learning japanese

joy883

yup i went v early to queue...

think its cheap n its a proper sch, so alot ppl wan.. i tried cc n commerical sch... bad exp.. they always not enuff students to start class.. keep postponing.. affected my schedules n learnin process.. everytime stop too long, i always restart... this is my 4th time taking elementary.. =///////// hope to study it right to the end this time round..

jcs thread @ JCS japanese classes.. support leh.. heh..

PingJun said:
You manage to register? I went there but the queue was simply too long......

Think I will register in other schools.......

mamoo82

natsuko said:
I just finished my intermediate one at bunka. I called up Pyaess and the staff said I could go to elementary 4 class. But I noticed that the number of study hours required to prepare for JLPT3 at bunka is 144 hours, whereas 150 hours at Pyaess. So I wonder I can cope with elementary 4 class, or should I goto elementary 3 class?
one of my classmate transferred from bunka to pyaess. She just completed her intermediate 2 at bunka and is doing elementary 3 at pyaess. she doesnt have any difficulties at all so i doubt you will experience any too.

alvinaloy said:
Intermediate 1 ah? Ok lah. Only 1 is damn siong. After that, 2, 3 and 4 are much much more relaxed. So don't worry.

As for Pyaess, I don't know of anyone studying there but I heard a teacher who used to teach in Bunka had quit and joined Pyaess...... And this teacher hor...... well...... Those good looking boys better be careful lor ;) And oh, she's obasan pattern one. Heh...
i know which sensei u r referring to. she's teaching me right now.

mamoo82

raffy06 said:
By the way Mamoo82, you said you are enrolled at pyaess now right? What do they mean by their 2-year courses? Over how many weeks is Level 1 & 2 held?
I'm not sure about that cos i never asked them. anyway, i'm still at the elementary courses. but what i guess is that to be proficient in level 1 and 2, the course for each level will take 2 years c.a. 10 terms of 10 weeks.

natsuko said:
But I am a slow learner and my enviroment also lack of jap ppl. So I was thinking would it be good I stop for a month. Do my own revision then start again. any comments.

does Pyaess give more notes and examples? Bunka has rather little. And I need to spend a lot of time figure out my self.
i guess the best is to find people and practice. it's all about practising. Pyaess does gives notes maybe about 2-3 sheets for each lesson. As for examples, the sensei tends to use examples that affects/concerns us so that we can understand better. You can always come down to the school and see how the classes are conducted and talk to Ms Chong.

rokugo

natsuko said:
So I wonder I can cope with elementary 4 class, or should I goto elementary 3 class?

A proper/serious language school will have a placement test or at least have a sensei interview you to gauge your current level. The student shouldnt be the one deciding which level to join.

Its best that you ask for the test or interview.

rokugo

raffy06 said:
Hmm, I think I should just do self-study for JLPT4 and see how it goes. But I foresee one problem: where can I find the syllabus covered for JLPT4 in order not to study off-track?

The JLPT is just one test (there are others) for Japanese "proficiency", its not really a good guide for learning the language itself.

There are many problems with self-study but if you really want to, obviously you need proper textbooks. Get either Minna No Nihongo or Nihongo No Kiso. These are two very popular series used by JP language schools all over the world.
For example, Minna No Nihongo's Elementary Level has 2 volumes, by the end of which you "should" be able to pass JLPT4.
I say "should" because the Listening section of the JLPT will be a hurdle esp for self-studiers...

PingJun

joy883 said:
yup i went v early to queue...

think its cheap n its a proper sch, so alot ppl wan.. i tried cc n commerical sch... bad exp.. they always not enuff students to start class.. keep postponing.. affected my schedules n learnin process.. everytime stop too long, i always restart... this is my 4th time taking elementary.. =///////// hope to study it right to the end this time round..

jcs thread @ JCS japanese classes.. support leh.. heh..

What time you went there?

