learning japanese

ender51244

lol~

for certain cases, i will give the full explanation to clear things up. afterall, the understand of certain Japanese words ain't that easy... i guess people will think "why can't you 'see' a conversation?" or similiar stuff... so i will just briefly explain to them.

i will use "けど" only on causal conversation... with friends and so on. but with teachers and writing, i will stick to "が", just to play safe. coz my teachers give a lot of restrictions...

on one note though... i will probably stop posting after i got sick and tired. but for now, i will just post something everyday... haha~ there's a lot to learn mah~ *anyway, most of my pro-japanese friends i know dun use this forum... so its still more like a "mini" community when it comes to Japanese. and some of them are... well, didn't come across this page. so if u dun feel like posting, you can stop too. no one is bounding you. *opps~ did i sound too harsh ? eto.. i didn't mean it to be this way...>_<*

ShougunX

hahaa no no. I'm perfectly fine. I'll be posting sumthin here n there too everyday.

just noticed sumthin, the usage of えっと (etto) which some ppl may not know. Most non-japanese learners are familiar with the usage of あの (ano)...>>which means nuthin in particular. Just to show that u are thinking of sumthin or the hokkien equivalent of Ehhh...or Err.....

Some other common words which means nuthin but to show a degree of emotion.

あらあら/あらっ a ra a ra/a ra >> to show surprise (more common in negative perspective). More common in old japanese.

あれ? a re? >> also to show surprise. more prominent in modern japanese.

へー! he--!! (not pronounced as 'He' as in the english he, but erm...sumthin like prawn in hokkien, hei) >> to show surprise n amusement

ふふふ fu fu fu >> this is not common. brought to fashion by japanese comics. a laughin expression

ender51244

ふふふ fu fu fu & へー! he--!!

these are my most common expressions in MSN. hahaha~
quite good to use... hee~

ender51244

opps! gomen... forgot to post my input for friday.

then... i will post my input for friday, saturday & sunday.

"何だ?もんかあるか" (nanda? mon ka aru ka)
---> means "Do you have a problem (with that)?"

This is often used to express your anger and obviously the tone of this won't be nice. it is used with males. ladies will use "~もんですか?" instead.

*note: "何" does not mean "what" in this case. It is being said to express annoyance or resistence from speaker.

"けんかを売っているの?"
---> means "Do you want to fight/quarrel (with me)?"
or literally, "Do you want to sell a fight?"

its a very interesting way to describe this phrase. hee~ no one uses "I bought a fight." though. If you quarrelled with someone else (and you are not the one who started it), what people normally say is ... "I was sold a fight"

~明ける (~akeru)
---> means the end of something (which is denoted by "~")

for example:
梅雨が明ける (tsuyu ga akeru) = end of the June's rainy season (which means its SUMMER)
年が明ける (toshi ga akeru) = end of the year (which means NEW YEAR)
夜が明ける (yoru ga akeru) = end of the night / dusk (which means DAWN)

and of course, one of the most commonly used:
新年明けまして、おめでとう!(shin nen akemashi-te, omedetou) = Happy New Year !

ShougunX

hee hee...wkends still so hardworking ah ender? heh. k k, i mus also contribute sumthin:

なんか文句 (もんく)があるか? [nanka monku ga aru ka?]

>> similar to もんかあるか. Hmm...i'm thinking whether もんかあるか was confused with もんくがあるか.....
Anyway the meaning is, u have a problem?/U have any complaints?

文句 = complaints

next,

多種多様 (ta shu ta you)
>> mean a variety or aka the chinese idiom 各式各樣/包羅萬象

多種多様な運動用具がある (ta shu ta you na undou yougu ga aru)
-->> variety of sports equipment.

ender51244

hee~ 貴方、やっぱり凄いよ~

yeah lor... since ur post say everyday. then must give input everyday mah. My exposure to Japanese is also everyday...with songs, bangumis, radio shows and so on.

if not, how could i managed to even speak simple Japanese with only after 3 years of study ? my friends are all struggling to listen to what the teacher is teaching (coz she spoke in simple japanese) and can't even speak a single phrase properly. Of course, its nothing compared to a NUS Japanese studies student. I have such friends who are much much better than me in Japanese. Of course they are hardworking and studies full time... but consider me being a part-time student, i have to work hard at these areas too.

ShougunX

no no, i'm considered a late starter. Had wasted too much time in between. Has not been consistent. haiz...haha. but well, at least i'm continuing.

Progress in japanese depends veri much on ur interest level. So what if it's NUS Japanese studies student? They study more on japanese culture/thoughts/economy etc. language wise, if u are diligent on ur own in private schs, i believe u can progress better than them. I've seen ppl banking on the Japanese Studies major based on pure interest but struggle with the language modules. So, dun look down on urself. I'm not a japanese major myself, but i consider myself on par in terms of language proficiency n even secure a job at a japanese firm dealing with japanese accounts.

