learning japanese

XasakuraX

haha. will get my fren to go with to reg after exams. thz for ur offer thou =)

actually i still waiting for my fren's ans whether he wanna learn anot, if he is not learning, i might take the placement test.

there is no more wkend classes? i tot there is one starting 13 dec de? i was sort of decided on that liao. places filled up le ar?

azumangadaioh

haha. will get my fren to go with to reg after exams. thz for ur offer thou =)

actually i still waiting for my fren's ans whether he wanna learn anot, if he is not learning, i might take the placement test.

there is no more wkend classes? i tot there is one starting 13 dec de? i was sort of decided on that liao. places filled up le ar?

I told you so... The only way to find out if there is any more place left for dec 13 is to visit the school and ask them at the counter. Usually if there is 1 or 2 place left, they will update the website first, and will not tell you over the phone [ if there are any places left, in case they think you are looking for group signups ], like what if they tell 9 other people like you that there is 1 place left, who should they give the place to ?

Therefore normally they will only tell those who go to the counter and ask. And hold the place for those who pay. If you are not able to pay on the spot immediately, you can request to have them hold the place for you [ usually max few days ], after that will release it to the next person who is able to pay and sign up.

Still want to call instead of going there ? Make sure you mention you are only signing up for 1 person, see if they can squeeze you in.

XasakuraX

ic. my frens pangseh me liao. haha. when i cfm the time n sch they now dun wan to learn le =.=

like tt then i think i will take placement test liao. most prob revise le then go n take. like tt dun think will be in time for the dec class. will go down the sch see see and finalise after i back from holiday then.

haha. cos u said no more wkend classes now but i see the website got so tot they nvr update the website.

bunka de placement test long mah? any idea wat is the format?

azumangadaioh

ic. my frens pangseh me liao. haha. when i cfm the time n sch they now dun wan to learn le =.=

like tt then i think i will take placement test liao. most prob revise le then go n take. like tt dun think will be in time for the dec class. will go down the sch see see and finalise after i back from holiday then.

haha. cos u said no more wkend classes now but i see the website got so tot they nvr update the website.

bunka de placement test long mah? any idea wat is the format?

Prefer to go alone to sign up for classes instead, if not, I wait for you, you wait for me, something happens, this person cannot come, that person cannot pay, everyone's time are wasted.

Sorry didn't scroll down and seen more. Weekend classes are listed separately from weekday classes. Yes. The dec 13 is still listed, but I don't think you want to take chances. Call them up and find out how many places left.

Here are some details of Ele1 Placement test again [ as I posted them in my earlier posts already ]

- 1 hour to finish

- 3 pages

- on 1st page there is a table of conjugation to fill [ screw this up and you are better off starting from Ele1, because you don't have the foundation to survive Ele2, even if you get the rest of the paper all correct ]

- some fill in the blanks [ particles ]

- some mcq [ circle correct response ]

- some mix and match questions [ match correct answers to questions on 2 columns ]

- translation questions [ written translation of English sentences into Japanese ] [ if you get mostly wrong you are better off signing up Ele1 also ]

- test is FREE

- you can RETAKE the test until you are too paiseh to retake

- you can ask the sensei who marked your paper to explain to you what & why were the answers that you got it wrong [ it's FREE also ]

- exactly what type of questions, how many questions, what topics, sorry, I guess you have to take the test to find out, wouldn't be fun if I tell you everything...

unfinished07

Don't bullsh1t! People say there are no differences in tones for Japanese language.
Someone might come correct you. :s13:

PS: I am not from any Singapore Japanese community.

got difference in tones for dialects leh.....heh heh.

unfinished07

i see.. because my friend once told me usually translator not only translate everyday common words but technical jargons as well...
finance jargons, science jargons, economic jargons, medical jargons etc...

Tough sia... :D

yah....translating everyday common words are easy, problems are with the technical jargons. either you are correct or wrong, coz u can't use other words to substitute.

doing interpretation is even much more tough....

Ah_keong

yah....translating everyday common words are easy, problems are with the technical jargons. either you are correct or wrong, coz u can't use other words to substitute.

doing interpretation is even much more tough....

yup, conference interpretators / translators is of no joke...
so think thrice before being one...

"this advice is brought to everyone from my friend" :D

unfinished07

yup, conference interpretators / translators is of no joke...
so think thrice before being one...

"this advice is brought to everyone from my friend" :D

yeah, example, interpretation in front of the management and board of directors of 2 companies is damn tough and stressful....

Ah_keong

yeah, example, interpretation in front of the management and board of directors of 2 companies is damn tough and stressful....

yah, fierce....
my friend say after his first trial, he like smoke 5 sticks one shot....
super stress... :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.