Lasik eye Surgery

donald83

Regression? Walan.... Later do liao still need wear spec. Wasted leh.

Doc said for me, 94% chance no need to wear specs. If sway sway belongs to 6%, it only means u need to wear specs while driving at night etc where u need 50 degree power for the specs. Otherwise no need wear specs in your daily activities

Poryongming

Thanks for the reply. Wow but i hv been reading a lot abit epi Lasik saying it is better than lasik. Didn't know that it is suited for different kind of candidates as i tot in general it is a better technology. What is PRK?

Hi

EpiLASIK is like PRK (PhotoRefractiveKeratectomy), which is the original technology before LASIK. Here, they don't cut a corneal flap, they just rub off the surface cells of the eye. But then you have to wait for the cells to grow back, which takes a long time. That is why for EpiLASIK or PRK the recovery is much slower than for LASIK. It is definitely not better technology than LASIK. Unfortunately, their marketing is quite powerful so a lot of people come to believe like yourself.

EpiLASIK uses a special blade to remove the surface cells, but actually you could do the same thing much more cheaply without using the blade also (PRK). There is not much point with EpiLASIK actually, charge more for doing something with fancy equipment which is not necessary.

But, EpiLASIK or PRK may be good for those who do a lot of rough sports/other activities as there is no flap. Have to put up with discomfort/tearing/blurry vision with EpiLASIK or PRK for some time though. For LASIK, next day already vision is clear and no pain.

crunsik

Hi there, im new to this thread and i read through some of the experiences that has been shared. Could I check if after Lasik, and presumingly my vision worsen 30 years down the road, would I be able to perform Lasik again? Could I take up contact lenses again? TIA!!

kampong boi

Hi there, im new to this thread and i read through some of the experiences that has been shared. Could I check if after Lasik, and presumingly my vision worsen 30 years down the road, would I be able to perform Lasik again? Could I take up contact lenses again? TIA!!

I have raised this question before, to my surgeon. And the answer is yes it is possible to do Lasik again, but with some conditions in placed. To be able to make another cut on the eye and also the pre-lasik conditions, eye pressure etc.

Yes you can take up contact lenses or spectacles.

crunsik

I have raised this question before, to my surgeon. And the answer is yes it is possible to do Lasik again, but with some conditions in placed. To be able to make another cut on the eye and also the pre-lasik conditions, eye pressure etc.

Yes you can take up contact lenses or spectacles.

from what i read, if the thin layer has been removed from the cornea, then even in the near future, notwithstanding that even certain conditions are met, there cant be another lasik surgery carried out.

valuesniper

Can check out 29/10 The Straits Times' Mind your Body column.

They did a comparison between the different types of Lasik.

Good for your research before making a decision.

donald83

Did my lasik last Friday. Day 2 after the op and vision is all good, except sometimes abit hazy and halos at night.

kampong boi

Did my lasik last Friday. Day 2 after the op and vision is all good, except sometimes abit hazy and halos at night.

Does it feel like a miracle? suddenly dont need to touch the spectacles on your nose bridge or waking up and suddenly you can see? :o

Rest well, dont see too much of the computer screen or phone.

crandfs

Now got new method loh, Relex, which seems to be basically like lasik but the length of the flap edge that is normally created in lasik is now almost eliminated in relex.

donald83

Does it feel like a miracle? suddenly dont need to touch the spectacles on your nose bridge or waking up and suddenly you can see? :o

Rest well, dont see too much of the computer screen or phone.

Yah feeling is amazing. But now still in early stage recovery so eyes are feeling dry

donald83

Went Shinagawa, Dr Lee did the op for me.

I paid $4,088 including meds. But i chose the most expensive laser (AMARIS) since it is 2 times faster and has the eye tracking function.

To be honest, I was quite scared throughout. Just to share my experience, once you get into the clinic, the staff will take your BP and heart rate, and of course heart rate was high.

After that they will clean your eyes by putting eye drops and then numb your eyes as well.

