Just got a call from blood bank, should go down?

Should one go for blood donation?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

I_Cannot_Eat_Apple

I used to think the same way as TS. For a long time I did not donate. Come to think about it, you do your part. That's all. Doesn't matter whose pocket it fatten. The cost of operating need to be foot by somebody to keep it sustainable. Think about it, would you rather be waiting for free blood or pay for it in time of need? Worst case is if there isn't any blood available even if you don't mind the high price. I now donate whenever I can.

BBClone

HSA blood bank definitely serves private hospitals like Mount E and Mount Alvernia

And your sinkie blood is definitely transfused into foreign medical tourists

How much or if they are charged for each pack of blood is uncertain.

Albedo

Bro, how this case came to light? :s14:

Few years back, there was some severe shortage in our blood bank, then some report came out saying they will review and give higher priority to locals instead. It was about that time i realised that gov has been taking our free donated blood and using for their beloved medical tourists. Until we had run low.

herzberg

Changi alot inmates mah, get them to donate blood to give back to society, then reduce sentence by 1mth. Like last time i nsf, donate blood can get half day off, jin song

Albedo

HSA blood bank definitely serves private hospitals like Mount E and Mount Alvernia

And your sinkie blood is definitely transfused into foreign medical tourists

How much or if they are charged for each pack of blood is uncertain.

Good biz model.
At the same time, while private medical costs go up, jack up public one as well. Now A&E step in is more than $110?

Unclemun

I’ve donated quite a few times. I will do it if needed. My mum needed quite a few bags of blood for an operation. It came from other blood donors.

donating blood is an altruistic act. Do it if you can.

razorlala

Lol, is in the questionnaire and if you answer it correctly you wont get charged la.

I always mindful about how I answer also. Dr asked if ive any allergies etc, Ill reply, "not that I'm aware" instead of just say you dont have.
you must be the kind that support ridiculous laws simply because you are a law abiding citizen.

i bet you support jailtime for ppl who dont return their trays.

whatheheck

Changi alot inmates mah, get them to donate blood to give back to society, then reduce sentence by 1mth. Like last time i nsf, donate blood can get half day off, jin song

Don't think they can donate

jimmyleong

https://www.hsa.gov.sg/blood-donation/blood-transfusion
Fees
You do not need to pay for the blood used in a transfusion. Blood is donated, not sold, and donors do not receive any payment.

A blood processing fee, however, is charged for the collection, processing and testing of every unit of blood to ensure it is safe for transfusion.

This fee is subsidised by the government as follows:
  • At the blood bank
    • For all blood processing costs.
  • Subsidy for patients at the hospital
    • Depending on your ward class.
    • Citizens receive a higher subsidy than Permanent Residents.

xiao.xin

you must be the kind that support ridiculous laws simply because you are a law abiding citizen.

i bet you support jailtime for ppl who dont return their trays.
Errr.... The questionnaire asked you about your lifestyle questionaire, you answered and proven true, then why are you not liable?

And sorry for, i dont have to sign anything for the tray. Is a different context pls

m/mink

How do you determined if the blood was sold to rich medical tourists while it's free for locals?

Like there's one specific line for tourist's invoices while it's not listed in local patients?

ITEMS
TS's O+ blood (1litre) ------------------------------------------------------------ $2000.

razorlala

Errr.... The questionnaire asked you about your lifestyle questionaire, you answered and proven true, then why are you not liable?

And sorry for, i dont have to sign anything for the tray. Is a different context pls
you donate blood yet need to declare your lifestyle? and if false is chargable? **** offl a

magna_strike

you donate blood yet need to declare your lifestyle? and if false is chargable? **** offl a
Why not? This is serious stuff here, that can endanger other people's lives you know? For giving false info that could harm others.

Zinna

How they know if your blood had gheysex with other people, or if your blood got visit prostitutes or orgy

MegatonNev

I still continue to donate when I can.. the blood bank, although they profits handsomely from it, what I done is helping to save lives and hopefully in my multiple donations, I managed to help at least a few local bro/sis; uncle/auntie or kid

xiao.xin

How they know if your blood had gheysex with other people, or if your blood got visit prostitutes or orgy
They dont, thats precisely they asked in the questionnaire that if youve these lifestyle, and if so they would prefer not to accept your donation as they will probably need to do further checks or test on the blood.

Take it as they will accept the 'good' blood with little possible of infection

xiao.xin

Well, donating is a choice also not force upon. You dw declare your lifestyle then dont donate lo. Brudder cny eat too much bakkwa then heaty ah, mai so angsty leh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.