jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Yeah same, usually i do 1:1 or even 1:2 towards the end. Still will have effect one lah.

But actually, i think for 200m 45s, that kinda pace also no need to do every week, just surgical strike once every 14 days 2 weeks is enough....just for new stimulus.
Better to slow it down a bit.

Ok got it on the cycling part......will check with you again in future and see if can poison you agian or not. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
the 200-250m sprint/stride intervals are done biweekly. I try to alternate between this and the 1km intervals, one week 200-250m sprint/stride intervals, one week 1km intervals. Of cos, some weeks due to weather or lack of motivation, the week will pass by with just pure running in L2 or threshold paces (trying to run every alternate days).

xllms

Cassandre Beaugrand, short course tri

Now try 5k liao. 14:40. Pecah the french record for women.

The last time she tried 10k she also broke the french national record :ROFLMAO:

The French women's national record for the 5000 meters on the track is 14:40.77, set by Olympic triathlon champion Cassandre Beaugrand in Nice on May 20, 2026. She shattered the previous 22-year-old record of 14:43.90 set by Margaret Maury in 2004. [1, 2]

moi see chiobu moi click :ROFLMAO:

xllms

This just hit me...... how fast is the uncle above? He did a 59.5 seconds (thereabouts, coz hand timed) for 400 like 1-2 years ago. No spikes, just normal running shoes not even anywhere top tier branded.

Managed to search for a vid for our masters athletes. But M50, ie 50-54. Uncle above 62 this year if i am not terribly wrong.

The slowest in the vid is also 59.5 (i hand timed it)

this morning i just saw a XHS video on a 12 yr old girl in China, whose best 400m timing is 56.09s, faster than the unofficial American age-group record for a 12-year-old girl in the outdoor 400m is 56.34 seconds, set by Shynah Collins in 2023.
Screenshot-2026-06-11-17-06-19-44-a2db1b9502c98f25523e43284b79cce6.jpg

xllms

Strength training really try to do. Even if you dont like plyometrics.
I have 2 other egs (but cycling) who got onto the bandwagon coz of me and now reported quite decent progress.
Another main thing is, you really dont need tons of volume, esp at our ages.
Just do 1 set to near failure or even as a drop set.

Also, just do 2 very important exercises enough liao. 1 - Bulgarian split squats 2. Single leg calf raise. Both need to be decently weighted and progressively overloaded over time. Just as a reference point, if you can hit 30kg for BSS and 20kg for single leg calf raise, you definitely will see the effects.
Best +ve is that, you need very little time to do, and with the low volume, i also find it interferes very little with running/cycling. In fact, for me, i do leg strength just a few hours before my workouts.....after which can "recover together"
Just 1 warm up, few reps. Then 1 working set if you will. If you believe that legs benefit from more volume than upp body thingy, then add in 1 more working set that goes to failure......but the previous working set is sub-maximal as pre-fatigue purpose.
For cycling and running purposes, always focus on more explosive concentric and a correspondingly slower eccentric. <- additional benefit, this is what you need most as you age, things like RFD, explosiveness aka power or watts.
edit ps. Do check out the vid i just posted below, from minute 5 the fella did talk about this.

For cycling, can even skip the single leg calf raise.

Strength training also does help with that "lack of power production ability generation whenever you want", say power surges.....esp at the latter parts of the session.

The other training method for this is of coz some types of intervals. (shorter types)
But usages in real life not sure if running has uses for it, unless if you race (eg triathlons, duathlons).....coz i dont think any of us do track and field here in this thread. :ROFLMAO:
Group cycling has a lot of uses for this....or even just "normal" road cycling and you are the type who likes to chase other people. :ROFLMAO:
agree and i have compiled a list of pylo as strength training on my laptop and mobile phone but somehow never get down to do it consistently. 🤣

WussRedXLi

Key Insights and Themes​

1. Training Approaches and Incorporating Speed Work​

• Rory Linkla’s frequent sprint/stride sessions (2-3 times weekly) inspired Tom to reconsider his own sprint routine, which was previously once per week.
  • Tom experimented with 3-4 days per week of 20-second strides, finding he reached top speed in about 12-15 seconds, then maintained it, questioning the need for the full 20 seconds.
  • He emphasized the importance of polarizing training intensity: balancing max speed efforts with tempo runs at 5K/10K pace rather than spending too much time in the "middle" intensity zone.
  • These sprint days should be specific and sharp, distinct from easy running days, especially following periods of fatigue or injury.

