learning japanese

dimitri_can

Nah..The sensei will give lots and lots of hints and can get above 90 easily :s12:. Seriously. I'm not kidding. Only that I'm not used to their textbook and still have 2 more Int 2 lessons left. Going to jump ship to IKOMA. Lesson begins this fri..:s22:
Pre-Advanced class?

sweet_vanilla

Nah..The sensei will give lots and lots of hints and can get above 90 easily :s12:. Seriously. I'm not kidding. Only that I'm not used to their textbook and still have 2 more Int 2 lessons left. Going to jump ship to IKOMA. Lesson begins this fri..:s22:

which level are u taking?

Ah_keong

my friends will be happy to hear this... :D

woo, welcome to IKOMA!!! u going for intermediate 1?

why ah, the textbook too chim? :D

affa14

my friends will be happy to hear this... :D

woo, welcome to IKOMA!!! u going for intermediate 1?

why ah, the textbook too chim? :D

Yupp. Int 1. The interview was fun :s13: Hmm..not chim but I prefer MNN LoL..To each his own maybe..:p

dimitri_can

dimitriさん>>え?何で私甘いさんに呼ばれてるん?
あの本を買う事できますか?
N2の本もありますか?
dimitriさんは今日本で住んでいるの?

その本が持っていますから、買えます。
N2の本はまだ発行されていません。
シンガポールに住んでおります。

sweet_vanilla

その本が持っていますから、買えます。
N2の本はまだ発行されていません。
シンガポールに住んでおります。
あ~そうですか。。。
日本で買ったんですか?
いいな~

私甘いさんじゃないよ!>。<
私甘いさんと呼ぶな~~

azumangadaioh

When it comes to hints, there is only 1 sensei that will give hints, by right all of them are supposed NOT TO provide any hints. If I am not wrong, this particular sensei even gave hints for oral right ? Oral has 5 parts, and he told the class the topics for 3 parts & mentioned he *forgot* the other 2. Even provided the marking scheme for each category of questions & number of questions.

Textbook I think is non issue, cause you just use it for reference [ also to prevent competitor schools from copying them ], the real gems are in the lessons taught, notes given, and examples provided that are outside the textbook which students have to take down, since senseis have a teaching protocol to follow.

azumangadaioh

thats siong leh...

are the tests difficult?

i have friends interested in going Bunka, so how can i better advise them on bunka sia...

Tests are not difficult PROVIDED you do your revision on everything taught, plus from time to time, there will be short practise tests which are similar to the actual thing for you to gauge what's your performance. Of course, as always, there are people who fail, those that score full marks, and the rest of us that fall in between.

Lessons are on a NEED TO KNOW basis, means at every level they limit the number of words & grammar enough for you to string sentences together and master completely, and at every higher level, they will then add words / grammar accordingly. Not quite like the conventional method most schools teach languages.

Vocabulary is minimised, grammar emphasized, I realised some that join Bunka halfway ( by taking qualifying test ) will think that they don't teach vocabulary. They do teach but only enough for you to maximise using the grammar but thing is why teach us vocabulary when we can learn from a dictionary ourselves ? Where is the value add ?

Anyone can learn that anywhere, but only a Japanese sensei can shows us how they actually use the grammar in Japan ( different meanings by adding 1 or minus 1 word / different meanings for the same sentence under different situations ), or would you rather spend extra 50-60 dollars per course elsewhere only because other schools teach you more vocabuary ?

For me, Bunka cost the least ( saves me the most money ) , takes the least time ( out of every school I checked / 8 weeks at Bunka is the shortest ), every sensei has to follow a fixed method to impart lessons. So even if the sensei himself / herself is below average, the method of teaching basically makes sure that you should be able to at least pass the test if you study the content often.

It's because of this school that I think JLPT2 ( 1st attempt ) is within reach this year, otherwise I will probably be stuck like my friend in another school ( we attended the same basic Japanese class together last Aug ), now he's going for JLPT4 ( 1st attempt also ) this year.

Yes. Please ask them to go to Bunka ! Let me know if you want a list of sensei's names that received good feedback before they sign up.

nash1999

Tests are not difficult PROVIDED you do your revision on everything taught, plus from time to time, there will be short practise tests which are similar to the actual thing for you to gauge what's your performance. Of course, as always, there are people who fail, those that score full marks, and the rest of us that fall in between.

Lessons are on a NEED TO KNOW basis, means at every level they limit the number of words & grammar enough for you to string sentences together and master completely, and at every higher level, they will then add words / grammar accordingly. Not quite like the conventional method most schools teach languages.

Vocabulary is minimised, grammar emphasized, I realised some that join Bunka halfway ( by taking qualifying test ) will think that they don't teach vocabulary. They do teach but only enough for you to maximise using the grammar but thing is why teach us vocabulary when we can learn from a dictionary ourselves ? Where is the value add ?

Anyone can learn that anywhere, but only a Japanese sensei can shows us how they actually use the grammar in Japan ( different meanings by adding 1 or minus 1 word / different meanings for the same sentence under different situations ), or would you rather spend extra 50-60 dollars per course elsewhere only because other schools teach you more vocabuary ?

For me, Bunka cost the least ( saves me the most money ) , takes the least time ( out of every school I checked / 8 weeks at Bunka is the shortest ), every sensei has to follow a fixed method to impart lessons. So even if the sensei himself / herself is below average, the method of teaching basically makes sure that you should be able to at least pass the test if you study the content often.

It's because of this school that I think JLPT2 ( 1st attempt ) is within reach this year, otherwise I will probably be stuck like my friend in another school ( we attended the same basic Japanese class together last Aug ), now he's going for JLPT4 ( 1st attempt also ) this year.

Yes. Please ask them to go to Bunka ! Let me know if you want a list of sensei's names that received good feedback before they sign up.

But I thought you cannot choose which sensei to teach you?

King Pikachu

Sorry but where does ur friend studies? No offence but Bunka sound too good to be true that it seems that their patent teaching method makes other schools seem sub-par in terms of their teaching in grammar and vocabulary:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.