learning japanese

dimitri_can

I am just preparing u guys for the difficulty in JLPT 2. When you don't know, then you will go look it up and learn the word by heart. 6000 words at JLPT 2, most of the vocabulary is of JLPT 3 level, there are only 4 words that are of maybe JLPT 2 level.

Try looking up a dictionary for those words.
コース

したっけ(札幌弁)

一応、

中旬

XasakuraX

haha sorry for butting in. yup one might feel that the course fees are expensive. however i feel that the fees are worth it. the notes are good, and really ALOT.

so we dun pay for those notes they print for us?

I am just preparing u guys for the difficulty in JLPT 2. When you don't know, then you will go look it up and learn the word by hard. 6000 words at JLPT 2, most of the vocabulary is of JLPT 3 level, there are only 4 words that are of maybe JLPT 2 level.

Try looking up a dictionary for those words.
コース

したっけ(札幌弁)

一応、

中旬

*by heart* u mean :s12:
コース = course, 中旬 = middle
e other 2 dunnoe. :s13:

fox1

日本語ムズインスので、ヤメナ。

This is to prepare for real street Japanese. :D

azumangadaioh

bunka placement test is free ar? but they wrote must decide the class u wan upon the results of the test leh.

"(a) If you pass, you are obligated to pay up the full amount for the course that you have decided on"

as in it sounds like u r obliged to enroll in their class once u take their placement test? i mean althou i m looking for courses to join, i dun really like the feel tt u r obliged to join their sch. hahaha.

Although I would tell you in private that you can ignore those "obliged" parts, [ I think ] it is to prevent some "ppl" from "other schools" to just take their tests for "research", and use it "elsewhere". It's also to deter those who just go there to take the test for fun and walk away.

The tests are FREE, you can take as many times you want, until you are too embarrassed to repeat the test anymore.

Of course the best advice you will get is to go to the school PERSONALLY and ask them. Emails will take some time to reply back to you [ as they are really shorthanded ], start by calling first [ avoid peak hours ] to make an appointment to take the test [ there will be a Classroom A for that purpose ]. When you go there to take the test, ask them things you like to know, as nothing is better than coming straight from the horse's mouth...

The best way to obtain information is often free, just ask for it...

XasakuraX

haha. okiez. thz! =)

wld most probably start checking them out in dec after exams n holis. haha.

celinehgl

Need help here

I am confused by the hours in the bunka school.

So, the pricing and hours for the elementary level is :
S$220
2 hours 2 times a week
for 12 sessions
(Weekday Daytime)

or

S$265
3 hours per week
for 10 sessions

In other words, is either $220 for 48 hours and $265 for 30 hours + $10 textbook? Is it?
So is it 1 time considered one session?

azumangadaioh

Need help here

I am confused by the hours in the bunka school.

So, the pricing and hours for the elementary level is :
S$220
2 hours 2 times a week
for 12 sessions
(Weekday Daytime)

or

S$265
3 hours per week
for 10 sessions

In other words, is either $220 for 48 hours and $265 for 30 hours + $10 textbook? Is it?
So is it 1 time considered one session?

[ FOWS ] It is actually 24 hours [ 2hrs x 12 lessons = 6 week course ] for day course, and 30 hours [ 3hrs x 10 lessons = 10 week ] for evening course, although the elementary evening course originally used to be 24 hours also [ 3hrs x 8 lessons = 8 week course] when I started with them last year [ I was in the 6-week day class FYI ]

[ FOWS ] $10 textbook is chargeable, does not matter if you take day or evening class.

[ FOWS ] Textbooks for ALL Intermediate levels are FREE [ included in the price of the course ]

[ NOWS ] All levels will include supplement notes handed out by the sensei EVERY lesson, so make sure you attend all lessons to get them...

[ FOWS ] ONLY evening class for Elementary 1 is the exception, it has 10 lessons, everything else inclusive of all Intermediate levels are 24hours each, Elementary 1 day course and Elementary 2 evening course are 24 hours also.