2. Strength Training Perspectives​

• Contrast exists regarding the necessity of strength training in elite marathoners.
  • Tom personally finds targeted strength training beneficial for reducing muscle cramping, which he experiences around 30-35K in marathons when he neglects strength.
  • Most research aligns with strength as a key factor in reducing cramping; sodium and magnesium supplementation have less evidence.
  • Many elite runners like Mo Farah incorporated gym work; others like Kelvin Kipchoge do minimal weightlifting, focusing more on light aerobic movements.
  • Tom hasn’t lifted weights intensively for over 3 years, primarily doing core and band work, but he acknowledges he may need to reintroduce light weights during speed blocks to improve power and efficiency.
  • Strength training should be individualized based on biomechanical needs, cramping issues, and injury tolerance.

3. Tom’s Recent Race Experiences and Conditions​

• Tom ran a 28:47 road 10K in Ottawa, placing third and fourth in recent 10Ks, though not completely satisfied with the outcomes.
  • He identified issues such as ugly weather conditions (wind, humidity), treadmill training leading to reduced durability on pavement, and difficulties adjusting to racing in spikes after long treadmill blocks.
  • Evening race times (9:30 - 9:50 p.m.) contrasted with morning workouts created a challenge in performance readiness. It was noted that training at race time enhances adaptation for evening races.
  • Tom also expressed distaste for track racing due to accessibility issues and discomfort running in spikes after extended treadmill and road mileage.

4. Limited Racing at Short Distances and Future Plans​

• Tom revealed he rarely raced 5Ks despite 20+ years running; fastest unofficial marks were around 15:49 for park runs and 14:41 splits within 10Ks.
  • Injuries and marathon-focused training cycles limited his shorter race participation.
  • He plans to focus more on 5Ks over the next 3-4 months, aiming for times near 14:15 to 14:20, acknowledging it will take several attempts to nail down racing tactics and mental preparation.
  • Competitive 5Ks are fewer and harder to find in North America, with better opportunities in European cities like London.

5. Mileage Volume, Sustainability, and Coaching Philosophies​

• Tom and the interviewer discussed the highly debated topic of training volume and rest days:
    • Tom trains 7 days per week, believing with proper intensity management, rest days are not mandatory.
    • Typical peak marathon mileage is expected between 125-140 miles per week (~200-225 km), considered sustainable with careful effort control.
  • They touched on Jake Bearclaw’s approach advocating for ~280 km per week but noted the dangers of compressed, ultra-high volume leading to injury and burnout, especially if not built over time.
  • Tom emphasized that mileage is a lever with diminishing returns and long-term risks, including hormonal imbalances like low testosterone and iron deficiency, which impair performance severely.
  • Examples cited include elite runners Ryan Hall and Cam Levins who faced energy management issues related to high volume.
  • Emphasis on building mileage gradually over years for durability and maximizing performance, rather than chasing rapid volume increase.

6. Balancing Racing Frequency and Athlete Individuality​

• As a coach, Tom advocates for frequent but flexible racing, allowing athletes to run many 5Ks and 10Ks not always at full effort; this encourages fun and social engagement.
  • If racing compromises important marathon training elements (especially key long runs), he intervenes to adjust calendars.
  • Recognizes different athlete motivations: some race to maximize performance, others for fun or community, requiring personalized coaching approaches.
  • Over-coaching or rigid restrictions risk reducing enjoyment or adherence.