Anyway, today's input:

首 [くび] (kubi) -- literally means "neck" but in this case, means 'fired (from job)'
>>仕事にすごくやばい事をしちゃって、結局社長に首された

(shigoto ni sugoku yabai koto wo shichatte, kekkyoku shachou ni kubisareta)

>>Having done somethin extremely bad at work, I was fired by my boss (CEO) in the end.

ender51244

i'm not exactly looking down on myself. its just that... i'm not good enough and that's a fact. of course, i'm trying to learn everyday too, to improve myself.

ender51244

my input for Monday & Tuesday:

"全ては計算どおり" (subete wa keisan doori)
---> means everything is going as planned.

"腹を立てる" (hara wo tate ru)
---> means to get angry. literal meaning is "stomach standing up"

PingJun

estrella82 said:
Hi everyone, it's great to find this forum here! I'm currently studying Basic Level 2 japanese at Ikoma. Haf been there for about 2 months or so, and I really like it there. The teachers there are quite young, and they do speak some english, though not very much. The class size is about 8-18 pple, depending on which day you choose. Weekend classes are usually quite packed.

Each lesson is 3 hours long, and is usually broken into 3 parts, with a 5 - 10 min break in between. During the first part, the teacher will chit-chat with you, ask you what you have done over the weekend etc... then revise the main points from the previous week. In the second and third parts, new material will be covered. The lessons are generally quite interactive, usually we will practice conversations in pairs or threes. The textbook Ikoma uses is Minna no Nihongo. One lesson in the textbook is usually covered in 2/ 2.5 lessons. Well, personally I find it a bit slow, but I think this duration gives ample time for you to fully digest the material.

I'm thinking of taking JLPT 4 at the end of this year, after I finish the entire basic course. But dunno if I'll be ready for it. Dun intend to take any JLPT preparation classes, since it's rather expensive. So... anyone has any advise?

Hi. Basically, I am deciding whether to take Japanese lessons in Ikoma or JCS.

Have been to both places, take brochures & find out the info on the courses.

For Ikoma, how many lessons for a term? Also, At the end of the term, have exam?

Oh yeah, does your Jap teacher give you a Japanese name?

khaos83

my teacher translated the "sound" of the names for the whole class.
pretty lame imo ... lol funny actually

PingJun

I see.

When I studied Japanese in Poly, the teacher gave me a Japanese name

ender51244

PingJun said:
I see.

When I studied Japanese in Poly, the teacher gave me a Japanese name
oh? what would that be ?

actually... one could give oneself a japanese name. many of my friends do that. :D

ender51244

eeto... my input for Wednesday & Thursday:

"腹を割る" (hara wo waru)
---> means to be honest

"問答無用" (mondou muyou)
---> means to crap / say something completely useless.

Haonan

yoos minna! ok I shall write some of my amateur japanese here also, since ender jioed me, haha. ふふふふふ!

my input for today and tomorrow:

近日の想い (kinjitsu no omoi)
- meaning: my recent thoughts

ゼンゼン大丈夫 (zen zen daijoubu)
- meaning: really, it's alright or fine.

私に応援して下さい (watashi ni ouen****e kudasai)
- meaning: please support or help me.

今日髪切ってきました (kyou wa kami kitte kimashi ta)
- meaning: today, I had a haircut.

That's all for now. ^^ minna, kochira koso ne.

PingJun

Hi, all.

I have been closely reading this thread many times, & finally I have decide to learn my Japanese either from JCS, Ikoma or Bunka.

However, I have been considering for some times, been to the schools (except Bunka which I will pay a visit later) & have asked some questions. But I still cannot decide which to go.

Anyone who study in there can give some advice?

v1hypersg

JCS have to wait until every beginning and middle of the year when they conduct classes either for 1 year period or 6 months period,

currently studying there since june for their intensive elementary class, quite good, 6 months, twice a week lesson

but might recommend to take the normal classes which last for 1 year and is held once a week, not so shiong

i think JCS will be more detailed in their teaching as to complete their entire course, it take 5 years, while most schools, if you continue one stage after the other, you should be able to complete in 2 or 3 years time,

but again i am guessing as i only look up the information on the internet and also only attended bunka for their elementary lesson only, and my conclusion is based on these experience only

if you want JLPT cert for work or study in japan next time,

and you have time, maybe JCS,

but if you want to have it in shortest possible time, maybe have to try most other schools,

i hope i am helping and not confusing anyone here, cheers

PingJun

Since young, I really want to learn this language.

Finally, on my 1st yr of poly, I took up this lang as 3rd language. However, it last only for a yr. Now that I finally have time, I decide to learn again.

So, you may say that I learn this because of interest.

I also wish to take JLPT (not this yr, of course) not because I want to work or study or live in Japan, but because I want to know how well / bad I have progress / understand this language.

The reason I want to ask more detailed as I do not want to waste $$ & time going to the wrong school. Hope you all don't mind.

PingJun

This afternoon, I have went to Bunka. However, I can only find their classrooms but not admin office. As a result, I left the place without able to ask / enquiry anything.

I went to Ikoma (3rd time) again for more detailed info. It seems that the class (part-time) opened in Aug are full. Thus, I am now on the waiting list.

I understand that JCS course are either 5 yrs or 4 yrs (Basic 1/2 yr; intermediate 1/2 yr). Is the whole course for Ikoma 5 yrs as well?

Oh, btw, does JCS also provide extra notes other than the textbook?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.