jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

dunno either of these 2 lol
he is banned from NYC marathon :ROFLMAO:

Matthew Choi got banned from NY before coz he was running with his videographer and thus thought to cause interferece to other runners. You know, streamers with self sticks and vloggers kinda behaviour actions, that wouldnt sit well with some folks.

But generally he is ok lah......if looking for motivation.
But me i am also generally ok with such things. Yesterday i "kena" also, 1 grp of 6 cyclists, 2 file, along Siloso Rd uphill. I greeted them Good morning before while passing them on Artillery Ave before going towards Imbiah climbs.
They were blocking me on Siloso road upwards direction climb coz they were double file and taking pictures/grp selfies and i could not overtake them coz double white centre + blind corners there. Bo bian just waited till nearer to the top part near Imbiah T junction then overtake and get on with workout.
Dont get overly pissed and rage or shout at others or what. It's a nice morning and nice road nice weather nice location, so folks would wanna enjoy there also.

Technically and by regulation, single lane roads like that need to be single file.......then vehicles and even fellow cyclists can pass.

So yeah, i guess I know what Glassdoor means when he says race participants taking photos esp group ones all the way from left to right. .:unsure:

WussRedXLi

Been watching this fella for some time. Not sure if you'd consider his advice good or not.......but just sharing this well touched topic if you are interested.

WussRedXLi

Talking about interference, chio bu with on-course videographer.....
She more of aesthetic bodybuilder/gymster and hyroxer cum influenza.

41:52.....not too shabby for a non pure runner + female....but generally Hyroxers do pretty decent for 5k 10k.
(simply coz they are 8 x 1k plus ~ 1k more for transition)

But her FM distance endurance significantly sucks more esp since not pure runner and not really trained for this prolonged duration with no super big significant carry over effects from her other trainings (but not saying zero carry over effects at all lah). 4h 1 min. Technically i think she could be below 3:30 if even if just trained for a short 12 weeks.

GlassDoor

Talking about interference, chio bu with on-course videographer.....
She more of aesthetic bodybuilder/gymster and hyroxer cum influenza.

41:52.....not too shabby for a non pure runner + female....but generally Hyroxers do pretty decent for 5k 10k.
(simply coz they are 8 x 1k plus ~ 1k more for transition)

But her FM distance endurance significantly sucks more esp since not pure runner and not really trained for this prolonged duration with no super big significant carry over effects from her other trainings (but not saying zero carry over effects at all lah). 4h 1 min. Technically i think she could be below 3:30 if even if just trained for a short 12 weeks.

watch a video of her 1km TT a while back. timing not too shabby...
very "motivating" to watch... not saying timing or running form :ROFLMAO:

Kitaro9202

not sure is it my new anta shoe giving problem but yesterday went for a brisk walk for 1 hour and walk halfway suddenly my flexor hallucis longus tendon random pain
Today walk can felt the pain but is bearable.

Guess i need to stop running

WussRedXLi

not sure is it my new anta shoe giving problem but yesterday went for a brisk walk for 1 hour and walk halfway suddenly my flexor hallucis longus tendon random pain
Today walk can felt the pain but is bearable.

Guess i need to stop running

We don't know how painful it is, but pretty safe to say since walk also got pain let alone jog/run, you'd need to stop for 2 weeks at least and see what happens if acute phase can be passed before you restart any sports activity.. If you wanna try next week is can with brisk walking, only if the pain becomes really super low level. It needs to be dull background pain like 1 to 2/10 before you can start activity as that is the actual route to recovery, But if it flares up during the session or the day after that means you cannot start any activity to load the tendon(s).......ie not ready yet. Then maybe try again the week after. Meanwhile just try to move around the office/house, your normal X number of daily steps.

If really is tendon based, it is quite a long path to full recovery. I dont have any running experience for this since i have never been tendon injured before for running, but i have had scapular tendon(s) pain before due to overhead push training error, easily 2-3 weeks for the acute phase to clear, restarting the activity even if it is just warm up level would aggravate things, so dont bother trying anything too soon. But it is a catch-22, you are supposed to restart activity to boost recovery. But then you cannot restart it if it worsens the pain during or the day or 2 post session.

edit - ok, if count ITBS as tendon based injury, then yeah i have been injured before in running. I grade it as moderate to high moderate in severity then. Acute phase took like 2 weeks to clear acute phase before it was background, but starting running again just over 5km (not a long distance) = re-flare up. So LLST one. Good luck, bloody long.....easily 2-3 months for full recovery in my high-moderate case even with progressive rehab during those months.

Over here, there were folks who lagi took lagi longer to fully recover, but of coz all of us might be different in severity.

WussRedXLi

BTW, flexor hallucis longus pain can be mixed up with achilles tendonitis....coz the latter is way more common. Regardless of what it is, the treatment plan is same same ba. And rehab and future prevention also same esp if there is recurrence ie you really have uncovered an issue.....start with progressive strengthening and then add in your running progressively, and end with plyometrics if possible.

winningeleven

[url=https://ibb.co/9H3vmw4c] [/URL]

I have been so busy watching world cup since mid June and ended up having many insufficient and irregular sleep.