7. Longevity and Age in Running Performance​

• It’s highlighted that many runners, including elite Canadian Melinda Elmore (age 45) and Australian Senade Diver (age 46), achieve fast marathon performances late in their careers, suggesting longevity in aerobic development is possible.
  • Age itself may not be a limiting factor if injury-free and consistent training continues; lifestyle constraints are often the real limit.

Quantitative Data Table: Training Volume References​

Metric/RunnerWeekly Mileage (km)Weekly Mileage (miles)Comments
Tom Knobs (Peak)200-225125-140Typical peak marathon block volume
Jake Bearclaw (YouTuber)~280~175Advocates high volume, faces injury risks
Melinda ElmoreNot specifiedNot specifiedRunning 2:24 marathon at age 45 (late starter)

Timeline of Key Events​

TimeframeEvent/ActivityNotes
Recent 10Ks (last few weeks)Tom raced 2 road 10Ks (28:47 best, 3rd/4th place)Varied weather; some dissatisfaction
Past 3+ yearsMinimal strength training, focus on core/bandsConsidering light weights on speed blocks
Upcoming 3-4 monthsPlanned focus on 5K racingGoal to run ~14:15-14:20
OngoingMarathon training emphasizing super mileageRange between 125-140 miles/week
HistoricalAvoidance of 5K races over 20 yearsMostly focused on marathon and 10K

Core Concepts and Conclusions​

• Speed work frequency: Increasing frequency of strides/sprints may enhance speed and neuromuscular recruitment but should be balanced with adequate recovery.
  • Strength training: Should be tailored; light, targeted strength helps reduce cramping and improve running economy without necessarily causing weight gain or bulk.
  • Race timing & environment: Training at race-specific times (e.g., evening) helps align circadian and physiological readiness; race conditions (weather, surface) impact performance variability.
  • Training volume: Gradual volume increase is critical for longevity; ultra-high volume compressed timelines pose injury and hormonal risks. Personalized volume and rest strategies are essential.
  • Racing strategy: Coaches should balance frequent racing and quality marathon training based on athlete goals and motivations to optimize both performance and enjoyment.
  • Age & longevity: Peak marathon performance can extend into mid-40s with consistent, injury-free training, debunking age as a strict limiting factor.

WussRedXLi

I should have stopped and do a good solid stretching and pop some salt sticks, my mind wasn't thinking properly lol

Check out the above video. Really a low hanging fruit + super time efficient.
Like i told bro xllms, just 1 warm up (8 easy reps) and 1 working set but super solid one + properly weighted in the 8-12 rep range. That means it is not gonna be light, and totally not what you'd usually see runners out there doing (waayyy too light, forget it man).

If not and you believe in slightly more volume coz we are after all dealing with leg day (might respond to more vol), just 1 warm up and 1 sub maximal, 1 super solid one.
BSS + single leg calf raises.....for running can target seated ver, only issue is it's not easy to do w/o more pro equipment ie gym machines. These 2 shd be staple and the lowest hanging fruits. You wanna target others, get brutally and stupidly strong in these 2 first, then diverge out. Personally i find 30kg BSS and 20kg single leg calf raise is decent for the typical 60-70kg pax, you can aim for higher of coz. 30kg BSS wont be dangerous.
I can 100% vouch that if you dont have any big biomechanical / lower limb mobility issues which would bring more variables into the equation, this might tip you towards the 100% injury free state even if you are not running frequently, from my own personal experience(s).

Do not do the many sets many reps route if you can help it. Some (esp runners) actually disagree with this, but i really dont think so from the more i watch and read and digged....esp those in more advanced ages.

• Tom personally finds targeted strength training beneficial for reducing muscle cramping, which he experiences around 30-35K in marathons when he neglects strength.

kaisin82

Check out the above video. Really a low hanging fruit + super time efficient.
Like i told bro xllms, just 1 warm up (8 easy reps) and 1 working set but super solid one + properly weighted in the 8-12 rep range. That means it is not gonna be light, and totally not what you'd usually see runners out there doing (waayyy too light, forget it man).

