Let's DELL

Gribber

My sis using Dell laptop in office and sometimes bring home, she complained v hot :(

Not sure what model is she using but confirm plus chop not Inspiron 15 7000 :o

For your last point, yes right now the laptop that i am using to type gets hot on the left side of the keyboard and it is worse when i play dota... so i give up on dota as it is like chimney can make the 'horrr horrr horrr' fan sound so noisy :s13:

Is she hotter than the dell inspiron 15 7000? :o

WhiteAnt

Dell Inspiron 15 7000 while having 2 fans to cool down the system, what about the noise create by the fan? I guess having full blast twin fans will affect the gaming sound experience.

i believe with 2 fans, the Dell Inspiron 15 7000 can get pretty noisy unless they are not at full blast speed :o

maybe need to see the physical product first as this is just my gut feel ~

wadsad

Dell Inspirion 15 7000 opt out 4k UHD Touchscreen but no decrease in prices~?

I wonder if the cost to manufactured both type of screens are the same since touchscreen mobile phones screens are in production in huge production~

oh can opt out ah. no decrease in price? wah damn jialat leh.

previously i went for mbp instead of mba cause the price difference really can feel. mbp is without retina display. so i would assume dell would also reduce the price if you opt out of 4k display. think they wan all to jump onto 4k liao.

Gribber

previously i went for mbp instead of mba cause the price difference really can feel. mbp is without retina display. so i would assume dell would also reduce the price if you opt out of 4k display. think they wan all to jump onto 4k liao.

Difficult to consider the Dell Inspiron 15 7000 if dell no update its interface leh

WhiteAnt

Give you an example:

In terms of the accuracy of real sense 3D camera, how well do you all think it will fare?

You can share a portion of the article. Then maybe add on similar experience like X box, kinect and talk about their accuracy in the sensors, the frustrations that you have encountered and what you hope to experience in Dell's products.

Boss here give enough hints liao hor...;)

Given the rate of latest technology, Intel Realsense 3D camera will gain better accuracy than Kinect. Who knows, maybe Kinect is looking into how Intel Realsense is working to learn about the backend specs.

The limitations of Kinect is playing game which required going nearer or further away from the sensor in order to be 'accurate' enough to pass that game's stage. There is a learning curve to keep up with the senor's measuring method which I find ridiculous. Shouldn't it be the other way round where the machine gotta start interpreting and guessing the human's distance and motion correctly through a smarter A.I.

I find it a pity that older folks will find technology hard to learn because more can be done to make this available to the needy disability individuals who can't reach certain height. This could improve their daily lives :o

Dell Inspiron 15 7000 maybe can implement such suggestions where Realsense 3D camera to capture those motion and gestures.

Gribber

Macbook retina is 4k? How does it pit against Dell Inspiron 15 7000 monitor?

Gribber

Given the rate of latest technology, Intel Realsense 3D camera will gain better accuracy than Kinect. Who knows, maybe Kinect is looking into how Intel Realsense is working to learn about the backend specs.

The limitations of Kinect is playing game which required going nearer or further away from the sensor in order to be 'accurate' enough to pass that game's stage. There is a learning curve to keep up with the senor's measuring method which I find ridiculous. Shouldn't it be the other way round where the machine gotta start interpreting and guessing the human's distance and motion correctly through a smarter A.I.

I find it a pity that older folks will find technology hard to learn because more can be done to make this available to the needy disability individuals who can't reach certain height. This could improve their daily lives :o

Dell Inspiron 15 7000 maybe can implement such suggestions where Realsense 3D camera to capture those motion and gestures.

i think they have to think of ways to implement something to improve in today's technology over purely games...

wadsad

Macbook retina is 4k? How does it pit against Dell Inspiron 15 7000 monitor?

no not 4k. looks really good. but really not worth the difference.

plus your monitor only that big. if u say its 42 inch or more, then maybe worth.

haven take a look at dell's.

Ohayo!

Most i see ok just some ram module is below keyboard those quite tricky as well...

I hope the Dell Inspiron 15 7000 chassis can be easily removed. Some back covereven after removing the screws also damn tricky to remove.

Usually they will leave the RAM slot accessible so can easily access without dismantling anything other than the backcover.

Some manufacturers paste some black plastic film over the holes on the back of the cover. No idea why they do that. Heat causes components to fail and will affect performance when it throttles. Its damaging to the long battery life too.

Not sure if they trying to be funny or trying channel the airflow to the fan or prevent dust from entering. If gaming, im sure heat will be produced quickly but isnt it better to leave the holes open so heat can dissipate quickly?

The dell Inspiron 15 7000 has 2 fans so i guess heat shouldnt be much of an issue.

Gribber

Usually they will leave the RAM slot accessible so can easily access without dismantling anything other than the backcover.

Some manufacturers paste some black plastic film over the holes on the back of the cover. No idea why they do that. Heat causes components to fail and will affect performance when it throttles. Its damaging to the long battery life too.

