LED lights really not worth it sia

Zze121

had a 5m strip, used 7yr
contact point is hot due to 5m long
link to a selector switch, burn at switch contact point 2 times due to on long hr
must use laptop size driver
some ah-tiong mickey-mouse driver can last, some only 2yr

tatsit

I guess LED light brings out the karen in everyone, it could even be the nemesis of Harry Potter, beating Voldemort.

Harry Potter changes light bulb by holding on to it as the world revolves around him... not possible for LED lights eh?

testerjp

Very hard to replace meh.

Now magnet attached.
Easier than florescent in the past.

Remove the case.
Disconnect wire, replace new led.
No screws needed.

The wire connector can be changed to those quick button or lever type that no need to use the screw driver.

If buy those fan plus led, it's a stupid idea because you choose to buy two in one and have to be stuck in its proprietary design. :(

weiess

using philips bulb.. G24d and E14 type..
so easy for me to leeplace..

coyote

only two wires leh... nothing to unscrew

dun bluff us ok

Mine just twist the cover can take down. Switch off main switch, the remove the led module stuck magnetically to the holder, release two wires. Then connect the two wires from the new module, stick it magnetically to the holder. Twist the cover back. Viola.

glarerder

The only advantage I feel is the instant light on within having to flicker and then on.

mooseolly

I buy on shopee 36W 3 modes wan is about $5. Very easy to change also because they use magnet to stick to the plate.

zurink

The older LEDs have flickering which can be detected if you hold your phone camera in slow motion video mode under the light. Newer generation LEDs have rectified this issue.

beano

In Aust, most of the LED downlights are connected via normal connector.. so in SG you could do the same, if you ask your contractor to make normal plugs all over.. you can easily replace it yourself.

PbPtIHJ.png

brownkai

How come TS got problems? Unless he is not electrical trained.

15 years ago when I did my reno, I was still deciding to go LED or not. Prices in sg was high. I bought 2 LED lights in from TB 6 months before my reno. I have some doubts on the quality since it was so much cheaper than in sg. When arrived, the connection was damm simple, 3 connections needed - E, N & L. I connected these 2 units to the 3 pin plug and powered them up to simulate normal usage. 3 months of testing, no problems encountered and I purchased in large qty in, with 3 extras in case they blew. Till now all the led lights are still working well, zero replacements done. Nobdimming over the years. The brand is Philips.

If need to change the unit, it's quite simple, at the sides there are 2 spring clips to hold it to the ceiling. Just need to push the clips up and the unit can be taken down.

My altar also used LED, LED strip. Powered on for 15 years 24x7, only turned off for half a day for cny cleaning. To date, the LED strips still working well, only changed 1 power supply.

Over at parents house, modded the round florescent light to LED. Closing to 10 years, it is still working well.
Yes 10 yrs ago LED sibei ex... Now come with many sharp and size

manics

you should have bought those LED bulbs or tubes. just a straight forward replacement.

for LEDs, the first to go is likely the driver, not the LED strip.

Ironside

We were always told the 'benefits' of it - it saves electricity and can last very long, blah blah.

But then when you ownself want to replace, it is a bit complicated. Either need to hire handyman or ownself refer to tutorials and ownself figure out.

I managed to do ownself... But it is hell. I cannot replace it at night then must endure until next morning... Have to use table lamp. Then next morning when want to replace, must unscrew so many parts. Then I realised we got tricked because we were told LED light could last 5,000 hours or what, but then when I counted it barely even reached 2,000 hours as advertised.

And depending where you installed the LED light, it can be pointless. For example, toilet... You don't use toilet for hours what. At most, at night or during dark rainy days, and you usually just use 5-30 mins max.

And if you notice, the LED lights are usually in serial connection (one connecting to the next), so if suay suay after the first LED is burnt, the rest all cannot on liao since there's no 'closed' circuit. And you don't know where is the fault sometimes, the connection or LED adapter.

When want to replace, usually must replace the whole damn thing... Then must unscrew here and there, and replace the compartment just to slot out the LED parts.

I rather stick to my old 8 watt light bulb sua. Just unscrew and put in. Easy.

Also, replace normal light bulb - $5-8. Anyone can do, even your parents or grandma or grandpa.
Replace LED, $15-20; if hire handyman add in $30-50.
U can use led light bulb

enimen

What is exactly causing the led to burn out? Is it heat?

enimen

I contribute my data point, changed all LED lights at my parents' house myself, never tell them the cost, but they so happy and blanjah me $200 crab dinner, hahahhahah...

1) $2 China no brand LED Panel Rings x6 = last about 7 years 2016-2023
2) $2 China no brand LED Module x6 = last about 6 years 2016-2022
3) $1 China no brand LED e27 Bulbs x2 (toilet) = last about 5 years 2016-2021 - 1 Flickering, so I just change both
4) $7 Philips G24D LED x 5 (toilet/kitchen/storeroom) = Since 2016, still running strong

Actually 1,2,3, I get them free with lazada/shopee new user voucher. I think $2 use for 5-7 years is very good already lah. Of course, I also hope $1 can use for 10 years. Maybe the Philips one will last for 20 years.

Before the climate voucher expire in 2 years time, I will buy one full set of Philips LED lights, hopefully the price will be cheaper.
Can share the links?

Is it easy to replace?

Hot_Dog

no rehs, moi led bulb ish screw in screw out huan, bery easy reh. Also use 3 yrs riao still no need to change reh.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.