Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

deepblue_82

If you've no elderly or baby/toddler with you, can try finding a way to cross over to the other side of the road by the straits and walk in the direction of R&F. I think the walking route Google gave may be showing a pedestrian crossing, that's why a little confusing... Not sure, I only went to play with the street view thingy and thought of this possibility.
ya la i tried to follow google showed me a road which is not there... i ran across to the other side of the road to only realize google wants me to walk on the bloody road to holland

hwsstx

Time of the day (peak, off-peak) does make a difference. I looked at the KSL-Mid Valley rate... these 2 places are not that far from each other, so I guess the timing (and availability) played a part there...
The KSL-Mid Valley route - via the app - was long winded. Instead of using Taman Sentosa way, the route on the app guided the driver to go via Pandan Highway Interchange, then using EDL to get into Mid Valley.

However the driver didn't follow the app's but cut through Taman Sentosa.

Don't know whether this long winded route is the cause of the "higher" fare.

GenerationX

Wednesday Day trip Travel plan;

~1345 hrs - Orh Chien round 1

in between, take bus to Plaza Sentosa and check out the massage (clean(for this trip)) there, squeeze in a 1hr foot and 1 hour body, if the decent ones are still around. I think Kaki Kaki should be large enough of a chain to not close down.

~1800 hrs - Orh Chien round 2
What is orh chien? U mean oyster egg with flour? What bus u take ? I always use walk :( precovid i see many maSsage plc there pls update if u found cheap ones ksl area all full

GenerationX

one more Q... i was staying at hotel Z.. so i wanted to follow the map to walk to R&F mall... but seems google wanted to bring me to holland... so in the end i gave up... can drop some guides?
I tot the mall was within eyesight from ciq? Just follow the bridge is one way how can u miss? Think i wrnt in 2019 pre covid when it opened not long most shops not open yet it was like a ghost town then. Dint see the foodcourt as well. Nothing to see there so i dint go 2nd time. Maybe can gonagain next time i go in...
I dint see or use map unless i need to gauge how much time needed or how far is my destination. I lost my way in thailand (1st trip) n need to spend fee hundred baht back. Lucky a local help me talk to taxi uncle to drive me back as he dun understand enlish at all. Scary experience as it was night, raining heavily, dark due to all shop closed. So i was cold and hungry walking near the rain. After that in dare not trust google map...

Habrosus

What is orh chien? U mean oyster egg with flour? What bus u take ? I always use walk :( precovid i see many maSsage plc there pls update if u found cheap ones ksl area all full
I guess you've missed many/most of his past posts where he's shared pics and bus services and other stuff? You can either track back or wait for him to come repeat everything for you bah.

I tot the mall was within eyesight from ciq? Just follow the bridge is one way how can u miss? Think i wrnt in 2019 pre covid when it opened not long most shops not open yet it was like a ghost town then. Dint see the foodcourt as well. Nothing to see there so i dint go 2nd time. Maybe can gonagain next time i go in...
He did mention that he's at Z Hotel while trying to get to R&F Mall.

beanstalk6

He did mention that he's at Z Hotel while trying to get to R&F Mall.
I also do not understand how he can fail to get to R&F Mall from Z Hotel. Did he even get on Jln Ismail Sultan? The route basically takes one across the train track and the causeway viaduct that goes into the CIQ. To be precise, the route takes one walking on a viaduct and at one point the causeway viaduct from Woodlands to the CIQ will be above you. By this time, R&F Mall is within view, impossible to miss. The sea and the causeway will always be on your right.

deepblue_82

I also do not understand how he can fail to get to R&F Mall from Z Hotel. Did he even get on Jln Ismail Sultan? The route basically takes one across the train track and the causeway viaduct that goes into the CIQ. To be precise, the route takes one walking on a viaduct and at one point the causeway viaduct from Woodlands to the CIQ will be above you. By this time, R&F Mall is within view, impossible to miss. The sea and the causeway will always be on your right.
ok sorry guys i am a noob.. i would see R&F in a distance but i look at the map and the road seems impossible to get across. i was at jln ismail sultan..