Me not JCS student..... Can go to jcs thread & discuss??? :D :D

PingJun

mamoo82 said:
I'm not sure about that cos i never asked them. anyway, i'm still at the elementary courses. but what i guess is that to be proficient in level 1 and 2, the course for each level will take 2 years c.a. 10 terms of 10 weeks.

i guess the best is to find people and practice. it's all about practising. Pyaess does gives notes maybe about 2-3 sheets for each lesson. As for examples, the sensei tends to use examples that affects/concerns us so that we can understand better. You can always come down to the school and see how the classes are conducted and talk to Ms Chong.

Does Pyaess give lots of notes?

melovemanga

raffy06 said:
Hmm, I think I should just do self-study for JLPT4 and see how it goes. But I foresee one problem: where can I find the syllabus covered for JLPT4 in order not to study off-track?

By the way Mamoo82, you said you are enrolled at pyaess now right? What do they mean by their 2-year courses? Over how many weeks is Level 1 & 2 held?
Hello there.I suggest that it's better for you to self study for JLPT 4.It is very easy,unless you really revise once in a blue moon,and I do it sometimes.XD

Some websites are much more useful than books available in Kinokuniya or anywhere else.You can always search the website for the updated syllabus covered in JLPT 4.(don't get the ones which aren't updated...).There are TONS of websites dedicated to the JLPT,so you shouldn't find a problem finding one.Here,lemme give you a headstart: http://www.manythings.org/japanese/
Or you could try: http://www.jgram.org/

These are just some of the websites available on the internet.The rest is for you to figure out for yourself.XD Hope I helped!

barbie274

alvinaloy said:
If you are looking to know more about the various forms, look no further than Bunka. They'll teach you about the different forms from day 1 of their elementary 1 (or at least day 2 or 3 ;))

Anyway, here's the link to the free dictionary for PPC:
http://www.mikejohnson.dsl.pipex.com/CEStuff/

The edict dictionary file (in zip)
http://ftp.monash.edu.au/pub/nihongo/edict.zip

The enamdict dictionary file (in gz)
http://ftp.monash.edu.au/pub/nihongo/enamdict.gz
thank you, take a look when I'm home. Found a jap native tutor. ^^ Expensive.. o_O. maybe ask school sensei got any more recommendation in case this one not good~~

hmm...always admire those who self-study...LOL~~ though seems like i does for JLPT exam since i skipped a lot during lesson. ~~

BoringStuff

goin for the intermediate qualifying test at JCS today... can some guys here giv some tips what qns they will give.
me frm inter 4 bunka last time.. already return to teacher what i learn liao..

raffy06

melovemanga said:
Hello there.I suggest that it's better for you to self study for JLPT 4.It is very easy,unless you really revise once in a blue moon,and I do it sometimes.XD

Some websites are much more useful than books available in Kinokuniya or anywhere else.You can always search the website for the updated syllabus covered in JLPT 4.(don't get the ones which aren't updated...).There are TONS of websites dedicated to the JLPT,so you shouldn't find a problem finding one.Here,lemme give you a headstart: http://www.manythings.org/japanese/
Or you could try: http://www.jgram.org/

These are just some of the websites available on the internet.The rest is for you to figure out for yourself.XD Hope I helped!
Oooh! Melovemanga, thanks alot! I love manga + anime haha

natsuko

Mamoo82,

Thank you very much for your advice. I will visit Pyaess these few days.

The lady who answered the phone said there isn't any test, but I will check with the staff there on what they have taught in Ele 1 to 3.

PingJun

natsuko said:
Mamoo82,

Thank you very much for your advice. I will visit Pyaess these few days.

The lady who answered the phone said there isn't any test, but I will check with the staff there on what they have taught in Ele 1 to 3.

