Lastest S$ Deposit updates - Part 3

havetheveryfun

Higher returns with higher risk!!!

Your RM smoking you right in your face
Actually that time i still willing to listen to what he got ..

so he ask me when would be a good time.. i said after work 6 pm or saturday. he keep don't want. ask me weekday timing or during lunch time go to a nearest branch or teams/zoom over lunch time. want make money then expect me to take leave or sacrifice my lunch just to listen to him ?? shouldnt he be the one sacrificing

idiots

To me RMs are obviously not going to be finance whizzes or future Warren Buffetts or else why would they be RMs rather than working in asset management or something. They have a basic foundation in finance but mainly they are trained to sell. It's a tough living :LOL: For our own money, we take our own counsel, of course.
Yah, agree with this...but sometimes they also sell without even understanding the product...i remember got one time they try to sell me a mutual fund...guaranteed 8% dividend annually....they tell me it is their best selling fund...but then i ask them what is the NAV since inception....it has been below issue price ($100) since inception (6-7 years ago)....around $70 to $80...still can tell me it is a good price to buy now since price is low... Sure...you get your 8% dividend...but when time to get back your principle...duno will drop till $30 to $40 anot...

sglandscape

Actually that time i still willing to listen to what he got ..

so he ask me when would be a good time.. i said after work 6 pm or saturday. he keep don't want. ask me weekday timing or during lunch time go to a nearest branch or teams/zoom over lunch time. want make money then expect me to take leave or sacrifice my lunch just to listen to him ?? shouldnt he be the one sacrificing
they're just trying their luck. In this high rates environment, you don't need to buy any fancy products to get decent returns. Unless you're wealthy with collateral you can borrow against, then maybe can optimise it further

zeroX26

Yah, agree with this...but sometimes they also sell without even understanding the product...i remember got one time they try to sell me a mutual fund...guaranteed 8% dividend annually....they tell me it is their best selling fund...but then i ask them what is the NAV since inception....it has been below issue price ($100) since inception (6-7 years ago)....around $70 to $80...still can tell me it is a good price to buy now since price is low... Sure...you get your 8% dividend...but when time to get back your principle...duno will drop till $30 to $40 anot...
That means the guaranteed dividend is probably paying out of the NAV leh.

sohguanh

they're just trying their luck. In this high rates environment, you don't need to buy any fancy products to get decent returns. Unless you're wealthy with collateral you can borrow against, then maybe can optimise it further
Well at least for me the 250k bond is beyond my reach but not to those rich investors. It is capital guaranteed at maturity with the guaranteed yield.

Basically any investment instrument with guaranteed yield but need high initial investment benefit the rich investors immensely as less competition from the normal poor retail investors. The previously concluded Singlife endowment just reenforce that point.

idiots

Well at least for me the 250k bond is beyond my reach but not to those rich investors. It is capital guaranteed at maturity with the guaranteed yield.

Basically any investment instrument with guaranteed yield but need high initial investment benefit the rich investors immensely as less competition from the normal poor retail investors. The previously concluded Singlife endowment just reenforce that point.
To invest into a 250k bond... U need to declare accredited investor status.. That requires 1mn net financial assets or 300k annual income... So it is not readily available for the average citizen...

Singlife endowment doesnt have the above requirement...so it is not a very fair comparison.. And there are also examples where people got it with 50k.

sohguanh

To invest into a 250k bond... U need to declare accredited investor status.. That requires 1mn net financial assets or 300k annual income... So it is not readily available for the average citizen...

Singlife endowment doesnt have the above requirement...so it is not a very fair comparison.. And there are also examples where people got it with 50k.
To me 50k also a lot leh so by my definition it fall under the rich investors realm lor.

Lè Crayons

Can share more about this Singlife endowment plan? What is it about?

sohguanh

idiots

To me 50k also a lot leh so by my definition it fall under the rich investors realm lor.
But to an average citizen... U can't call urself rich if u have 50k...
Can share more about this Singlife endowment plan? What is it about?
It's over already.. It's a limited tranch 4.1% 2 yr endowment policy. Have to apply through agent on a first come first serve basis.. Close 2 hrs after it is open for sign up.

sohguanh

But to an average citizen... U can't call urself rich if u have 50k...
Above is your definition I guess. 50k for one investment instrument is high by my standard. Mine is if possible 100 can buy in liao 😆 50k I can use to buy different investment instrument some endowment some FD some mutual fund some ETF etc. Never all in to any one investment instrument is my motto.

idiots

Above is your definition I guess. 50k for one investment instrument is high by my standard. Mine is if possible 100 can buy in liao 😆 50k I can use to buy different investment instrument some endowment some FD some mutual fund some ETF etc. Never all in to any one investment instrument is my motto.
If you read the news.... people usually renovate their flat for 50k - 80k...by your standard...every sinkie who buys HDB is rich...Even a 2 rm BTO cost this much...And I don't think an average person would call someone who buys a 2 rm BTO rich...

My interpretation would be more in line with the average person....

The endowment policy is insured up to 100k and the return is reasonable...so i don't have an issue with it.

sohguanh

If you read the news.... people usually renovate their flat for 50k - 80k...by your standard...every sinkie who buys HDB is rich...Even a 2 rm BTO cost this much...And I don't think an average person would call someone who buys a 2 rm BTO rich...

My interpretation would be more in line with the average person....

The endowment policy is insured up to 100k and the return is reasonable...so i don't have an issue with it.
You need to know I reaching 55 soon so 50k onwards renovation is high by my standard. So your standard is based on ppl of your same era at least. That is why I emphasize it is my standard.

That endowment is good but the system is implemented badly such that it benefit ppl who put in higher premium per policy despite the minimum set by policy is only 20k. Hence a ballot style like SSB will make it fairer IMHO

idiots

You need to know I reaching 55 soon so 50k onwards renovation is high by my standard. So your standard is based on ppl of your same era at least. That is why I emphasize it is my standard.

That endowment is good but the system is implemented badly such that it benefit ppl who put in higher premium per policy despite the minimum set by policy is only 20k. Hence a ballot style like SSB will make it fairer IMHO
but you need to finetune your standard given that time has changed...there is high inflation now....last time policeman wear shorts 1...now wear pants liao...

There is always room for improvement...but u cannot say those who put in >100k will 100% get it...there is also a luck element where the agent have to be able to login successfully to apply...
I think we have enough discussion on this topic and should move on liao...

zeroX26

but you need to finetune your standard given that time has changed...there is high inflation now....last time policeman wear shorts 1...now wear pants liao...

There is always room for improvement...but u cannot say those who put in >100k will 100% get it...there is also a luck element where the agent have to be able to login successfully to apply...
I think we have enough discussion on this topic and should move on liao...
Don't bother with him lah. He sees things in absolute one. Doesn't know how to toggle btw absolute and relative.

sohguanh

Don't bother with him lah. He sees things in absolute one. Doesn't know how to toggle btw absolute and relative.
That is why got English word generation gap mah. You all can ignore me so no need to bother about me disturb your posts mah. This is a good feature.

Hot2002

yes, if 40k in FD means you will get interest for 40k. 4k in saving bank is under saving account interest rate
any idea if it's limited to any particular saving account ? i am trying to figure out how to apply. once we deposit the 10% into saving account, the FD rate of 3.9% will auto apply ? thanks !

hyperfuse

if just buy $100, i rather not waste time investing to get peanuts.

yes $50k is not much

SDIC already covers $75k, so u can invest $75k for each different platforms.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.