Lasik eye Surgery

eyz

my apology, i attached the pricelist for shinagawa before and can't even remembered it was a 750.

I went for the forum as well, Dr. Lee did not remain to answer any qns. I went to EyeSurgeon to check out the price, and Dr. Por willingly invited me to his clinic and share with me the procedures and fees. You guys should just pay his clinic a visit to find out more.

Photo%2012-11-15%2C%207%2059%2009%20PM.jpg

I went for shinagawa forum they are using Amaris is 750S not 1050RS which The talk also didnt cover anything about epi-lasik. So I ask about it and was told that epi-lasik was not recommended unless the corneal is too thin and the recovery may varies as tissue will recover. Also was told that only 1 clinic market epi-lasik but she didnt say which clinic but I believe she meant 'clearvision'. Also was told that if perform epi lasik, alcohol to remove layer of epithelium is recommended.

Shinagawa - Amaris 750S (main IntraLase Wavefront Lasik)
LSC - STAR VISX S4(Lasik) ZEISS VisuMax® Femtosecond Laser (main ReLEx)
clearvision - Amaris 1050RS (main Epi Lasik)
EEC - Amaris 750S
EYESURGEONS - not sure(no technology stated on website cant google)

Amaris 1050RS

STAR S4 IR® Excimer Laser

I have done some reading online found out that some say epi lasik is better some say lasik is more stable. Anyway if my research is wrong do let me know. I want to make a final decision on which procedure to do next yr after Christmas trip

pricing may not be an issue , cos i think it will be a few hundreds diff from each clinics only.Main thing is the treatment and the aftercare provided.

I just do normal sport n swimming, as for military part I still have to under go reservist chiongsua unit with out field.

also i fogot to ask doctor , if do lasik, forever cannot rub the eyes anymore?

IMO, lasik is good enough for you. Lasik shd be fine for 'normal' military service for NSmen that does not have drastic changes in pressure (eg, fighter pilot, naval diver). I think even normal scuba diving is fine.

The reason I wanna do flapless is that I do not want to rule out contact sports in the future. Who knows, maybe 1 day mid-life crisis and ki-siao wanna do MMA leh... :s22:

Can rub eye lah. The CSO who did Lasik 1 year ago rub her eye in front of me. I think the concern for the flap is in trauma (eg, kena wack in the head) or drastic changes in pressure.

If you have not done the pre-opt assessment, don't rule out anything cause maybe your cornea too thin for Lasik and have to do Lasek/Epi leh...

my apology, i attached the pricelist for shinagawa before and can't even remembered it was a 750.

I went for the forum as well, Dr. Lee did not remain to answer any qns. I went to EyeSurgeon to check out the price, and Dr. Por willingly invited me to his clinic and share with me the procedures and fees. You guys should just pay his clinic a visit to find out more.

I actually have the best impression of Dr Por although I haven't met him or gone to his clinic. Just read some of his articles and called his clinic. I felt some other surgeons are abit too hunry for sales...

eyz

So there are 3 types of precedured to remove the epithelium:

LASEK/PRK - Alcohol to removd the epithelium by the doctor
Epi-LASIK - Mechanical removal using the epithelium separator
no touch EPI-LASIK - using the same excimer laser to remove the epithelium

Shinagawa provides epi-lasik.

I think it's just the doctor's preference in the kind of procedures that they provide and machines that they have access to.

some may prefer personal interference, some prefer the precision of the machines, some are better skilled than the other.

Lasek uses alcohol, epi-lasik uses a device to remove the epithelium. Dr Por from Eyesurgeons (as mentioned by eyz and from his articles on Quora) prefers alcohol (Lasek). Dr Natasha Lim also prefers alcohol. The reason is that the device that removes the epithelium can cut into the cornea and leave a permanent scar. That is the reason SNEC no longer does epi-lasik but do Lasek. So Shinagawa also prefers Lasek... :s8:

Eyesurgeons uses EEC's facilities at Novena so uses the Amaris 750S.

Lasik is more common, cheaper, faster recovery, less pain. But downside is that the mechanical strength of the cornea is lower than Lasek/Epi. There may be more chances of complications. But some surgeons say that technology has reduced that.

Maybe you should consider if you want an active lifestyle? Although some say that Lasik is good enough if you do not do contact sports or is in the military. If you cornea is thin, Lasek/Epi may be the more probable option.

LASEK/PRK - Alcohol to removd the epithelium by the doctor

I think it's just the doctor's preference in the kind of procedures that they provide and machines that they have access to.

some may prefer personal interference, some prefer the precision of the machines, some are better skilled than the other.

