the distance to Malaysia is 1.6km. This was barely visible.

I didn't have my laser particle counter meter with me of coz, but from my personal experience, even based with the so-called higher RH% in the morning, there is no way this is below AQI 150 (corresponding to PSI 100).
How high was it then? I really don't know.

The red line below indicates where we smelled the haze. And yes, the roads in front of us was even hazy too in the distance, and that distance isn't terribly far.

We went to Kranji Dam before returning back, took the same route as we wanted to go to Geylang to eat.
Return route time absolute no smell already. That was around 8.45am.

ftBOfzw.jpg

qNLyOy8.jpg

WussRedXLi

I believe this morning (and of coz many past instances) Northshore residences confirm kena smoked out quite a fair bit one.

One of the most affected part in SG.

Saw quite a few runners / PCN cyclists crossing Punggol N Ave from the HDB areas to the Punggol Promenade Walk direction, which loops around Northshore and to Coney Island (west entrance) and then and connected to the Waterway area.

S9mltjY.jpg

WussRedXLi

From AI

The N, S, E, W and C are probably aggregated from all the few sites.
For eg, East is aggregated from Serangoon, Tampines, Pasir Ris, Bedok and P. Ubin

No smell of haze at all @ Serangoon all the way till even Buangkok/Sengkang, as we were literally taking Serangoon Rd and Upp Serangoon Rd and then Sengkang E drive and Punggol East NNE to NE direction

Too bad, not much time, if not i might have looped farther south of Punggol Waterway Park (eg till as down "south" as Punggol MRT station) and see see, need a fair bit of time coz of traffic junctions.

The National Environment Agency (NEA) operates a network of 14 ambient air quality monitoring stations island-wide, strategically placed in industrial, residential, and central areas.

• North: Lim Chu Kang, Choa Chu Kang, Woodlands.
  • South: Queenstown, Bukit Merah, Sentosa, Orchard.
  • East: Serangoon, Tampines, Pasir Ris, Bedok, Pulau Ubin.
  • West: Tuas, Jurong East, Jurong West, Clementi.
  • Central: Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Toa Payoh.
In addition to these, NEA monitors VOCs at four specific stations, particularly in the North-eastern region. The data from these stations are used to monitor air quality to protect public health. The real-time air quality can be checked on the NEA Haze website.

Ender

Ok now i get it now, all the other folks complaining about the haze in other threads are not fearmongering.

My kid wanted to "check out" the haze, so went up Upp Serangoon Rd to Punggol East (near Lor Halus red bridge) and turned left towards and rode along Punggol North Ave towards Punggol Safra / Seletar Airport dir.

After the second traffic light or so, suddenly we got hit by pretty strong haze smell, and it got stronger and stronger until we got to Safra/Waterway Park where it was the strongest, and remained so until Punggol Timur island at the sand storage area. It only started to clear until just before we had to turn left on Punggol Barat island very near to Seletar Airport.

From the bridge just beisde Punggol Marina Country club, the distance to Malaysia (Pasir Gudang Ferry terminal) is 2.3km. This was totally invisible.

From Punggol Timor Island bridge, the distance to Malaysia is 1.6km. This was barely visible.

I didn't have my laser particle counter meter with me of coz, but from my personal experience, even based with the so-called higher RH% in the morning, there is no way this is below AQI 150 (corresponding to PSI 100).
How high was it then? I really don't know.

The red line below indicates where we smelled the haze. And yes, the roads in front of us was even hazy too in the distance, and that distance isn't terribly far.

We went to Kranji Dam before returning back, took the same route as we wanted to go to Geylang to eat.
Return route time absolute no smell already. That was around 8.45am.

ftBOfzw.jpg

qNLyOy8.jpg
For sengkang, the last two night run for me was perfect. No smell at all.

WussRedXLi

1. Deep Squat (Asian Squat)
2. Deadhang
3. The Crawl
4. Rolling
5 Floor Get Up (no hands)

WussRedXLi

Think Batam kena the Pengarang plume, even though it is supposedly "largely extinguished"
Of coz Batam has some local vehicular/industrial pollution on its own and it gets to orange on its own over there but from what i have seen before, has never peaked at such a high level.

Ours most probably is majority of the Kota Tinggi plume

I think if it smells really bad, like what my kid and I experienced on Punggol Nth Ave near Punggol Promenade Walk at the coastline, best not to run esp those who are susceptible or esp already with symptoms however how light they might be.

The official stations very likely are not picking up the levels at these very localised places, like i mentioned, there was zero smell at SK as far north as at the bridge going over TPE area, but the smell was damn heavy at Punggol in just a matter of 2-3 minutes of cycling at 30kmh, so what gives?

5Ddk8lm.jpg

qgkGDGJ.jpg

sph777

Definitely, especially with income eco run at that area, I probably have to get in some fast runs there as well.

