learning japanese

PaulKami

Hi all..

Juz completed Int 4 lessons at Bunka.. Now on waiting list for Pre-Advanced 1... Have enrolled for JLPT3.. But somehow, have a feeling, Im not gonna make it -.-..

Haha.. In any case, would like to know if anyone had signed up for bunka JLPT prep classes? Cant seem to find any class schedule for that on their webby :s11:

Their prep class is from june to july... it's too late to sign up for one now...

ANyway, JLPT is about a month away, all the best

Clarity

did u try 2 do some past year papers for JLPT 3 and pit ur skills against it??

how 2 u fare? else in 2 months time, u need a kind of intensive course sia 2 pass... :D

Ha.. I tried the vocab section, seems ok. The grammar section however, not so good... :s22:

Clarity

Their prep class is from june to july... it's too late to sign up for one now...

ANyway, JLPT is about a month away, all the best

Ah... the prep class is so early? :( Looks like can only self study liao...

Hmm, are there any places that still have prep class for JLPT that have yet to start?

ender51244

Hopefully.. I have a list of grammar points for JLPT3, and somehow, seems that alot of the points listed dun look familar :s22:

it may sound totally boring but ... practice is the only way of getting a pass. it is just that the methods are different... whether it is the school drilling you or you drilling yourself.

maybe you want to go kino or some bookshop to buy practice books and start doing ? considering it is nearly the end of the october, you only have around 1 month left.

ganbatte ne.

and if you have any questions, you can post it there... we will try to help you.

Ha.. I tried the vocab section, seems ok. The grammar section however, not so good... :s22:

ahhhh same here. thinking of hiring a tutor to clarify many of the things that I dun understand in the grammar and reading part. cuz not enough time in class to ask sensei qns. since ikoma is so good, can consider gg for their Jlpt prep course. It starts late, such as Nov (but that will be twice a week).

edit: hey im in bunka too! :))))

My wife and I are thinking about signing up Japanese classes since now she just quitted her job, and got lots of spare time. Both of us are in love with Japanese culture and often dreamed of living in Japan.

I'm currently working in an investment bank, and quite possibly that I can be posted to Japan in years to come (not for now, as finance market is in a turmoil). Although Japanese is not a must in working in Tokyo investment bank branch, having minimal command of Japanese will be advantageous.

Which school would you recommend to us? From what I gathered from this thread, there are 3 schools I will consider

1. Ikoma
2. JCS
3. Bunka

As my work schedule is quite hectic, I just worried that I might not be able to catch up with Ikoma's pace. From what I read here, their 1st lesson is already quite challenging.

I'm considering JCS, as their lessons are slower, and give me more time to digest. I must say I'm a slow learner when come to foreign language, I have stayed in Thailand for 2 years, and can't really hold a decent Thai conversation.

How's about Bunka? Their website looks quite impressive.

Any recommendation is welcome.

If your work is hectic, go for JCS. They take one month to cover each chapter. Bunka is more for colloquial use, so if you are going to need it as a businessman, master the polite form first. And its quite rushed through, doesn't cover all that is needed to learn in JLPT. But I like the synthesis and transformation style for their grammar. Yo can absorb better rather than filling in the blanks. Ikoma im not sure. I think you should go for JCS or Hougang Japanese School. Hougang is cheaper and goes through basics thoroughly.

ahmahippo

hi all, whic jap school to choose for new beginer? hope someone could intro me.

ender51244

hi all, whic jap school to choose for new beginer? hope someone could intro me.

start with JCS first ba. registration is on one sunday in december. can check for registration date on JCS website or call up the school to ask @ 63383428 or 63388964. if you start to get real serious about completing your japanese studies (means clearing JLPT 1) then you can consider moving to Hougang Japanese school or ikoma.

no offence to you, but during my years as studying japanese, i have seen too many people dropping out of classes at mid-term, where grammar parts comes into studies and people find it hard to absorb (its different from chinese and english). this leads to low morale and eventually quitting the class because lessons seemed too daunting for them.

so my advice is start with classes that are more simple and cheap, and when you get really serious about studying japanese and completing the whole course, move into schools that are more pro (and of course, more expensive).

ender51244

don't worry. she's under my 指導。 shdn't be a prob to pass. =)

ハハハ・・・生徒も一人?やりますね~
どんどん忙しくなってきた。
受験の方も、頑張ってください。
今回は本当に合格するように、ね~ 

ender51244

ahhhh same here. thinking of hiring a tutor to clarify many of the things that I dun understand in the grammar and reading part. cuz not enough time in class to ask sensei qns. since ikoma is so good, can consider gg for their Jlpt prep course. It starts late, such as Nov (but that will be twice a week).

edit: hey im in bunka too! :))))

is is really that bad to be a tutor ? hmm~ which level of JLPT are you attempting this year ?

then maybe you might want to ask your sensei during the break or after class. i'm sure sensei would help you out with it.

dimitri_can

そうそう。生徒じゃなくて、ただ先輩です。

ありがとうございます。そうですね。。。難しいですね。。

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.