jogging and motivation thread

Tudo88

I didn’t know gels got so difficult to open. I always use mouth to tear open. If they offer free gels, just take ah. I think last year I took like 7-8. One gel is around 4.5 for Saurus.

But I still brought along my own gels. Don’t feel comfortable trying anything new on race day haha

sph777

I didn’t know gels got so difficult to open. I always use mouth to tear open. If they offer free gels, just take ah. I think last year I took like 7-8. One gel is around 4.5 for Saurus.

But I still brought along my own gels. Don’t feel comfortable trying anything new on race day haha
I couldn't open with mouth or hands, also lesson learned about new gels/ not wearing new shoes on race day haha

WussRedXLi

I read this one is lighter than LF SL.
I can tear my own gels but could not tear the ones given by the organisers last year.

BTW just a quick user report . Yesterday was sending my bike to fix something, so i just wore my $5.95 per pc Kiprun RS500 socks from Decathlon. Not very long distance, 39km to and fro total including a quick spin at MBS area with my kid. Coz my cycling socks just washed and i didnt want to wear them.

Now that i touched both of them side by side, the decathlon socks are a fair bit rougher than my cycling aero socks which has a fair bit of elastane.

End up my little toe both sides now kena a little abrasion and a bit pain/tender, but heng skin remains largely unbroken but i think nearly broke through liao.

Never happened with my cheap aero cycling socks from Taobao, 100km also no issue.

So i think sometimes really need to trial and error and use everything from A-Z. Not expensive stuff would work and the cheapest stuff might work well. And vice versa is probably true as well, cheapest stuff might not work and the expensive stuff might work.

WussRedXLi

I tried crazies once this year , got dropped , i was doing 350W ++ and got dropped from the front , i think the front is doing 400-500 w.

in general , all the faster group has huge group size, here is a sample, from one of my rides last week with a "fast" group. 36 kph average for 1 hour , really good workout.

EeTJ43N.jpeg

Jezuz....these guys really so fast.
But of coz to be very fair, Ben is like specializing/training in full Ironman distance, maciam like 2X that of a full marathon. A parkrun or even 10k kinda effort with repeated surges with national level people in it would be somewhat out of place.

I running shorter / middle distance i find still ok for one reason or another..... But i think ~ 400 watts and beyond sustained for like over 5km solo (WCH or TMCR straight 1 way)....maybe, just maybe attainable on a very good day with all the aero "hacks" i chut . But more sustained like 15 to even 30-40 mins, i think just forget it, impossible in my lifetime even if i retire now and train full time. :ROFLMAO:
I "heard" the really strong guys do 45-48kmh (at the front of pack) and with none of my aero "hacks" employed, just body positioning nia....but of coz a great determinant is mainly the presence of any tailwind/crosswind via the rear.

Note, i no power meter, srsly. I only base it on 42kmh. + hopefully little to no wind.
Like recently past 10 days the SE wind quite shiok, riding on WCH towards Clementi super shiok but clementi to city sucks. (y)

GlassDoor

BTW just a quick user report . Yesterday was sending my bike to fix something, so i just wore my $5.95 per pc Kiprun RS500 socks from Decathlon. Not very long distance, 39km to and fro total including a quick spin at MBS area with my kid. Coz my cycling socks just washed and i didnt want to wear them.

Now that i touched both of them side by side, the decathlon socks are a fair bit rougher than my cycling aero socks which has a fair bit of elastane.

End up my little toe both sides now kena a little abrasion and a bit pain/tender, but heng skin remains largely unbroken but i think nearly broke through liao.

Never happened with my cheap aero cycling socks from Taobao, 100km also no issue.

So i think sometimes really need to trial and error and use everything from A-Z. Not expensive stuff would work and the cheapest stuff might work well. And vice versa is probably true as well, cheapest stuff might not work and the expensive stuff might work.
decathlon socks for running. my go to is the r900 series. my big toes must have poke through more than 15+ pair easily over the years. i wait for discounts and buy them in bulk. but the discounted colors are usually the funky ones.
rs500 and 100 i won't bother.

