jogging and motivation thread

GlassDoor

did a 8k easy/recovery pace first run with some 200m sprints at the end in qinghong free this morning

it's a low stack shoe by modern standard but I won't categorise it as a race flat.
key takeaways:
- ultra light weight, low stack, very flexible with zero rocker
- it's is very cushioned to me and most folks should be able to use it as a daily trainer

compared to adios 9 (nit picking here. if you have not run in adios 9 before you won't miss much)
- QH free is better/more enjoyable at recovery/easy paces due to higher stack and better stability
- adios 9's turn over is faster and snappier and especially so at intervals pace
- adios 9 has better road feel. QH free' road feel is relatively muted due to less responsive foam and higher stack. Most folks will prefer the more muted road feel of QH free

great buy at 50sgd for generic colors. I got the 强风吹拂 red-blue colorway for just under 60sgd
used QH free for interval sessions at the track this morning 400m X 10, 1 min rest in between
first time using for speed workout and the last time as well. At speed the shoe collapses and rolls inward under the ball of the big toe. It's nice at slow and moderate paces but imho not suitable for use as a speed workout for 400m or under intervals. Quite a big fail for a "race flat" imo.

Sadisticnoob

BTW bro, ask you har, have you seen close shaves or crashes regarding riders riding side by side and engaging in like full blown conversational chit chats for extended periods? Right in the middle, say second or 3rd row. Not say very high speed but def not say moderate speeds also, maybe at 35-39kmh.

I really scared of the chee hong kias trying to chat up with the girl who just joined, it's very obvious......last time nothing much to chat one but nowadays is like. Sigh. Of coz, i am not expecting them to interact much with me old guy since totally different frequency (i nearly can be like their father already acutually). :ROFLMAO: But i do/can chat with some of the frequent joiners.

But i guess it's "normal", since they are all students age (poly, uni?) and at most young adults.
There are other girls in the grp also, but no interest coz off size like big hips or what.....face not so attractive. (not judging of coz)

I just dont want to be brought down by anyone, then my family sure force me to sell bike.

Changing grp not really an option, coz of the timings and area .
I see crash before in race , just talking casually and got people jam brake .

dunno which group you join , but the group I join even if got female nobody talking de . All just finish ride and go back home . I dun really care so much if got male or female . Don’t need to worry about the lady, let her fend for herself don’t need to be white knight

Sadisticnoob

784RjcP_d.webp
Started training for my only marathon of the year which is Shonan marathon which is on6 December near yokohama. Bought a kayano 33 but had slight abrasion feeling on a test run yesterday . I think due to the socks

WussRedXLi

I see crash before in race , just talking casually and got people jam brake .

dunno which group you join , but the group I join even if got female nobody talking de . All just finish ride and go back home . I dun really care so much if got male or female . Don’t need to worry about the lady, let her fend for herself don’t need to be white knight

Thanks.......just scared of such things.
But srsly, majority of the time is i train solo one lah. Much better use of the time.

Notbbfa

Lai liao lai liao....still cannot let go.

Tan Chuan Jin "spotted"
"Screwing his own parliamentary colleague" :oops: :ROFLMAO:

Timestamped for you......

edit - quite power his terms. :ROFLMAO:
Consultant - knows how to con and insult people. :ROFLMAO:
@ 1hr 02m

LOL running thread also caught wind of this viral serial-dater saga :ROFLMAO:
JSKM spotted by SRY and used as his youtube learning material. The way he narrate it very funny :ROFLMAO:

Ender

Ran 2 hours in this socks.
Pro. Light weight, more airy. Fully soaked, still hardly can squeeze much sweat out.
Con, when wet, the sock can wrinkle, slipped. This might cause blister to those gentle feet without much calluses. I think this is because they are cotton, not polyester (which still maintain structure when wet)

No blister for me though.

My search continues for a translucent polyester sock. Cotton is a no go even if I had no blister. The wrinkle and movement against the foot is unacceptable to me, even though they hold less sweat. But short runs where the sock do not get 100% soaked and does not slipped, this is still a pair of good comfortable socks.

WussRedXLi

Ran 2 hours in this socks.
Pro. Light weight, more airy. Fully soaked, still hardly can squeeze much sweat out.
Con, when wet, the sock can wrinkle, slipped. This might cause blister to those gentle feet without much calluses. I think this is because they are cotton, not polyester (which still maintain structure when wet)

No blister for me though.

My search continues for a translucent polyester sock. Cotton is a no go even if I had no blister. The wrinkle and movement against the foot is unacceptable to me, even though they hold less sweat. But short runs where the sock do not get 100% soaked and does not slipped, this is still a pair of good comfortable socks.

Oh btw, those translucent ones can tear. Already torn 2 of mine, trying to pull them up (wearing) or pull down (taking off). heh

WussRedXLi

LOL running thread also caught wind of this viral serial-dater saga :ROFLMAO:
JSKM spotted by SRY and used as his youtube learning material. The way he narrate it very funny :ROFLMAO:

Yeah...he has been mentioning in the past that as long as you put youngsters or 20 somethings of mixed gender together into a club of any interest be it Hyrox or running, sure to have these things happening one lah.
Esp when you have these more revealing clothings and nowadays with elastane (lycra) type materials.

Recently i also encountered it. Actually i shdnt be surprised also ......esp since group road cycling be it here or in most other countries it is primarily a social interest event, and second then training. (more people do it for social/networking than for training)

Then of coz there will be those who really go overboard type.

Still, better than nothing, we have got to solve our low TFR problem. 😅 😅

Sadisticnoob

do anybody here keep track of the Garmin training load ? mine kind of cock up now, given that my heart rate montior died when i was overseas and it is cocking up my garmin traning load

aFnZjQw.png

WussRedXLi

This influencer changed a lot after giving birth

I thought I'd never be able to run again after giving birth..

sph777

do anybody here keep track of the Garmin training load ? mine kind of cock up now, given that my heart rate montior died when i was overseas and it is cocking up my garmin traning load

aFnZjQw.png
I have never monitored that. mine says optimal

GlassDoor

haha no kick for u sir!
just did a search on marathon training plans for 3:30... quick eyeball of the plans.. seems very similar to what I am currently doing already.. and my speed session targets seems more advance..
another possibility is to continue to do what I am already doing but try to improve the twice a month 35k runs by 5 mins each time progressively.. with 3h as a baseline (current fitness) and maybe ending with a 2h40m as a end point for final long run before actual event. I don't know if it's realistic or even doable. But this seems most sensible.

sph777

just did a search on marathon training plans for 3:30... quick eyeball of the plans.. seems very similar to what I am currently doing already.. and my speed session targets seems more advance..
another possibility is to continue to do what I am already doing but try to improve the twice a month 35k runs by 5 mins each time progressively.. with 3h as a baseline (current fitness) and maybe ending with a 2h40m as a end point for final long run before actual event. I don't know if it's realistic or even doable. But this seems most sensible.
With your speed, 5 min/km is very doable, it's just whether the stamina is there. Once u get in your long runs, should be ok. I will prob be on the same trajectory since I am also targeting 3:30

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.