hacktic

not sure if there's any walking path to RnF from Zhotel side.
the safest path is from JBSentral. there's a long linkway bridge that leads you all the way to RnF. maybe 2km? only been there once precovid like someone mentioned, it was already empty. but i guess back then, RnF was pretty new and not everyone moved in yet.

i'm already turned off by the long walk. Of course can take one of the buses at JBsentral that go past

deepblue_82

not sure if there's any walking path to RnF from Zhotel side.
the safest path is from JBSentral. there's a long linkway bridge that leads you all the way to RnF. maybe 2km? only been there once precovid like someone mentioned, it was already empty. but i guess back then, RnF was pretty new and not everyone moved in yet.

i'm already turned off by the long walk. Of course can take one of the buses at JBsentral that go past
i wanted to go there coz of the big open air food court else i also dont want to go.. nvm i will just walk via the link bridge coz that day already close to 10pm i think if i delay too long reach there all the stalls close i also sian,, plus that day super jam, tot of taking grab but no point haha

oceanicmanta

i wanted to go there coz of the big open air food court else i also dont want to go.. nvm i will just walk via the link bridge coz that day already close to 10pm i think if i delay too long reach there all the stalls close i also sian,, plus that day super jam, tot of taking grab but no point haha

from Google Map, can see people crossing Jalan Sawmill (near Police Station) ... after crossing and walk along Jln Tun Razak (making a U turn), there is a flight of stairs leading up to Jln Ismail Sultan which leads to RnF mall ;)

deepblue_82

from Google Map, can see people crossing Jalan Sawmill (near Police Station) ... after crossing and walk along Jln Tun Razak (making a U turn), there is a flight of stairs leading up to Jln Ismail Sultan which leads to RnF mall ;)
ok thanks i will try this out the next time i am there.

Aaagogo

R & f mall no need to go . Ghost town. Just for the seaview or walk from there to the open air food court few hundred meter away . xian shi tai food court

How is the cinema there? If I were to ever go there, it would only be to try out the cinema there.

zkwonz

Can I ask those who have visited JB recently - don't need to download the mysejahtera app to enter JB anymore?

Aaagogo

Orh chien = fried oyster/oyster omelette. Best pics are in my sig.

The meldrum walk version is Oyster Omelette, it has more egg than flour. Sg/Thailand/Taiwan versions are more flour and less egg.

There are a few bus, I'll confirm the new numbers as there are many changes to the bus service post-pandemic from JB Sentral to Plaza Sentosa, but they don't stop directly. The bus stop is along the main road at the gas station before the right turn traffic light.

I try not to walk along the roads in JB unless there are specific walkways for pedestrians, which are not common in JB.

Pre-pandemic at Plaza Sentosa got 4 massage shops, 3 at the 1st floor and one Kaki Kaki at the upper floors.

Aaagogo

Can I ask those who have visited JB recently - don't need to download the mysejahtera app to enter JB anymore?
By right still need, by left very few places care/check. You may or may not be subjected to random checks.

YMMV to enter JB without the app, how is your risk tolerance? #MalaysiaBoleh

deepblue_82

i was there last weekend only 1 outlet asked me to show mysejahtera app but i told them i dont have so he said tracetogather also can

hwsstx

By right still need, by left very few places care/check. You may or may not be subjected to random checks.

YMMV to enter JB without the app, how is your risk tolerance? #MalaysiaBoleh
I wonder what will be the difference when Polis ask to see it?

Aaagogo

I wonder what will be the difference when Polis ask to see it?
Attach a 20RM note below your phone if one doesn't have the app :ROFLMAO:

Wah, sg customs prepared for even worse weekend jam liao, even departure hall upstairs add the removable barriers to create the snaking lines

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.