Tudo88

I couldn't open with mouth or hands, also lesson learned about new gels/ not wearing new shoes on race day haha
Then need to practise during your long run already haha. So far the only issue I had during races is I missed grabbing the cup of water lol. So now I slowed down a tiny bit just to grab my water

hellhole

Then need to practise during your long run already haha. So far the only issue I had during races is I missed grabbing the cup of water lol. So now I slowed down a tiny bit just to grab my water
so have you learnt the trick to drink on the move? :)

and not spill the water...

hellhole

Not sure what trick you talking about.
The way you hold the cup?
yes... u squeeze the top part to close it.. then you can pour or sip the water from the 2 side...

i read it in a book by dr ben tan

found a video..forgot about the index finger thing...

WussRedXLi

decathlon socks for running. my go to is the r900 series. my big toes must have poke through more than 15+ pair easily over the years. i wait for discounts and buy them in bulk. but the discounted colors are usually the funky ones.
rs500 and 100 i won't bother.

With that said, the same RS500 i no issue with my running ba.....not sure why. Maybe the shoes and sport and distance make a difference as well......and distance/duration/steps. But it was still an interesting observation that no issue with my current running (3-4km) but cycling even shorter distance is an issue.

Coz another point is that recently i bought a pair of aero calf sleeves (so that i dont need to shave my hairy legs) that goes up to knee length, and i wanted to wear running ankle socks to go with them.
Looks like i still need to stick to my cycling socks, which are like half calf height.....so basically 2 layers of nylon + high % elastane. Hope no heat issue.....havent tested yet.

GlassDoor

With that said, the same RS500 i no issue with my running ba.....not sure why. Maybe the shoes and sport and distance make a difference as well......and distance/duration/steps. But it was still an interesting observation that no issue with my current running (3-4km) but cycling even shorter distance is an issue.

Coz another point is that recently i bought a pair of aero calf sleeves (so that i dont need to shave my hairy legs) that goes up to knee length, and i wanted to wear running ankle socks to go with them.
Looks like i still need to stick to my cycling socks, which are like half calf height.....so basically 2 layers of nylon + high % elastane. Hope no heat issue.....havent tested yet.
3-4km me think all socks will be fine even cotton ones. the test will come maybe after 8-10km. when they get wet from sweat in our environment. even the same exact socks when new and after some months will feel different especially on long runs. for daily shuffle all should be ok unless that socks really jialiat

sph777

haha I will practice using my own gels, won't use the organiser's gel unless desperate

Ender

haha I will practice using my own gels, won't use the organiser's gel unless desperate
i had no issue tearing the Sarus gel last year. If they sponsor again, then I will stick with organizer gel. This will cut down of weight. . But I do plan to carry one or two SIS nootropic beta fuel gel. To be used after 30km.

Ender

3-4km me think all socks will be fine even cotton ones. the test will come maybe after 8-10km. when they get wet from sweat in our environment. even the same exact socks when new and after some months will feel different especially on long runs. for daily shuffle all should be ok unless that socks really jialiat
I think all socks will work for low mileage, except the thick cushion sock. For me even 10km, the cotton socks I just bought are alright. Just don't get 100% saturated with sweat that it begin to leak out sweat, then cotton will be bad. it will rolled up, crinkle, and rub against the foot.
I am back to Aonijie coolmax for my long run , so far this work for me. But I wish they were thinner.

Ender

I don't know what model kiprun sock I bought last time. But it was on sale, like $3.99, so bought a couple to try. Before wash it is fine. After wash the sock becomes hard and brittle. So I guess their cheaper range, best avoid.

GlassDoor

i had no issue tearing the Sarus gel last year. If they sponsor again, then I will stick with organizer gel. This will cut down of weight. . But I do plan to carry one or two SIS nootropic beta fuel gel. To be used after 30km.
errr... agar agar.. by when will they confirm gel sponsor? I had no issues with sarus also.. just that the cost too atas. i had fond memories of my gel buffet cum takeaway :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

Tudo88

I also trying this nootropic beta fuel gel. Very strong. Yeah it should be your last gel for marathon. Can feel the instant boost one haha

sph777

I think all socks will work for low mileage, except the thick cushion sock. For me even 10km, the cotton socks I just bought are alright. Just don't get 100% saturated with sweat that it begin to leak out sweat, then cotton will be bad. it will rolled up, crinkle, and rub against the foot.
I am back to Aonijie coolmax for my long run , so far this work for me. But I wish they were thinner.
I bought the aonijie running vest

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.