[ NOWS ] There are also Elementary 2 day classes, but it will only be available during the school holidays...

If 48 hours charge only 220, I think everyone will swarm to attend the day class bah...

FOWS = Found On WebSite
NOWS = Not On WebSite

XasakuraX

anyone study at jcs before? what is their course fees like? cant find their rates on9...

still deciding btw jcs, bunka n ikoma.

azumangadaioh

Can any kind soul make a price and hours comparison based on the following schools:

Bunka : http://www.bunkalang.com/courses_schedules.shtml
Inoue: http://www.inoue.com.sg/language-elementary.htm
JCS: http://www.jcss.org.sg/
Hougang Japanese Language School : http://japaneselanguage.client.jp/

I think other than the cost per hour, you must also look at the flexibility for the time slot you are intending to take, if you want to learn long term without major disruptions with your time management.

Take JCS for example, don't see any quoting of amount for individual levels. Based on what is found on the website, if you sign up for any particular levels, seems once you pay up [ lump sum or installments ? ], you have to commit to those days you signed up for the rest of the year.

- Are there any free X number of replacement classes if you are absent ?

- Anything greater than X number, what is the amount you need to pay per replacement class ?

- Minimum percentage of class attendance to be considered as attended the course...

- What happens if you don't have the minimum attendance ? [ let's ignore failing the promotion test aside first ]

- and issues like you are moving faster than your coursemates but stuck with them for the rest of the year, or you are falling behind in progessing but have to force yourself to keep up for many weeks more...

Maybe someone who is currently there [ schools other than Bunka ] can let us know ?
Info from current students would be preferred...

celinehgl

Hi azumangadaioh, thanks for clarifying.

I am currently doing my university studies, considered quite a heavy load le...but i want to study jap so time should be the concern - gives me the flexibility to make up lesson if that week i cannot make it, the second factor will be pricing though I find that these 4 schools pricing are rather similar.

I did study elementary Japanese before but now I can only remember how to pronounce few basic words..btw, I also need the teacher who is slow, my bf went to take jap somewhere at hougang - the teacher speed the course so fast that he cannot understand especially when he does not know how to look at which Japanese words. I don't want to ended up spending more time of self-study because of the teacher.

Anyway, based on the requirements, which school would be better?

XasakuraX

wah. i didnt know attendance count oso xia. tot if can pass their exam can liao...

say if i take the elementary 1 class at bunka but realise i know the stuff liao can i request to go ele 2?

i would probably be learning for long term n i dun wanna change sch halfway so the sch i deciding to go is very impt. haha. most probably learn from basic is the best since i stopped for 2 years in sch le.

location wise bunka, ikoma n jcs r quite accessible, all in town area.
timing wise, wld prefer wkends thou.
cost wise, i think most schs r still ard the same.
most impt factor would be the teachers bah. wld prefer native speakers to those who learnt jap till jlpt 1. haha. nth against them, just personal preference.

i noticed most schs haven update their website to the new jlpt system? so would there be any changes to the curriculum? like for example elementary becomes 3 levels instead of the original 2 etc. cos my aim is to take jlpt N1 in the shortest possible time.

azumangadaioh

I am currently doing my university studies, considered quite a heavy load le...but i want to study jap so time should be the concern - gives me the flexibility to make up lesson if that week i cannot make it, the second factor will be pricing though I find that these 4 schools pricing are rather similar.

I did study elementary Japanese before but now I can only remember how to pronounce few basic words..btw, I also need the teacher who is slow, my bf went to take jap somewhere at hougang - the teacher speed the course so fast that he cannot understand especially when he does not know how to look at which Japanese words. I don't want to ended up spending more time of self-study because of the teacher.

[ NOWS ] Bunka has 2 FREE replacement class per course, additional replacement costs 40++ Most ppl just use up 1 replacement class only, so should be no problem for you.

