Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Meemoosaa

Kopi o kosong at kopitiam ds

Braised duck
https://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2016/12/famous-braised-duck-in-jb-taika-huat.html

Bak kut teh
https://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2012/07/bak-kut-teh-pah-li-pan-bak-kuh-teh-in.html

First time tried the youtiao when ordered bkt here, and found out there is youtiao stall nearby.

Ckt
Not Penang style but her own style, may not be everyone cups of tea
https://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2022/11/*****-fried-kway-teow-pah-li-ban-skudai.html

https://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2022/10/pah-li-ban-village-skudai-food-street.html

Thank you ! Looks like it's a small street of food shop. I had the braised duck on bookmarke so someone on here may have also recommended before. Quite near TUTA !

Habrosus

Walk around. We will not be driving that day so need to use grab. But no specific destination yet. Any landmark to key in on grab?
As Andrew has shared, Austin Park Hotel can walk around the area, though mainly makan. IIRC breakfast time will see more variety across the road on the other side.

Meemoosaa

Walk around. We will not be driving that day so need to use grab. But no specific destination yet. Any landmark to key in on grab?

Mt Austin is those open space area with rows and rows of shophouses, and as with many parts in JB, it can be very hot and not really suitable for leisure jalan jalan imo. So it's best that you have some place in mind to get to as a base (for e.g. hotel, massage place, eatery) and then base your jalan jalan off that base.

I typically categorize Mt Austin into 3 main parts

"North" - Sekbao / Tea & Ember / CHADDEE etc. A row of newer shophouses with a lot of offerings targetted at the younger demographics. I'm middle age, and I find this area not very interesting but could be different for you depending on your interest/taste/demographic. If I'm not wrong, this place comes alive more in the evening.

"South" - Likeme noodle house / High school kopitiam - This area is a bit more old school and has plenty of large massage chains and hotels in the area.

"South East" or "Far South" - 38 degree onsen spa / The Toast / Meng Meng roast duck - This area is a bit of a mix offering I think, I hardly have time to venture to this part.

It may be possible to walk from north to south, but trying to combine the far south together in your single day exploration could be challenging. In any case, the area can be so hot that I sometimes even grab from north to south.

Meemoosaa

Another Sunway boulevard series, finally get the time to share !

This is a vegetarian cafe with some unusual creations. So must keep an open-mind ! :grin:
Surprisingly crowded when we were there again yesterday.

Vine cafe
https://maps.app.goo.gl/iRtR93AKSi2VgKJPA

Vegetarian "char siew" with multigrain rice.

qqgD1KM.jpeg

Their signature crispy carrot cake - to keep that grumpy "hate-vegetarian" person in your group occupied.

TacSkK5.jpeg

Pumpkin kaya egg and toast !! Unusual kaya i thought !

v0MhCoi.png

scHjnqh.png

A7S3FUm.png

Meemoosaa

Sunway boulevard series continued, within the same cluster 1 min walk away, from vegetarian to club vibe meat grill. Hubs die die needed to eat a burger after getting coerced by me into the vegetarian place. lol No pics, ate too fast but it was delicious. We will be back.

We got a Salt bae performance from the table next to us. probably ordered some fancy meat. ! Cringy but kudos for extra effort in trying to stand out from the crowd from that cluster. Rather entertaining if nothing else. :s13:

Bob's grill
https://maps.app.goo.gl/5okMzYMnhvdx9nzT8

RTvCDl6.jpeg

TgmpunU.jpeg

XAIOhLb.png

OicnQI4.jpeg

VdG8NWl.png

iA18Ws1.jpeg

Meemoosaa

@Habrosus - Yesterday I was fussing over some seatings on the CW bus, not realizing there was someone behind, turned around and saw an old bird giving me that cold death stare. For a moment, I wondered if it was you. :o I already noticed him when boarding from Sg.

He had crocs shoes with mini gold chain on it. You into crocs ? :grin:

Coffeelix

@Habrosus - Yesterday I was fussing over some seatings on the CW bus, not realizing there was someone behind, turned around and saw an old bird giving me that cold death stare. For a moment, I wondered if it was you. :o I already noticed him when boarding from Sg.

Sounded very like what he would do …. 😂

Habrosus

Nice try. I've an idea who that was, but not gonna tell you. :razz:

Look out for me on national tv come election instead. :s13:

Sounded very like what he would do …. 😂
Wrong again! :crazy:

Meemoosaa

Suggest you go to the sales office over at the club house at level 2. Get the staff to drive you to those existing precincts that still have balance units for sale to view the housing surrounding. You will love it even more… quiet and serene…
Many MY or ah tiong that leased to stay eventually buy for own stay …
Some visiting from sg: both MY and ah tiong also buy to relocate from sg…

Don't tempt me, I don't' wish to go there eat dim sum for RM100, end up with a RM1m house 3 months later. :s13:

Coffeelix

Nice try. I've an idea who that was, but not gonna tell you. :razz:

Look out for me on national tv come election instead. :s13:

Wrong again! :crazy:
Don’t smoke us lah…
I have met WP LKT over at Legoland some years ago… u won’t be him too…
Cos u no hokkien png … 😂

Coffeelix

Don't tempt me, I don't' wish to go there eat dim sum for RM100, end up with a RM1m house 3 months later. :s13:
Last call as Horizon hills is selling the past parcel of land / The Peak precinct.
My jb neighbour’s siblings are queuing to buy there…
After which have to buy from secondary / resale market at seller’s calls 😂
I m not salesman nor spokesman of HH…
Mee is definitely Sunway ambassador 😝

Coffeelix

Don't tell me it's one of the old birds here ?! :eek:

Eh, so you in opposition rallying ? Lol

I think totally seemed like you leh :s13:
Can’t be Andrew either cos he always travel with wife..
Don’t tell me is oceanpriest ?
😝
Definitely is Habroso …
If not also won’t b that Forest City ambassador TKL 😂

Habrosus

Don’t smoke us lah…
I have met WP LKT over at Legoland some years ago… u won’t be him too…
Cos u no hokkien png … 😂
Who's smoking who here? "Low is well known for giving speeches in Teochew."

Png? Rice? :crazy:

Enough guessing lah, you'll NEVER get it. Yesterday I wasn't even across the causeway, anywhere. I'm not that keen to mingle with sinkies on a Saturday anywhere near the borders.

JOHOR thread here!

Aaagogo

SB88 Sunway Boulevard 88, the shops spent quite a bit on the reno, while it looks nice... f&b failure rate so high... have to spend so much more to stand out... then dunno can survive pass 3-5 years...

then in back corner of the "entrance road" hides a kopitiam... food for those that work there?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.