Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Habrosus

"A one-way ticket will set you back RM11 (~S$3.35) per person, and the train ride takes about 50 minutes."

take T30 bus from JB Sentral RM4.2 take about 58minutes...
Do you know there are people who eat so big already only train rides were on MRT?

Give them a chance lah! :s13:

oceanpriest

If you've your Manjalink card saved in the Lugo app, you'll be able to see the charges when they're updated.

It's from checking the card balances to see if need to top up before a trip, that I noticed the difference in one card before I went to check the balances. Instead of tapping at GP or even KSAB, he only tapped at Tuas CIQ resulting in a SGD charge.
ya lor, last week just realized at Tuas CIQ is SGD charge when i saw the sign board.
then at Woodland CIQ also should be the same, last time i rmbr got one angmoh asking bus driver how much to Queen St terminal, driver replied SGD4.8, i thought the driver tried to carrot chop the angmoh by charging in SGD instead RM...

Habrosus

ya lor, last week just realized at Tuas CIQ is SGD charge when i saw the sign board.
then at Woodland CIQ also should be the same, last time i rmbr got one angmoh asking bus driver how much to Queen St terminal, driver replied SGD4.8, i thought the driver tried to carrot chop the angmoh by charging in SGD instead RM...
Fare currency according to the soil you're standing on hor! And the air you're breathing in. :s13:

Habrosus

hmm dunno why leh...
so we need to tap 3 times? at perling mall, at sultan abu bakar, at tuas ciq?
or 2 times only at perling mall and tuas ciq?
By right 3 times, every time we board. But for the ride across the causeway, drivers mostly take for granted we'd have got there in their buses so already paid passengers. Unless they want to double check, then just twice.

Andrew833

hmm dunno why leh...
so we need to tap 3 times? at perling mall, at sultan abu bakar, at tuas ciq?
or 2 times only at perling mall and tuas ciq?

By right 3 times, every time we board. But for the ride across the causeway, drivers mostly take for granted we'd have got there in their buses so already paid passengers. Unless they want to double check, then just twice.
From SG to JB, only tap once when you board. JB side don't care.
From JB side, tap once when boarding, after clear SG custom need to tap again.

Habrosus

Don't say "JB side don't care". Wait one day they decide to check then one of our happy shoppers might go sotong-mode and go "Huh? Have to tap ah? Why? I thought no need?" 😑

Like those obviously educated young adults of ours who placed the box of KFC on the scanner belt and later went, "Huh, KFC cannot ah?" 😑

Andrew833

Don't say "JB side don't care". Wait one day they decide to check then one of our happy shoppers might go sotong-mode and go "Huh? Have to tap ah? Why? I thought no need?" 😑

Like those obviously educated young adults of ours who placed the box of KFC on the scanner belt and later went, "Huh, KFC cannot ah?" 😑
Monkey see monkey do :LOL:
After clear JB custom, when boarding, I will prepare my manjialink card, if driver didn't check those in front, we don't tap. :LOL:

oceanpriest

if go by 1st link, jb ciq to woodland checkpoint charge rm2.6, from woodland checkpoint to queen st charge rm2.2
go by 2nd link, they charge max fare upon boarding... i.e rm6 from perling/bukit indah, rm4.5 from gelang patah

edit:
take 160/170/170x/950 from woodland cp to johor bahru ciq sgd1.19

Andrew833

if go by 1st link, jb ciq to woodland checkpoint charge rm2.6, from woodland checkpoint to queen st charge rm2.2
go by 2nd link, they charge max fare upon boarding... i.e rm6 from perling/bukit indah, rm4.5 from gelang patah
2nd link further mah

Habrosus

Monkey see monkey do :LOL:
After clear JB custom, when boarding, I will prepare my manjialink card, if driver didn't check those in front, we don't tap. :LOL:
The problem is some monkeys don't see! After 5 minutes in the bus... "Where are we going huh? What bus number is this?" Best part is when such a question thrown to driver. :look:

And you already said there are people who stood at the boarding point to look for their card lor. "Aiyah, Andrew from HWZ said no need wat!" :s13:

Habrosus

edit:
Let me try to break this up...

BSI to Woodland CIQ - RM2.60
Woodland CIQ to Queen Street RM2.20
(Question: You got charged in RM from Woodland?)

Go by 2nd Link... (Question: You mean return via 2nd Link?)

I think RM6 is the fare from Perling/BI to 2nd Link, RM4.50 from GP to 2nd Link. And beyond that... it's been years since I last go/return via other sites than Tuas, so I'm not sure how exactly they charge. Maybe adjustments made at the end of the trips, thus the update to the Lugo app only the next day or so?

Andrew833

edit:

I think RM6 is the fare from Perling/BI to 2nd Link, RM4.50 from GP to 2nd Link. And beyond that... it's been years since I last go/return via other sites than Tuas, so I'm not sure how exactly they charge. Maybe adjustments made at the end of the trips, thus the update to the Lugo app only the next day or so?
JB custom to Kranji - RM2.60 Opp route S$2.60

"from woodland checkpoint to queen st charge rm2.2" Can't find, yes, should be more not lesser.

2nd link, you can try boarding outside of Bukit Indah to see what is the fare.
I think should be standard RM6 or RM5 bah.

oceanpriest

Add your card to the Lugo app and that will help you understand their fare charges. :grin:

all according to my LUGO app records :grin:
at woodland ciq, probably the bus detect the transfer, hence deducted RM2.2

Yes correct, no adjustment
RM6 from Perling/BI to Tuas Link/Boonlay/Jurong East
RM4.5 from GP to Tuas Link/Boonlay/Jurong East

"from woodland checkpoint to queen st charge rm2.2" Can't find, yes, should be more not lesser.

can check next time u go by 1st link to newton or queen st. if my observation is correct, will deduct rm2 at woodland checkpoint if take cw5 to newton circus

I checked my LUGO app, from perling rm6, from bukit indah oso rm6...

Habrosus

Kranji with Manjalink card should be lower than S$2.60 from what I've seen from the board... Amount shown in app is already converted to RM.

2nd Link, @oceanpriest can try boarding outside of BI. I'm not doing it. :s13: But from preC19 days, I remember it's about that price too.

oceanpriest

Kranji with Manjalink card should be lower than S$2.60 from what I've seen from the board... Amount shown in app is already converted to RM.

2nd Link, @oceanpriest can try boarding outside of BI. I'm not doing it. :s13: But from preC19 days, I remember it's about that price too.
Already boarded from both perling mall and from BI bus stop

next time i'll try board from TUTA, Sutera and Pontian :grin:

oceanpriest

summary of observation for Causeway Link Cross border Bus services:

from 1st link,
board at Sultan Iskandar CIQ, bus dunno where you want to go, so only charge you rm 2.6
board at Woodland checkpoint, each bus knows where you want to go, so deduct the the amount difference from if you pay upfront with cash (rm2.2 to queen st, rm0 to kranji, rm2 to newton circus)

from 2nd link
every bus knows you want to go CIQ, so charge max fare according to each bus number (rm4.5 from gelang patah/hotel ramada/hotel jen, rm6 from BI/perling/sutera, rm7 from tuta, rm8 from pontian). after cross border, they don't care where you want to go and no extra charge.

todo:
try to board from perling and alight at BI and tap out
try to board from BI and alight few bus stops after that and tap out

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.