Going to lesson tmr so will confirm the cost of replacement class again.

I used free replacement classes to take lessons that are close to each other in terms of dates, so no need to take 8 weeks, if you are good, use the system to finish it in 6 weeks and jump to next level. [ Applicable to Ele levels only ]

The senseis are using a fixed format to teach, will have a routine to follow [ they have a checklist if you observe ] so that when you take replacement classes [ usually it's on another day, by another sensei ], you can still follow through. Another thing is,
[ NOWS ] for Ele levels especially, if you have friends taking different days, but same level, you will find that lesson 1 for you and lesson 1 for your frd will be the same, same notes, same words taught, of course, same homework, same for other lessons like 3, 5, 6 etc, although not 100%, even if it's different sensei for you and your friends, but mostly consistent.

The standard stuff that I recall for Ele1 were:

- pronouncing words properly [ pitch / tone / speed ]

- writing exercises [ sensei will actually walk around and see how you write, check your homework and correct them, even if a stroke is slightly longer, curves are larger, for Hiragana ]

- speaking together after sensei explains a word and asks the class to repeat the word

- sensei to student [ sensei asks 1 question per student to answer in Japanese ]

- student to student [ dialogue practising: 3 or 4 questions decided by sensei, and asked and answered between partners using words learnt to apply in context ]

- homework

- tests [ final test and surprise ad hoc test ]

- Romaji will be dropped and Hiragana will be used for teaching for the remainer of the course from a certain X lesson onwards [ you will know when the time comes ]

azumangadaioh

say if i take the elementary 1 class at bunka but realise i know the stuff liao can i request to go ele 2?

Take Ele1 placement test. Don't procrastinate. Even if you don't join the school, it's FREE, so you should test your ability. Note: If you cannot get most marks correct for a conjugation table section [ on 1st page ] in the test, you are better off starting from Ele1 as it forms the basis of all future grammar taught, and tested in all future tests...

i noticed most schs haven update their website to the new jlpt system? so would there be any changes to the curriculum? like for example elementary becomes 3 levels instead of the original 2 etc. cos my aim is to take jlpt N1 in the shortest possible time.

What I heard from a sensei is there has no been any notification or updates with regards to actual teaching guidelines from Japan so everyone is keeping very still...

My personal guess is any new changes made will be from Pre-Adv 2 [ maybe split PA2 and combine with PA1 ] and above...
Everything else below PA1, should have very little changes, since already mentioned that N4 and N5, is the same as current 3 and 4, in case you don't realise, [ FOWS ] Bunka Int4 is like level3...

Every week you spent deciding means 1 week less for you to do revision for JLPT or go to a higher level. I say just grab a few friends, each of you go to 3 different schools. and compare your Japanese ability with each other, decide amongst yourselves which is most suitable and head there.

I am aiming for N1 next Dec, so will have migraine for the next 14 months...

[FOWS] = Found On WebSite
[NOWS] = Not On WebSite

XasakuraX

haha. thz for the advices. i can only start gg for lessons in mid dec onwards so no hurry yet, thou i wld wan to decide on the sch asap. still deciding to take placement test anot cos i jioing frens to take with me n they nvr learnt jap b4 plus i dun wanna take alone. haha. will see how bah when time comes. now sch exams more impt. lolx.

dimitri_can

I think that regardless of the teacher, the amount of time take to do self-study is very important. The teacher is only there to facilitate your learning. If you find that the teacher is not good, highlight it out to the teacher.

Previously, when i had problems with my studies, i will stay back after class to clarify it out with the teacher. The teachers themselves also have a syllabus to follow, e.g in Hougang, it's 2 weeks for 1 chapter. I think in Bunka Intermediate course, it's 1 week for 2 chapters? (maybe azu-san can clarify on that),

JCS and Ikoma-Keong san?

If some students are holding back the class, it is on the onus of these students to seek the teacher out after class.

My 2 cents.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.