If not and you believe in slightly more volume coz we are after all dealing with leg day (might respond to more vol), just 1 warm up and 1 sub maximal, 1 super solid one.
BSS + single leg calf raises.....for running can target seated ver, only issue is it's not easy to do w/o more pro equipment ie gym machines. These 2 shd be staple and the lowest hanging fruits. You wanna target others, get brutally and stupidly strong in these 2 first, then diverge out. Personally i find 30kg BSS and 20kg single leg calf raise is decent for the typical 60-70kg pax, you can aim for higher of coz. 30kg BSS wont be dangerous.
I can 100% vouch that if you dont have any big biomechanical / lower limb mobility issues which would bring more variables into the equation, this might tip you towards the 100% injury free state even if you are not running frequently, from my own personal experience(s).

Do not do the many sets many reps route if you can help it. Some (esp runners) actually disagree with this, but i really dont think so from the more i watch and read and digged....esp those in more advanced ages.

thanks man!

sph777

I have one half marathon in the Canadian Rockies this weekend, no target or expectation, just hope no bears and I remember to start slow
All the best! Won't the route marshalls interfere if bears spotted as in they will ward off bears on the route?

sph777

happened 2 years ago, they had to stop the race and make sure the bear is escorted out before it continues. you can't just ward off bears, they are dangerous.

I see. I have friends in banff for holiday and they saw bears too. Hopefully no bears on race day though

WussRedXLi

Zhun boh......

Oh......micro(burst) intervals.
Was just posting about htis yesterday.

Nothing new.....but good to see more affirmations that it is really very effective and works and most importantly better and easier compliance.
But still, it's not super easy, i still cant do 2:1 work:rest for the last 20-30% reps.
But still got improvement and better than last time, where i couldnt even touch 50%.

But in the vid is 3 x 13 x the interval (30/15 or 40/20, whatever). Not sure why 13 though.......usually is 12.

WussRedXLi

First time cried in a race.

I think such things really more suffering than enjoyment. But i guess some folks might dug such suffering challenges after all and then re-do it again.

WussRedXLi

Siao, 17 years old already 8:09 for 3k. Some same as SRY for 3k.

That's basically like a 6:15 min for 2.4

rECKleSSfElla

Aus Bro really love this shoe. Tons of praise for the shoe in this 1st impression video. Makes me wanna take the shoes out of the box and give it a run.

GlassDoor

tried a different workout today. 18k run at high z2/tempo pace then 2k swim. the swim was much more tiring than expected.
was thinking if if i should have swim first then run... but then have to shower twice no?

rECKleSSfElla

Man i am going to get a backup pair of Qiaodan Qing Hong Free because they really are that good.

Comfort: The most comfortable pair of shoes i worn in my life. PERIOD. Putting them on and the shoes just seem to mold onto your feet. No weird rubbing or pinching feeling at all. This also makes the shoe versatile where you can simply wear it all day anywhere even when not for running.

Ride: Smooth, agile operator. Being used to high stacked cushion shoes, running in the QHF took some getting used to. But the close to ground feeling and having to engage and work the muscles from your toes to your hips is so satisfying. Fun to cruise along when you settle into a rhythm.

The shoes can go fast and they are probably build for faster workouts. Was looking to do my usual 6-7min pace but some stretches i was unwittingly doing 5.30-6.

Cons: Lack of cushion so not the best for bui bui. For my 70kg frame, i can feel my kneecaps taking the brunt of impact. Might need to wear patella strap when i run in this shoe. Also think this shoe best for 5-10km and not a long run shoe since its not much of a leg saver. Did a 12km run and in the latter stages can literally feel my ankles and calves crying for me to stop.

Might be a case of new toy syndrome but i think the QHF are my new fave shoe to run in. Cant help but have to paste this meme.

a7VmrlE.jpeg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.