Johor-Singapore special economic zone deal set for Monday signing, says Johor Menteri Besar

nasfieldjohn

means hdb price will drop since got oversupply from jb
kumgong who overpay million dollar flat repent?

jacko123

alot of designated factory space there already bought by singaporean companies.
one entire factory building selling at sgd 2 mil+ only.

majority of our existing manufacturing will be shifted there, starting with the food factories.
singapore's manufacturing space will be cleared and redeveloped to more residential/entertainment plots.

multi-currency digital payment system will be introduced by both governments to facilitate transactions with real-time current forex rates.

a true blue collared class will start to emerge.

lalalalalala

lol, u can tell sinkies are really dumb when they rejoice that this means can go jb shopping easily.

this agreement will result in mass retrenchment of sinkies as companies move there and employ jhk.

lalalalalala

very interesting.. if the news confirmed ... johor properties only one way up liao... too late to jump in :(

but .. will be interesting to see how you implement passport free...
they going to build walls around the zone?
probably shift the customs up

Sirlighty

Somehow I feel this is a breech of national security.

Singaporeans survival will depends on this outcome. Its either we stay as what it is now or sell ourselves out

Jack_Chen

a lot of things is possible if truly Asians make an effort and importantly don't take a big cut.

1. if they wipe out corruption
2. if they hire competent and qualified
3. if they don't discriminate on race or practice pseudo-Apartheid

on the otherhand, I still aiming for high speed rail becuase if done well, we can party in Thailand every weekend

neutralph

lol, u can tell sinkies are really dumb when they rejoice that this means can go jb shopping easily.

this agreement will result in mass retrenchment of sinkies as companies move there and employ jhk.
Think is a lose-lose for employees on both sides. Why you think the malaysians flock to Singapore to work in the first place?

jacko123

a lot of things is possible if truly Asians make an effort and importantly don't take a big cut.

1. if they wipe out corruption
2. if they hire competent and qualified
3. if they don't discriminate on race or practice pseudo-Apartheid

on the otherhand, I still aiming for high speed rail becuase if done well, we can party in Thailand every weekend

HSR is in the works already ma, which will lead all the way to china.
i believe china is spear heading this project

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kunming–Singapore_railway

Checkyrmed

that could be one possibility .. - lower confidence or economic instability.
but S$NEER band .. weakening does not necessarily imply that.

just like how FED cut rate or increase rate for near term does not mean economic instability or lower confidence in local economy. it's more to maintain economic stability.

when sh.t hits the fan.. the policy tweaks will be more drastic and not gradual
Yes and the SGD reversal is likely to be seen by many as the first crack in the facade.

lalalalalala

Think is a lose-lose for employees on both sides. Why you think the malaysians flock to Singapore to work in the first place?
i think sinkies will be hit worse because of the higher cost of living.

jhk that have worked in sg already benefit from the arbitrage and huat gao already. i'm very sure we will see jhk landlords renting out to sinkies and laughing at us in the near future.

ultimately imo, this agreement benefits companies and the rich because they can reduce the operating cost of their biz and continue to chop carrot in sg

AndroidComa

is it good diplomatic standards that LW, as the visiting party always start answering 1st
or he just anxious to impress

u listen to their answers u can tell the difference between the 2 politicians
LW go around and around without answering the question
Anwar will inject some of his country's initiative at the same time maybe to win support at home at the same time...

lupster

jhk that have worked in sg already benefit from the arbitrage and huat gao already. i'm very sure we will see jhk landlords renting out to sinkies and laughing at us in the near future.

ultimately imo, this agreement benefits companies and the rich because they can reduce the operating cost of their biz and continue to chop carrot in sg
Ya, I think most, probably almost all, sinkies would be made worse off from this.

lupster

is it good diplomatic standards that LW, as the visiting party always start answering 1st
or he just anxious to impress

u listen to their answers u can tell the difference between the 2 politicians
LW go around and around without answering the question
Anwar will inject some of his country's initiative at the same time maybe to win support at home at the same time...
LW's style is just motherhood statement after motherhood statement.

lupster

There will at least be some win for malaysia. Malaysia is able to reverse some of the brain drain. There will also be companies that were considering Singapore but end up setting up in SEZ and give the malaysians more jobs to choose from. From the way I see it, it's a straight up lose for the vast majority of sinkies.

neutralph

Not an economic expert, but my basic understanding of supply and demand gives me the beliefs that if it ever reaches the scenario you had mentioned, then it will be a slippery slope down.

simply put, purchasing power is key. No power no carrot head to chop.

neutralph

There will at least be some win for malaysia. Malaysia is able to reverse some of the brain drain. There will also be companies that were considering Singapore but end up setting up in SEZ and give the malaysians more jobs to choose from. From the way I see it, it's a straight up lose for the vast majority of sinkies.
From the outlook, it might be the case but I got a theory that the Chinese Malaysian will ventured overseas if Singapore goes to shiat.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.