I tried the plaid 2.0 earlier, it was on sale at $129, I couldn't feel the bounce and snap effect, so I didn't go for it.

Currently, I tried Metaspeed Sky edge and NB SC elite v5, both works for me. I might get the latter as marathon shoes since it's on sale on the new balance website for $230. I can feel the bounce/snap from the shoes. It's not the fastest shoes out there, but I just need a comfortable shoe for my marathon.

I might drop by IMM this weekend and make a decision on what to get by next week.

IMG-1155.jpg

This is my vapourfly 4 after 246km. It's a very aggressive and unstable shoe, that's also why I felt that it fits 5k/10k running the most. 10k onwards, I felt that it gets uncomfortable. I like the explosiveness of vaporfly 4, but it's just not marathon shoes. Prefer more stability, so far my experience is that vaporfly trades off stability and cushioning for speed.

I think a lot of people say that the max they will run with VF4 is HM and no more than that.

It's not easy to find racing shoes that are <200 even on sales. I think it's still worth it to get >200 but <300, as long as I wear those shoes for races and pre-race intervals (sufficient to last 2 race seasons 5-6 months).

Possibly if you go overseas holidays and it's on sales? Then probably got a good chance to get cheaper shoes.

I experienced the same in early feb. I didn't run on those days, but as soon as after my MC, I did recovery runs. And this worked out for me.

I used to run when I was sick, and while I managed to sweat it out but I don't necessarily feel better. So now, I just get in the rest I need.
For now I have enough shoes so will just wait for either plaid 3 or elite 6 to be on discount

WussRedXLi

Just another vid

Anyway, im still not stagnating with my dips and pull ups. And to a certain degree my BSS with bands (i am more careful with BSS), single leg calf raises. Other exercises more for general maintenance / neuro.

In fact, for my (weighted) dips, it is just 1 set of warm up and 1 set of all-out weighted dips, dips, then eccentrics. The dips and eccentrics i would do till technical failure, then shake out the lactate sour feeling with 5 seconds of movement, try again, rinse and repeat and then kickdown to eccentrics of around 5 reps.
No more than that.

Kuudere

For now I have enough shoes so will just wait for either plaid 3 or elite 6 to be on discount
IMG-1163.jpg

Bought it from running lab at $237, 30% discount.

I don't think it can compare to shoes like Metaspeed sky/edge tokyo and Nike Alphafly, but it was quite comfortable and still had the bounce.

And since I already have the speed, I might as well go for comfort.
81brn0F.jpeg

Another 15km race for consideration haha
Nice, this race is right after the end of my reservist :ROFLMAO:

Now waiting for a 30km race, someday it might actually be possible
Might join this. But priority BYD marathon early bird first.
I am looking forward to night races, otherwise I will just join BYD 10k for the night race experience. :LOL:

WussRedXLi

1. Deep Squat (Asian Squat)
2. Deadhang
3. The Crawl
4. Rolling
5 Floor Get Up (no hands)

BTW, try to see if you can deep/asian squat, esp for those of you who still gets injuries like plantar fasciiitis, shin splints and achilles tendinopathy esp if it has happened for more than once. This is a quick test for ankle mobility.....best for runners to generally have at least 20 deg of ankle dorsiflexion here coz esp common for runners to have things like tight calf muscles etc. If you can't asian squat, it is likely that this is less than 20 deg.

You should be able to do it stably from a standing position down and up for reps, with the sole of your feet flat on the ground and without excessive back rounding esp for the lower back. Don't have to be perfectly straight or even you go purposely arch it, but it shd not be bent more than what seems natural to yourself. This lower back straightness is more for hip mobility and have significant links to ITBS, patellar pain.

This is the other factor that also matters, other than other things that you might be doing to help reduce injuries, be it just maintaining volume or even never increasing +5%, plyo, strengthening.

The thing is, some of the folks might not even be changing anything or in the initial phase of training for any race thus volume is stagnant, but still getting injured.

If you are that person, might be worthwhile to deep dive and check out any mobility issues as well. Coz it might be biomechanical in nature, actually the same goes for cycling.

sph777

IMG-1163.jpg

Bought it from running lab at $237, 30% discount.

I don't think it can compare to shoes like Metaspeed sky/edge tokyo and Nike Alphafly, but it was quite comfortable and still had the bounce.

And since I already have the speed, I might as well go for comfort.

Nice, this race is right after the end of my reservist :ROFLMAO:

Now waiting for a 30km race, someday it might actually be possible

I am looking forward to night races, otherwise I will just join BYD 10k for the night race experience. :LOL:
Nice! I bought the Lining Elite 6 on carou, prob use it for the income race. Was 180, guy didn't like the shoes on slow paces and didn't think he was fast enough to make good use of the shoe.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.