However I Still managed to clock some run but mostly on 5km to 10km since world cup started .

But today finally managed to hit a 21km! So happy I decided to give myself a off day tmr ( no running )

WussRedXLi

Just use AI :

Understanding how tendons heal reveals why simple rest is often insufficient: [1]
  • The Problem with Complete Rest: While relative rest is helpful in the early stages to calm pain, stopping all activity long-term leads to a drop in collagen production, disorganized fiber structure, and overall weakening of the tendon. [1]
  • The Healing Process: Tendons heal best through progressive mechanical loading—controlled, gradually increasing resistance exercises that stimulate the tendon cells to produce new collagen and realign healthy fibers. [1, 2]
  • Timeframes: Tendons remodel much more slowly than muscles. While pain may subside quickly, full tissue recovery can take several weeks to many months depending on the severity of the injury. [1, 2]
  • Pain as a Guide: Mild discomfort during rehabilitation is normal and necessary for adaptation, but sharp pain indicates that the load is too high or progressing too fast. [1]

WussRedXLi

Eff, hurt my wrists tendons. Dont know why i thought doubling the weight for dips (add 1 more identical resistance band) was a good idea, even though i was thinking if can just do 3-5 reps see see and then drop set thereafter.
Now i have to rehab as well.

But lucky thing is very mild pain, like at most 2/10.

Ender

Just use AI :

Understanding how tendons heal reveals why simple rest is often insufficient: [1]
  • The Problem with Complete Rest: While relative rest is helpful in the early stages to calm pain, stopping all activity long-term leads to a drop in collagen production, disorganized fiber structure, and overall weakening of the tendon. [1]
  • The Healing Process: Tendons heal best through progressive mechanical loading—controlled, gradually increasing resistance exercises that stimulate the tendon cells to produce new collagen and realign healthy fibers. [1, 2]
  • Timeframes: Tendons remodel much more slowly than muscles. While pain may subside quickly, full tissue recovery can take several weeks to many months depending on the severity of the injury. [1, 2]
  • Pain as a Guide: Mild discomfort during rehabilitation is normal and necessary for adaptation, but sharp pain indicates that the load is too high or progressing too fast. [1]

Eff, hurt my wrists tendons. Dont know why i thought doubling the weight for dips (add 1 more identical resistance band) was a good idea, even though i was thinking if can just do 3-5 reps see see and then drop set thereafter.
Now i have to rehab as well.

But lucky thing is very mild pain, like at most 2/10.
My experience with Achilles tendonitis, is complete full rest will not heal at all. In my 2 years recovery, part of it includes 3 months of complete rest. No exercise. The moment I start running, the pain is exactly the same as I left it. That mean complete rest does nothing for running, only good for sedentary walking.. Progressive overloading with incremental heel is what finally got rid of it.
And then there's the complication of scar tissue forming with complete rest. Consistent movement, functional type, is what may 'mold' the scarring tissue to what is needed for functional mobility. Else the scar tissue is a resistant and may cause pain and awkward mobility issue, i,e formed and hardened for immobility.

To me, mobility is the key to healing. With controlled loading of course.

alexion2k

anyone own the asics superblast 3 and vomero prenium here? how is it compared to nike vomero premium? i have the vomero prenium, i enjoying it a lot as a wide foot, flat foot + heavy runner. wanna gather some feedback on superblast 3. i heard the stock absorption is even better than the vomero premium.

WussRedXLi

My experience with Achilles tendonitis, is complete full rest will not heal at all. In my 2 years recovery, part of it includes 3 months of complete rest. No exercise. The moment I start running, the pain is exactly the same as I left it. That mean complete rest does nothing for running, only good for sedentary walking.. Progressive overloading with incremental heel is what finally got rid of it.
And then there's the complication of scar tissue forming with complete rest. Consistent movement, functional type, is what may 'mold' the scarring tissue to what is needed for functional mobility. Else the scar tissue is a resistant and may cause pain and awkward mobility issue, i,e formed and hardened for immobility.

To me, mobility is the key to healing. With controlled loading of course.

Yeah bo bian, cannot rest past the initial phase one. But since this is also longer term healing (esp if moderate cases), no super hurry also lah......give it a few days chillax rest at least, then just resume very light activity b4 progressing it up. And also if the activity brings any sharper type of pain even if 1-2 days after, need to dial i back.
Guess the difficult part is balancing it out and also discipline in patience. Esp for those individuals who would like to resume their workouts asap so as not to lose too much fitness.

Now after this morning,. my wrist also tendon pain. 😅 Hope it works again. And yes, i am already afraid (mentally) in losing the hard earned gains, but really gotta tahan and have discipline/patience.

WussRedXLi

i scared.. if i see in gym sure siam...
her one thigh more than both mine add together :ROFLMAO:

I jialat.....dont know why, nowadays i dig muscle mummies. :oops: Didnt know i got this fetish before. :unsure:

Ok this one more aesthetic bodybuilder. This reminds me, i had been stopped my glute meds spread/raise for quite a while ard 2-3 weeks, time to restart it back.
My adductors also same.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.