You want to study in Pyaess? I am thinking of studying there as well. :D :D

mamoo82

PingJun said:
Does Pyaess give lots of notes?
about 2-3 sheets of notes per lesson. it depends.

wahpiang said:
Hey i'm interested in Pyaess,but i don't know when is the registration for basic?
there's no registration date. if u r interested, just call them and ask when's the next class and they'll try to slot u into the best dates.

natsuko said:
if you have the textbook minna no nihongo (asian edition) chapter 1-30 is taught in elementary 1 to 3. they use this text and the translation & grammatical notes to aid in the explaination.

nnskage

VH2006 said:
For the seniors who watched taiga drama 大河ドラマ, do any of these shows adopt a more classical speech pattern as compared with the modern Japanese drama series?
they tend to mix old japanese with modern japanese way of speaking, and viewers generally know what they are talking about because japanese students are required to study 古文 in school ^^

nnskage

PingJun said:
This is not what I mean. What i mean is, how to pronounce it like 800 or 600 in Japanese Lang, when it is a small "tsu" ( つ ) ?

Quite difficult for me to hear the sound like ropyaku or roppyaku as they sound familiar.
ojamashimasu!
since i couldnt sleep i might as well post something ^^;;
as you might already have known, a small tsu when romanised to english takes the consonant of the syllable that comes after it.

eg:
きっぷ (kippu)
ちょっと (chotto)
るっさい (russai)
ろっぴゃく (roppyaku)
hence it is called a double consonant.

Each syllable when you're speaking is called a mora, and in japanese, every mora is assigned with equal length. So in the fake word you mentioned, ropyaku has 3 mora. and the real word, roppyaku has 4 (including the small tsu) When you are pronouncing it, try counting it by tapping your palm as you say each "sound" to get the feel. Once you get the hang of it, you will be able to differentiate ^^

And when pronouncing a double consonant, you give it (pp, tt, ss, etc) a mora's worth of pause, making a stop in your throat, closing your lip (for pp) without emitting any sound. (NOT lengthening the previous kana's vowel!) (ok.. sounds technical.. but if you try, you'll get the meaning of what's "making a stop within your throat"...)

Remember always to go through the clapping method. And double consonant is not lengthening a sound, that would be a long vowel instead.

(PS: Long vowels also pose a problem to some students.. Consider this: in english whether you say "it's cold" or it's "coooooooold", it doesnt change the meaning, dragging the vowel simply emphasizes the word cold. But in japanese, "toukyou da" (long vowel; it's tokyo) is not the same as "tokkyo da" (double consonant, no long vowel; it's a patent) (some random example i thought of..)

nnskage

there was something about dictionaries and somebody suggested (gomen, i can't remember who ;_;) the yahoo online dictionary.. i want to suggest 2 more: goo and alc's online dictionary. Sometimes, goo gives better hits. and many a time words that couldnt be found in other online dictionary can be found in alc ^^

And as for electronic dictionary..
The recommended brands are:
1. Casio
2. Canon
(and Seiko might come in the 3rd place)
Sharp and Sony(!) are *not* that good

But if let's say certain models of Casio and Sony are based on the same dictionaries, i don't see what's the difference.. You might want to try playing around with them and see the ease-of-use before buying ^^v

xxxx

And then there's this issue about which school to join for japanese lesson..
I have a good friend who studies in JCS.
From what i know, they don't do much interactions in class (too big?) (he didn't speak very well, sad to say..)
The notes he has look like they're recycled from 50 years ago, with typo included(!) (they can't be bothered to change it?)
And horror of horrors, he is already going to advance class (i think) but i look at his homework.. they are in strings of... hiragana.. >_<; He couldnt link kanji he saw/come across to what he learnt in class. It is like you're in primary 6 and you're using hanyu pinyin to do your homework.. You can speak, but when you see it you can't read it coz your brain doesn't make any link to it. I don't know if that's the teaching method of JCS (not teaching kanji properly?) or not but it did give me the impression that it is heh!

(Or maybe it's just his class that's like this, i dont know :O)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.