jogging and motivation thread

LWZ

ActiveSG treadmill got rule that use 30min have to rotate if there is a queue but its not strictly enforced. So often people just deliberately reset the treadmill before 30mins up and then continue using. Back when i was using ActiveSG gym i often have to queue for 20-30mins for my turn on the treadmill.
jang-wonyoung-wonyoung.gif

What do u do when queueing ? Or rather, how to 'join' the queue if there's one ?

rECKleSSfElla

what do u do when queueing ? Or rather, how to 'join' the queue if there's one ?
Do other machines while waiting or stand around the treadmill area and wait. The outlet i frequented is small and only have 4 treadmills but always crowded. Really depends on the users. Would say most folks quite zi dong once 30mins up will rotate but no shortage of self centered people who will continue using like their father owns the gym. One occasion i had to tell off a boomer who was still using after 30mins then he said he had to do cooling down mah......knn slow walk like tortoise for 30mins still need cooling down lol.

WussRedXLi

Lai liao lai liao

Totally noob cyclist.....ie musclature / conditioning still not there.

Ramp test tho, plus he probably messed up some settings, the cadence is way too high for a newbie (neuro confirm not there one).
He heng that he is a sub 2:20 runner and sub 15 min runner, hence that is why he still can tahan 115+ rpm for relatively long periods.

273w for 77kg
3.5w/kg

Still better than many many experienced local sportive women cyclists.....possibly can erk out near 4.0w/kg if he dialed in the settings.

WussRedXLi

I think the running robot shd be noticeably higher than this.

An upright cyclist riding at 26 km/h (approx. 7.2 m/s) on flat ground typically generates approximately 70 to 100 watts of aerodynamic drag power.
Facebook +1
This estimate assumes a typical, upright casual or commuting position, which has a higher coefficient of drag (

)—around 0.35 to 0.40 m²—compared to a racing position.
Best Bike Split
Breakdown of Aerodynamic Power at 26 km/h:
  • Total Resistance: At this speed, air resistance accounts for the majority of the total energy expended, often over 50-70% of the total effort.
  • Power vs. Speed: Aerodynamic drag increases with the cube of speed. While 25 km/h might require ~120 watts (total, including rolling resistance), a small increase in speed rapidly increases the power required.
  • Upright Position Factor: Sitting fully upright increases the frontal area (A) and drag coefficient (Cd) compared to using drop bars, leading to higher drag.
    Princeton University +4

Kuudere

Finished first for 15km but not accurate and first female was much faster than me haha. At least within goal pace. As expected helix bridge had to slow down at 14 km ish mark

Screenshot-2026-04-19-213557.png

I walked down the stairs after the bridge and surged afterwards. I executed what I did in my training haha.

Started at wave 3, so got a lot of people to overtake. When I u-turn, I had to run past wave 4 runners in the opposite direction. I couldn't run at full speed, so my pace dropped. But my average pace was 4.16 min/km, supposedly 4.15 min/km if they let me run past the people giving out banana/water.

I made a turn earlier and didn't complete the distance to suntec city.
The HM route is about 400-500m short. Was quite unprepared for this race and plagued for stomach issue all week.
But surprisingly managed to run decently strong race. Initially wanted to go 90% effort but felt pretty strong after the first 5-6km so I decided to push for it.
PR for both 20km and 15km @ 4:41-4:42 pace. I reckon it will be a PR and sub 140 for HM if the route distance was accurate
Congrats on PR!!

I had stomach issue for this week, what I did was I followed the @Ender method to go toilet to release before the race. Worked out for me :ROFLMAO:
Ya, 21km felt short. But not a pleasant run compared to last year eco run. Humidity was high, needed to stopped at drink station. Took m-actions at 5km and 17km 20g carbs each and sis nootropics at 12km, 40g carbs and 200mg caffeine. GI tolerance maxed out, coz really felt like throwing up when I sipped the final cup of 100 plus.

This route makes me like the skechers route even more :ROFLMAO: I think marina barrage/ECP going forward for me. Bayfront is just too brutal, unless they fully block off the road to run like in SCMS.

sph777

Screenshot-2026-04-19-213557.png

I walked down the stairs after the bridge and surged afterwards. I executed what I did in my training haha.

Started at wave 3, so got a lot of people to overtake. When I u-turn, I had to run past wave 4 runners in the opposite direction. I couldn't run at full speed, so my pace dropped. But my average pace was 4.16 min/km, supposedly 4.15 min/km if they let me run past the people giving out banana/water.

I made a turn earlier and didn't complete the distance to suntec city.

Congrats on PR!!

I had stomach issue for this week, what I did was I followed the @Ender method to go toilet to release before the race. Worked out for me :ROFLMAO:

This route makes me like the skechers route even more :ROFLMAO: I think marina barrage/ECP going forward for me. Bayfront is just too brutal, unless they fully block off the road to run like in SCMS.
Wondering how u ended up with about 1.5km lesser than me although mine was short too. Think if the cyclist wasn't in front of me, I would have been lost too. Good pacing for you though! I was about halfway in wave 1. Target at first was 4:20 for 5 then 4:15 next 5 then 4:10 last but changed to 4:25, 4:20, 4:15 instead as first km had to overtake many ppl and started too slow.

bbbbbw

so after surgery, i went for 2 sessions of OT and removed the stitches last week. watching youtube videos about doing the hand exercises. wonder if i should sell my bicycle cos long road to recovery lol.

till next year i guess- need to remove the metal plate and screws.

sph777

so after surgery, i went for 2 sessions of OT and removed the stitches last week. watching youtube videos about doing the hand exercises. wonder if i should sell my bicycle cos long road to recovery lol.

slowly but surely u will recover. All the best!

sales69

Wish you speedy recovery.

Army time I had similar surgery. Should be removed metal plate 6-12 months after.

Even after that, the range of motion still feel somewhat tight. Have to continue doing OT exercises and keep active.

After another year or so became normal again.

Kuudere

Wondering how u ended up with about 1.5km lesser than me although mine was short too. Think if the cyclist wasn't in front of me, I would have been lost too. Good pacing for you though! I was about halfway in wave 1. Target at first was 4:20 for 5 then 4:15 next 5 then 4:10 last but changed to 4:25, 4:20, 4:15 instead as first km had to overtake many ppl and started too slow.
Yeah despite the race not being so ideal, I managed to figure out my LT2 (1hr) pace.

My first km was slower, followed by the next 10km averaging about 4.13 min/km. I was averaging 4.14 min/km before I had to run into the crowd and slow down my overall pace.

On a perfect flat course without much interference, I might be able to average 4.14 min/km but it is what it is. 4.15 min/km is a better gauge of my actual LT2 since I was 3 minutes short from running the 1 hour mark and will have hit that pace if given extra time to run.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.