learning japanese

unfinished07

1 yr++ is possible.
i had frns passed jlpt2 on their first try, after taking full time lessons for less than 1 yr. then the following year, passed their jlpt1. time taken, 1 yr++

joy883

1 yr++ is possible.
i had frns passed jlpt2 on their first try, after taking full time lessons for less than 1 yr. then the following year, passed their jlpt1. time taken, 1 yr++
i heard of ppl stay in japan 6mths can speak v well liao, n there r courses where u study in japan for a yr, u will get jlpt 1 alr! so long u hav the time n money, sure dekimasu =D

tmxistz

Your last point confirmed what i thought.
Lidat 1 year...yes possible.

I didn't know got that such lucrative japan uni scholarship in existence.Else i would also give it a shot.T.T.

haha if you know where to look there is. if you are between age 17-22 you can apply for the monbukagakusho scholarship by MEXT : Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology. it has the option of 1 year prep study of language and subjects before going uni or you can skip that(if you power enough) after which you apply and take exams for various japanese uni suited for your level. bond free also. the best scholarship to go japan. unless of course you are a psc scholar in which case its exactly the same scholarship but with bond. reason being monbukagakusho was supposedly offered through psc only until last year when they open applications to the public, i tried too but didn't go through the exam round to the interviews. very competitive, application usually starts in july. can go japanese embassy website for more info

Ah_keong

Your last point confirmed what i thought.
Lidat 1 year...yes possible.

I didn't know got that such lucrative japan uni scholarship in existence.Else i would also give it a shot.T.T.

yah loh, i would have applied also... instead of studying in singapore.... haiz...
but the requirements quite tough...

joy883

haha if you know where to look there is. if you are between age 17-22 you can apply for the monbukagakusho scholarship by MEXT : Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology. it has the option of 1 year prep study of language and subjects before going uni or you can skip that(if you power enough) after which you apply and take exams for various japanese uni suited for your level. bond free also. the best scholarship to go japan. unless of course you are a psc scholar in which case its exactly the same scholarship but with bond. reason being monbukagakusho was supposedly offered through psc only until last year when they open applications to the public, i tried too but didn't go through the exam round to the interviews. very competitive, application usually starts in july. can go japanese embassy website for more info
y so discriminating.. 17-22 =.=''''''''''''''

Ah_keong

hmm... but my friends are from 24 - 26... and majority of them go there for masters...

Ah_keong

i heard of ppl stay in japan 6mths can speak v well liao, n there r courses where u study in japan for a yr, u will get jlpt 1 alr! so long u hav the time n money, sure dekimasu =D

wah!! when is my turn!!!

Nihon ni Ikitai!!!

himuro_shosuke

y so discriminating.. 17-22 =.=''''''''''''''

That one is for full undergrad course in Japan.
The one I went was the Monbukagakusho (MEXT) Scholarship for Japanese Studies Student. Come to think of it, the selection criteria was extremely stringent.

First of all, your CAP in NUS must be between 4.0-5.0 and be active in CCA to be considered as likely candidate. After submitting application, you will have to go through a scholarship selection panel made up of 3-4 professors doctors etc. including department head. Depending on the result of the interview, NUS will sent not more than 5 candidates to the Japan Embassy.

From there, it is only the beginning. The candidates sent by NUS will have to take the proficiency test by Japan's Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science, and Technology, as well as face another scholarship selection panel at the Embassy made up of some big shots. This is worst than JLPT 1 as the test also has written components and short essays, unlike JLPT where you can 'ti kam', and everything, including the interview, is conducted in Japanese.

After that, your application will be send to Japan for further considerations and you will be notified by NUS if you are selected.

That was the process I had to go through to land myself in Japan.
The money was good and the experience was priceless. I managed to pay most of my university school fee with the money I saved from the scholarship.

joy883

The one I went was the Monbukagakusho (MEXT) Scholarship for Japanese Studies Student. Come to think of it, the selection criteria was extremely stringent.

First of all, your CAP in NUS must be between 4.0-5.0 and be active in CCA to be considered as likely candidate. After submitting application, you will have to go through a scholarship selection panel made up of 3-4 professors doctors etc. including department head. Depending on the result of the interview, NUS will sent not more than 5 candidates to the Japan Embassy.

From there, it is only the beginning. The candidates sent by NUS will have to take the proficiency test by Japan's Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science, and Technology, as well as face another scholarship selection panel at the Embassy made up of some big shots. This is worst than JLPT 1 as the test also has written components and short essays, unlike JLPT where you can 'ti kam', and everything, including the interview, is conducted in Japanese.

After that, your application will be send to Japan for further considerations and you will be notified by NUS if you are selected.

The money was good and the experience was priceless. I managed to pay most of my university school fee with the money I saved from the scholarship.

SUGOIIIIIIIIIIIIIII!!!!!
zzzzzzzzzzzzzz... i think i can die off from the interviews sia...................

Adventia

Most scholarships will be competitive and rigorous,that's expected.
Not going to apply le...i matriculating this year.
If i know this last year i would try out their exam round.Took a look at their sample questions for maths and science didnt look that difficult to me.

Adventia

Hmm...so you graduate with a degree in Japanese studies ?

himuro_shosuke

Hmm...so you graduate with a degree in Japanese studies ?

Yar lor... I'm a language freak...
Double majored in E Lang and JS but honours kena forced to take JS cos it's part of an agreement for the scholarship.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.