Latest from Kf Seetoh| The socially conscious Timbre Group that manages Yishun Park Hawker Cte ... ...

psyger-zero

Timbre doesn't need to support the discount for the app because hawkers knew when they bidded for stall and would have upped their prices accordingly.

It's exactly because they take 15% of stalls earnings, as opposed to making rent 15% higher as an example, that they have SKIN IN THE GAME and hence there's no need to quantity or qualify or have it in the contract how they are attracting footfall to the location because its IN THEIR INTEREST to do so.

Comprende?
If they are sponsored by govt to run the place,why do they need to up rent by any percent? U mean current base tent no enough? As I said either base rent or profit share,to do both is just plain greedy. Plus if the stall Making losses will timbre share in the losses n collect less than base or no rent? Cannot be 有福同享,但有难不同当?

iantao99

I'm curious on the commotions.
IMHO, it is a simple Offer and Acceptance issue.

It was spelt out clearly in the contract that the provision of free/subsidised meals is required on top of the rent the hawkers are paying.
The hawker can then choose to accept or decline the contract.

If the hawkers sign up with knowledge of the contract requirements, why the hooha now?
Nobody put a knife to their neck to accept mah.
Take it or leave it.
But now accept already then KPKB chu pattern?

It is as good as complaining against a land lord who charges $100k/m for rent.
Rental cost spelt out clearly in contract.
Tenant accept already then can KPKB say rental cost is too high?

Why is "who is responsible for feeding the needy" even a point of discussion?

jq1986

Honestly, the Yishun Park Hawker Centre is really jialat. No crowds. The stall holders burning money.
If the hawker jialat, the operator also jialat, because they take a hit also. Better than if they have absolutely no stake and that's when they really will do nothing.

I_m_limpeh

Historically, hawker food has always been cheap to feed the masses. If you're not willing to sell your food cheap, don't be a hawker. Go open restaurant.

miko66

who managed timbre ?
is any MP involved in the group?

Maybe it's time to relook at whether MPs and Politicians can be directly involved in any company dealing with govt. If it is almost all, then so be it. You want your profits, you dont join politics.

that's y I never believe in politicians..

very successful salesmen instead

just my opinion only

jq1986

If they are sponsored by govt to run the place,why do they need to up rent by any percent? U mean current base tent no enough? As I said either base rent or profit share,to do both is just plain greedy. Plus if the stall Making losses will timbre share in the losses n collect less than base or no rent? Cannot be 有福同享,但有难不同当?
What is 'base rent'. How do you know 'base rent' wouldn't be 15% higher without the 15% profit sharing?

You assume the two are stacked.

psyger-zero

What is 'base rent'. How do you know 'base rent' wouldn't be 15% higher without the 15% profit sharing?

You assume the two are stacked.
how can do both?then the store huat u huat more.the store dont huat u still earn.no matter what u as operator will sure win only hawker risk losing everything.what social enterprise?bs enterprise more like it.

Shutterbox

why can's we have more NTUC Food Centres? And NEA operated food markets and food courts?
You still don't get it?

NEA will outsource hawker centre as much as they can.
They have nothing to gain to run hawker centre, so why not outsource it, and don't get the heat of complaints?

Ayuready?

Should just get rid of all these greedy fat cats. Confiscate their ill-gotten gains and leave their reputation in pieces

JivBunny

15% is ridiculous ...

I think such practice stems from all the malls too in sinkieland if not wrong ... landlords will take a certain percentage from the sales of successful businesses ... anyone can confirm if this were the common practice?

15% is not ridiculous. U shld see some foodcourt where it is as high as 22-24%. Mind you, is 15% of REVENUE, not profit.

Do you know that some of the prime locations like Airport T3, esp the fishball noodles. The revenue can go as high as 6 figures and rental is super high.

jq1986

how can do both?then the store huat u huat more.the store dont huat u still earn.no matter what u as operator will sure win only hawker risk losing everything.what social enterprise?bs enterprise more like it.
Can I give you an example or how profit sharing works in another scenario?

When you work a job, you get X dollars a year. If company makes money and gives bonus Y, then you get X+Y.

When company makes losses does it make you pay back from your salary?

JustForFun

15% is not ridiculous. U shld see some foodcourt where it is as high as 22-24%. Mind you, is 15% of REVENUE, not profit.

Do you know that some of the prime locations like Airport T3, esp the fishball noodles. The revenue can go as high as 6 figures and rental is super high.

Removed the word "Social Enterprise" and rename as "Demon Organisation" ?

Can enlighten also whether political party are linked to these fake "Social Enterprise" ?

All the $$ goes where other than pittance to workers and operation ?

fandango

If the hawker jialat, the operator also jialat, because they take a hit also. Better than if they have absolutely no stake and that's when they really will do nothing.
So who pays who? NEA pays timbre to manage the hawker centre?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.