Let's DELL

jarred1223

It would better if the Dell Inspirion 15 7000 series came with Nvidia GTX 970/980 GPU instead of the mobile version of the GPUs.

the amount of HEAT a GTX970/980 produced inside a laptop like Inspirion 15 7000 will make it a mini-oven :vijayadmin:

koreanlover

I think many would lose the 4K screen for longer battery life and cheaper price. However i also feel students today are exposed to the high ppi handphone screens that some may want to continue the same experience on their laptops.

Laptops over the years have gone down in pricing with better processing power, but the screen quality always remained poor. Even in expensive gaming laptops they started to use as standard good quality IPS 1080p screen a year ago.

Dell Inspiron 15 7000 with 4K IPS touch screen is a first move to bring high quality screen to an affordable range while still packing powerful computing. Buyers on the look out for a new laptop may like what they see on this model since i do not see an alternative model to Dell's yet.

Yes I think at this point of time, longer battery life and cheaper price is more important than the 4k screen, as there is not much 4k content to fully utilize it. Hopefully, more 4k content and more laptops with 4k screen are available soon to bring down the price.

xtramadness

Caught the Dell Inspiron 24 7000 in real life at Best Denki.

Size of it to the wireless keyboard. Salesman were taking a break from set up, i cannot power it on sad to say. No Realsense action yet. :(
W49b.jpg

Side profile, the power cable into the base and it is the only cable you need!
X49b.jpg

Realsense 3D camera! Notice the big sensor which i think is the normal camera, the middle gear is the infrared projector and left is the infrared sensor
Y49b.jpg

Standard pricing from Best. Dell also has another non-Realsense Inspiron AIO with quad core i5.
Z49b.jpg

The camera on the Dell Inspirion 24 7000 jin dua sia! What about the Dell Inspirion 15 7000?

xtramadness

I also think that Dell Inspiron 15 7000 with 4K UHD touch screen will shorten the battery life.

But for students, their classroom now equipped with power plug, no problem for whatever duration they may be using~

I am not sure how many applications support 4K UHD, maybe youtube perhaps?

Youtube, blurray etc supports 4K... 4K gaming not possible on this specs IMO...

I wonder, if we dont use Dell Inspirion 15 7000 and 24 7000, can the Intel RealSense 3D work on RaspBerry? :s12:

what88

I'm really confused by the many versions of Dell Inspirion 15 7000 and 24 7000. Seems there is another magic number (7559 above) besides the model number.

Nothing to confuse.

To make it simple, ignore those number after 7000, you only need to memorise Insipron 24 7000 is AIO desktop while for Inspiron 15 7000 laptop got 2 variants; 2-in-1 and non 2-in-1. =:p

xtramadness

Best Junction 8. :D
Tomorrow you go down it should be turned on, updated and ready to rock the real Realsense. No talk, real action. :D

So are we having a outing tomorrow to try the Dell Inspirion 15 7000 and 24 7000 and test the Intel RealSense 3D Camera

xtramadness

Dell Inspirion 15 7000 did not come with Intel Realsense so most likely its camera same as normal laptop lo...

But the drivers to get it to work mah

Yea, one of the bro here mentioned if buy ProSupport, they got cover accidental damages like screen crack for both models..

Forgot to let you know that you will need get Dell ProSupport with Accidental Damages, it is like every 1 year warranty term you can only claim once under accidental damages for your Dell Inspirion 15 7000 or Dell Inspiron 24 7000.

So is also tiered lah.... hmm... I wonder if engage insurance company to cover the Dell Inspirion 15 7000 and 24 7000 will be cheaper or not

what88

Wah.. Dell Inspirion 15 7000 and 24 7000 got many variants... Confusing!!!

But they got so many options.. also blur liao... :s22:

Yaa, a bit confusing but IIRC only for Dell Inspirion 15 7000 only 7559 model is come with NVidia GTX 960M graphic card.

xiaowhois

what88

What happen if all the participants of Let's Dell go J8 Best to hands 'on'/off the Inspiron 24 7000 tomorrow, the salesmen will shock?

I am curious to see how Realsense performed on a much more powerful platform in i7 6700HQ, 16GB of ram, dedicated GPU and Windows 10. What kind of new idea apps will be available on the AIO?

Dell Venue 8 is an Android tablet that is under-powered and under-developed to pass off as a fulfilling experience. It was more of an experiment by Dell and Intel.

Junction 8 is too far for me. :(

Whoever stay around Bishan can to experience Inspiron 24 7000 with Realsense Technolgy and also Inspiron 15 7000 with 4K UHD if available. After hand on then can write a quality review to post for earning bonus points. :D:D

koreanlover

no it does not come with a optical drive.

i feel thats the right move because the use of disk is not really very common now. most ppl are using USB and SD cards. not having the optical drive will help make the laptop lighter, which i believe thats what dell is trying to do, to mitigate the size of the laptop. 15" laptop are not light.

You can see dell reinforcing this idea with the SSD M2 slot. by using SSD M2 instead of the full size 2.5" SSD, more weight can be cut off.

i have had 15" laptops in the past, and carrying it around is no joke.

Oh I thought 15" laptops usually come with an optical drive, and only ultrabooks normally come without it.

Maybe when the SSD M2 drops to a lower price, Dell might introduce Inspirion 15 without the 2.5" HDD/SSD bay but with 2 or more M2 slots.

jarred1223

if Inspiron 24 7000 comes with 4K UHD.. I think will suit it better than 4K UHD on Inspiron 15 7000 :s13:

koreanlover

I have a 4K TV at 55 inch. I still cant tell the difference unless i compared it with a FHD TV. The distance between my place of viewing and the TV is not that far off either.

The Dell Inspiron 15 7000 4K screen can tell difference without comparing with a FHD laptop side by side meh?

Will HWZ by doing a comparison in this aspect for us to see the difference or challenge ourselves if we really need the upgrade to a 4K?

A comparison with the Inspirion 15 7000's 4k screen and a FHD laptop screen would be good.

what88

Yes I think at this point of time, longer battery life and cheaper price is more important than the 4k screen, as there is not much 4k content to fully utilize it. Hopefully, more 4k content and more laptops with 4k screen are available soon to bring down the price.

Even though in future 4K UHD screen is commonly use but if battery life is your main concern then mostly you will choose FHD over 4K UHD.

Unfortunately Dell Inspiron 15 7000 i7 FHD model is not available in Singapore. :(

what88

if Inspiron 24 7000 comes with 4K UHD.. I think will suit it better than 4K UHD on Inspiron 15 7000 :s13:

Dun think it will be much different even using 4K UHD on Inspiron 24 7000. With our naked eyes and this screen size, more or less we will get the same picture quality on 15" vs 24".

koreanlover

In my quest to win XPS15 voucher i go across Singapore to search and found in Best Denki J8 is this newly unpacked Inspiron 24 7000. I think tomorrow the AIO will be set up and ready to try the Realsense camera and apps.

I also saw the new Alienware 15 with Skylake cpu unpacked. It has a very solid and compact casing that feels worth the asking price.

ok joking, i was passing by and saw it. =:p

How much is the Alienware 15 with Skylake CPU ?

The Dell Inspirion 24 7000 looks slim and stylish but probably not very suitable for hardcore gaming.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.