I started preferring epi-lasik due to the use of alcohol in Lasek. Now I am inching towards Lasek due to the risk of scarring of cornea in epi-lasik plus the fact that SNEC no longer do Epi. Was told by a surgeon that the reason is the scarring risk and many other institutions have moved in that direction too. Wonder if no touch Epi also have scarring risk?

eyz

no, you still rub your eyes violently. it will only take a freak accident to lift up the flap.

The cons of LASEK is the recovery time. i was told by Dr. Por that even after two weeks, the vision will still be a little blur, will not be able to see the last lines of the eye chart test clearly. Full recovery will take almost half a year to a year. AND if you decide to go for enhancement, you have to go through all the recovery AGAIN! haha

That's why LASIK is a popular choice.

I just do normal sport n swimming, as for military part I still have to under go reservist chiongsua unit with out field.

also i fogot to ask doctor , if do lasik, forever cannot rub the eyes anymore?

yosemi

IMO, lasik is good enough for you. Lasik shd be fine for 'normal' military service for NSmen that does not have drastic changes in pressure (eg, fighter pilot, naval diver). I think even normal scuba diving is fine.

The reason I wanna do flapless is that I do not want to rule out contact sports in the future. Who knows, maybe 1 day mid-life crisis and ki-siao wanna do MMA leh... :s22:

Can rub eye lah. The CSO who did Lasik 1 year ago rub her eye in front of me. I think the concern for the flap is in trauma (eg, kena wack in the head) or drastic changes in pressure.

If you have not done the pre-opt assessment, don't rule out anything cause maybe your cornea too thin for Lasik and have to do Lasek/Epi leh...

you mention about changes in pressure to the eyes. I do frequent travel(work) by plane, will it have any effect if I were to do lasik ?

Shouldn't be an issue. There have been millions of lasik done already, I have never read any report of lasik interfering with commercial travel as a passenger. Moreover, the cabins are pressurized for comfortable travel. It is a different story if you are a fighter pilot.

FuNKySoULyBrO

The CSO did not mention what machine is used at Mt A but he did mention that Novena uses Amaris. He did not mention which model though. The cost at Mt A is also lower than at Novena. How much is the surgery at Mt A? Done by Dr Julian Theng?

I would think that Novena uses the newer machines as it is a newer clinic.

So that is why I though the surgery cost should be around the same if using the same machine/technology. The bigger differences in prices is likely to be due to the use of different technology. Simply looking at the price may not tell the whole story... I could be wrong.

Done by Dr Julian Theng at Mt A. Costs around $3200++ ( after $200 referral discount ). I think the model used in Mt A is the Wavelight EX500, as shown in their website.

steve008

u can check out blogger drea chong blog, she done lasik at clearvision.
But don know whether she is sponsored or not

I have read a couple of these blogs, including hers - the problem is that they are all sponsored by Clearvisoin, so I am unable to get a candid evaluation about Clearvision's experience.

Anyone here considered Clearvision but eventually decided to go for another clinic?

eyz

I read up further on PRK, LASEK and EPI-LASIK.

In the PRK procedures, a brush or blunt instrument will brush off the epithelium after the application of the alcohol.

For LASEK, a surgical tool is to create the epithelial flap and it will be covered back after the laser ablation.

For EPI-LASIK, a blunt blade epithelial separator is used to create the flap. It's covered back after the laser correction.

I think both LASEK and EPI-LASIK are quite similar, just that EPI-LASIK will use a blunt blade device to create the flap, whereas LASEK will use a sharp blade. I think alcohol might be used in either procedures.

The epithelial flap is not similar to the flap created in LASIK, as it is much thinner. I think Dr. Por ever mentioned that in most cases, the epithelial flap is as good as dead, once it is cut. Hence, I think his preferred method would be PRK.

LASEK - Alcohol to removd the epithelium by the doctor

I read up further on PRK, LASEK and EPI-LASIK.

In the PRK procedures, a brush or blunt instrument will brush off the epithelium after the application of the alcohol.

For LASEK, a surgical tool is to create the epithelial flap and it will be covered back after the laser ablation.

For EPI-LASIK, a blunt blade epithelial separator is used to create the flap. It's covered back after the laser correction.

I think both LASEK and EPI-LASIK are quite similar, just that EPI-LASIK will use a blunt blade device to create the flap, whereas LASEK will use a sharp blade. I think alcohol might be used in either procedures.

The epithelial flap is not similar to the flap created in LASIK, as it is much thinner. I think Dr. Por ever mentioned that in most cases, the epithelial flap is as good as dead, once it is cut. Hence, I think his preferred method would be PRK.

Great info!

So are you going for PRK with Dr Por?

I'm inclining to go with him and wanna get mine done before the new year...

Nyan

after reading all the post..

can conclude that EEC, Shingawa and Clearvision prices are the lowest.

anyway how to get the referral name?

was planning to go for no touch epi lasik. any advices?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.