1st stage of op - This laser is to create a flap in your cornea. This will take 15 seconds per eye. Doc will put a ring into your eye socket there to prevent your eyelids from closing so that you can't blink. After that I felt like a suction and pressure on my eyeball which caused quite a discomfort (this is the most uncomfortable part for the entire op). After that, you look into the light and you can't blink, move your head or swallow. So just tahan 15 seconds. Repeat for the other eye. After that, go out and rest for 15 to 20 mins for air bubbles to clear

2nd stage - This is to open up the flap which was created earlier and reshape the cornea to correct your power. Since by then i had experience already, i didnt felt so scared anymore. Theatre was cold and they wrapped my legs with plastic to keep me warm. Same thing, put the ring into my eye to prevent eyelids from closing. THen u can see the doc using a brush to brush your eye (but totally numb) and then a small pincer to open up the flap. You can somehow see something like a plastic folding outwards from your eye (that's the flap i assume) but u dont fel anything. When i saw that i was freaked out but all is good.

The shaping was even faster. I think it was only 5 to 7 seconds per eye and you can smell burning smell (smells like BBQ crayfish that became burnt)

Repeat for next eye

After that, vision is blur and hazy but you can already tell that details is sharper than before. Staff will tell you to rest for 30 mins and they will explain to you what eye drops to use etc.

GO home and sleep for few hours or close your eyes at least. THe more you close your eyes, the faster the recovery.

My conclusion - Even though I was damn scared, but just tahan and be scared for that 2 hours (including waiting etc) and you get many years of convenience. It is worth it.

kampong boi

after the op must put the eye shield to prevent rubbing of the eye and cannot let water or soap touch the eye, so when showering need to be careful. These few days quite sunny, good time to wear sunglasses without any hassle. :o

the next few days your eye lids will feel like got something stuck on the eyeball, but it is probably the wound, you will get used to it.

trax06

Done today no pain no worry no hassle. Shinagawa Dr Lee excellent service back to sleep now.

Ohh btw I went ahead with the basic machine I think wavelight $3k++. I asked him my eyes can do both wavelight and amaris he said yes so wavelight it is.

llmarachll

anymore update ?

went to SMG forum last saturday , was given a 250 voucher ..

tempting to do it ..

matrix05

Went Shinagawa, Dr Lee did the op for me.

I paid $4,088 including meds. But i chose the most expensive laser (AMARIS) since it is 2 times faster and has the eye tracking function.

To be honest, I was quite scared throughout. Just to share my experience, once you get into the clinic, the staff will take your BP and heart rate, and of course heart rate was high.

After that they will clean your eyes by putting eye drops and then numb your eyes as well.

1st stage of op - This laser is to create a flap in your cornea. This will take 15 seconds per eye. Doc will put a ring into your eye socket there to prevent your eyelids from closing so that you can't blink. After that I felt like a suction and pressure on my eyeball which caused quite a discomfort (this is the most uncomfortable part for the entire op). After that, you look into the light and you can't blink, move your head or swallow. So just tahan 15 seconds. Repeat for the other eye. After that, go out and rest for 15 to 20 mins for air bubbles to clear

2nd stage - This is to open up the flap which was created earlier and reshape the cornea to correct your power. Since by then i had experience already, i didnt felt so scared anymore. Theatre was cold and they wrapped my legs with plastic to keep me warm. Same thing, put the ring into my eye to prevent eyelids from closing. THen u can see the doc using a brush to brush your eye (but totally numb) and then a small pincer to open up the flap. You can somehow see something like a plastic folding outwards from your eye (that's the flap i assume) but u dont fel anything. When i saw that i was freaked out but all is good.

The shaping was even faster. I think it was only 5 to 7 seconds per eye and you can smell burning smell (smells like BBQ crayfish that became burnt)

Repeat for next eye

After that, vision is blur and hazy but you can already tell that details is sharper than before. Staff will tell you to rest for 30 mins and they will explain to you what eye drops to use etc.

GO home and sleep for few hours or close your eyes at least. THe more you close your eyes, the faster the recovery.

My conclusion - Even though I was damn scared, but just tahan and be scared for that 2 hours (including waiting etc) and you get many years of convenience. It is worth it.

This is a good FR; giving price, pain and fear and lots of details. Would be great if you can come back to give a 6mth post-op review.

kampong boi

feel like going to shinagawa for assessment, anyway to get a discount or not??

attend their seminar or talk.

last time they give their patients vouchers to refer to their friends to choose shinagawa, not sure if they still give.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.