Not sure if they trying to be funny or trying channel the airflow to the fan or prevent dust from entering. If gaming, im sure heat will be produced quickly but isnt it better to leave the holes open so heat can dissipate quickly?

The dell Inspiron 15 7000 has 2 fans so i guess heat shouldnt be much of an issue.

you mean for dell? it doesn't seems like there is an individual ram cover for you to upgrade with.

most ultrabooks i've work with comes in 1 whole plate.

Gribber

btw to those who are interested

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-dells-5k-monitor-will-be-available-later-december-us2499

dell-5k-monitor.jpg

HWZ, can we redeem this? :o

If you need an ultra high resolution display, Apple's new iMac with 5K Retina display will not be the only option soon. Dell has just announced that its new UltraSharp 27 monitor will go on sale here later in December for US$2499 (around S$3229 at the time of writing).

Here we are talking about 4K. If i could redeem this i can boost to my friend 4K is so yesterday. We are talking about 5K now!!! The UltraSharp 27 also comes with integrated Harmon Kardon speakers that have a combined rated output of 32W. It also features a built-in USB 3.0 hub - one upstream USB 3.0 port and five downstream USB 3.0 ports.

This is 1 hell of a speaker as well!

5120x2880 Ultra HD resolution is so tasty!

mosmos

According to one actual buyer's review, the temperatures around critical mainly used keyboard buttons is still fine but not so good in some other parts. And the fans are running loud, but fortunately not high-pitched:

Dell Inspirion 15 7000 using 4K UHD touchscreen with such high heat while in operation, I wonder if opt for FHD screen will get a lower gpu temperature and hence better screen performance.

wadsad

siao ah 1 monitor SGD 3k. :s13::s13:

btw to those who are interested

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-dells-5k-monitor-will-be-available-later-december-us2499

dell-5k-monitor.jpg

HWZ, can we redeem this? :o

If you need an ultra high resolution display, Apple's new iMac with 5K Retina display will not be the only option soon. Dell has just announced that its new UltraSharp 27 monitor will go on sale here later in December for US$2499 (around S$3229 at the time of writing).

Here we are talking about 4K. If i could redeem this i can boost to my friend 4K is so yesterday. We are talking about 5K now!!! The UltraSharp 27 also comes with integrated Harmon Kardon speakers that have a combined rated output of 32W. It also features a built-in USB 3.0 hub - one upstream USB 3.0 port and five downstream USB 3.0 ports.

This is 1 hell of a speaker as well!

5120x2880 Ultra HD resolution is so tasty!

Ohayo!

The 4k uhd has more ppi and higher color gamut. Perfect for the engineering or architecture students! The high ppi is also great for writing bunch of programming or marketing reports.

I think Dell is bold to make a uhd screen laptop for under 2kk

But OSX should be friendly to progammer and architecture students? I have 2 friends both of them own Macbooks. So not sure if they buy Macbook because of its user-friendliness or for the brand.

Ultabooks nowadays also very slim and can watch media and gaming too.

I'm a sucker for Windows laptops because i could easily upgrade parts on most books.

Mac on the other hand...

The Dell Inspiron 15 7000 looks promising :)

I only buy Windows. No OSX for me. So means ill pick Dell Inspiron 15 7000 over a Mac anytime.

I can't be bothered to learn. Games are meant to be played on Windows anyway.

xiaowhois

At least Dell simplify the upgrading procedure by ALOT with just the removal of back panel without any intimidating warranty seal sticker pasted all over the screw holes....

Many brands i've come across gotta remove almost entire motherboard just to upgrade WiFi card.

Dell make it easy to upgrade also mean less work/time taken for their outsource after service staff to repair/replace the Inspiron laptop. win win situation for end user who wish to upgrade on their own and for their own service staff to do repair work

xiaowhois

I'm a sucker for Windows laptops because i could easily upgrade parts on most books.

Mac on the other hand...

The Dell Inspiron 15 7000 looks promising

Mac dont want u do anything to their macbook even to upgrade ram unlike Dell Inspiron series laptop you can change HDD to SSD~ upgrade ram or even change wifi card.

xiaowhois

Dell Inspiron 15 7000 while having 2 fans to cool down the system, what about the noise create by the fan? I guess having full blast twin fans will affect the gaming sound experience.

if the Dell Inspiron 15 7000's fan cause noise loud until affect your gaming sound experience mean time to call Dell Hotline and ask the service staff to replace your fan liao

mosmos

Even Inspiron 24 7000 as it comes with Intel RealSense 3D Camera with Windows 10 Hello, the problem is we cannot bring it out for project works..=:p

While Dell Inspiron 15 7000 with 4K UHD touchscreen was not too friendly to bring out to public due to the weight and high heat dissipated from the GPU, using Windows 10 with Windows Hello may also affect the performances of the OS. I guess better stick to Windows 8.1?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.