Let's DELL

jarred1223

looks cool but not very partical unless you wanted to sit down on the chair and play on the table, the glowing lights are distracting to eyes too~ :s22:

I still prefer a laptop like Dell Alienware 17 R3 or Dell inspiron 17 7000, sometimes tired can just unplug from the mains and put the laptop on bed or sofa to continue my gaming or net surfing~

My dear boy.. The lights can switch off one you know?

WhiteHunter

:s22:

As always pointing this out.

You not aiming for XPS then? :s22: What item are you gunning for then?

Maybe you can tell the rest so they can do their calculations easier.

I'm currently still studying so I have no issues. Just letting other student know about this since a lot of my friends paid money for Office 2016.

if student still ok but non-student then best is to buy normal version or use old version which is cheaper to purchase. pc show always got discounts for microsoft products.

wadsad

looks cool but not very partical unless you wanted to sit down on the chair and play on the table, the glowing lights are distracting to eyes too~ :s22:

I still prefer a laptop like Dell Alienware 17 R3 or Dell inspiron 17 7000, sometimes tired can just unplug from the mains and put the laptop on bed or sofa to continue my gaming or net surfing~

see what kind of games u play and how much u wan to enjoy it lor.

Ohayo!

Wow.. thanks for sharing.

Always thought need to pay $$$ for MS office software ;)

No problem. It's very good since its like Office 365 subscription. This means you will always be able to update to the latest version of Office as long as you are still studying.

I was able to update from Office 2013 to 2016 earlier this year.

i think problem is with the graphics card inside bah. :s13:

must see the development in this area liao. who knows the AGA may be obsolete liao.

Alienware Graphics Amplifier has room for upgrades so unless Alienware stop supporting it or the graphic cards get longer/bigger and unable to fit into it or PSU not enough else i think it can support future cards

https://na.alienwarearena.com/forum...al-support-1/alienware-graphics-amplifier-faq

Will the Alienware Graphics Amplifier support future generation graphics cards from NVIDIA and AMD?

Yes.

As such, I think it is a pretty good investment for current or future owners of the Alienware laptops as they can enjoy high performance gaming on the newest graphic cards.

WhiteHunter

Alienware laptop also got glowing lights but you can customised the colour themes or switch off by using AlienFX from Alienware Command Center.

what88

The one in the picture looks like mini cinema to me. :s22::s22:

For me better to get a laptop such as Dell Inspiron 15 or 17 series, my pocket is not deep enough...:o

jtec14

yup.
alot of things can be customised on the dell alienware laptop. keyboard, touchpad, side of laptop. etc.
really can make it look very unique.
can say every alienware laptop is different. :s13:
Thanks, I remembered seeing those colour keyboards and I thought the users go and tune themselves, adding leds below... :s13::s13::s13:

WhiteHunter

see what kind of games u play and how much u wan to enjoy it lor.

for people like me who only play football manager and the sims, Alienware 17 R3 with Alienware Graphics Amplifier seems alittle overkill right.

Ohayo!

if student still ok but non-student then best is to buy normal version or use old version which is cheaper to purchase. pc show always got discounts for microsoft products.

Yup. Just buy a cheaper 2013. If really want free Google Docs is a good alternative.

Just to be clear, I dont condone software piracy. My steam account have 300+ games is enough evidence to show that. Just sharing what I know.

Most institute disable the email they provide you and give you a separate alumi email access anyway.

From what I have read, emails with alumni in it even though end with .edu wont be able to take advantage of this offer.

mosmos

Who made up an idea of the "extendable" graphics card first though? MSI or Dell Alienware?

Dell Alienware 17 R3 to use the Dell Graphics Amplifier... I don't think they are the first!
The Area-51 is very expensive, maybe Dell thinks buyers wants Office 2016 and the McAfee antivirus. They should let buyers upgrade the SSD and wireless. But does the Alienware 17 R3 have options to upgrade than the Area-51?

:s22: Not sure whether Dell Alienware or MSI invented the Graphics Amplifier first~

But one thing for sure, it was a silly invention for a laptop, since is a powerful gaming portable unit, why do we still need an external driver unit that was not powered by a battery? :s22:

The cost of these gaming laptop already at sky high prices for average citizens~

But a problem if you DIY upgrade may void the Dell warranty.

I guess most would just settle for Dell Inspiron 17 7000 for the 4K UHD touchscreen for added feature.

what88

No problem. It's very good since its like Office 365 subscription. This means you will always be able to update to the latest version of Office as long as you are still studying.

I was able to update from Office 2013 to 2016 earlier this year.

Alienware Graphics Amplifier has room for upgrades so unless Alienware stop supporting it or the graphic cards get longer/bigger and unable to fit into it or PSU not enough else i think it can support future cards

https://na.alienwarearena.com/forum...al-support-1/alienware-graphics-amplifier-faq

Will the Alienware Graphics Amplifier support future generation graphics cards from NVIDIA and AMD?

Yes.

As such, I think it is a pretty good investment for current or future owners of the Alienware laptops as they can enjoy high performance gaming on the newest graphic cards.

Think by then Dell may come out with improve version of Alienware Graphics Amplifier which will suit for future market. :)

jtec14

A lot of people play using controller on their PC too.

Touchscreen should make it optional for the Alienware laptop. Yes, most people may not need it but it still has its uses. I play Clash of Clans on my PC, so having a touchscreen would be very helpful.

Cause play on my phone will not have slow performance, somemore if I want to record a bit difficult. Play on PC can get 60fps powerful performance with emulator, can zoom out still see everything clearly too. Laptop also have long battery life compared to phone. Dont need to keep charging.
I think by adding a touchscreen to Alienware laptop, it will make the pricing less attractive liao since Alienware already cost a premium. Also are there any good games that utilised touchscreen?

wadsad

for people like me who only play football manager and the sims, Alienware 17 R3 with Alienware Graphics Amplifier seems alittle overkill right.

yeah. the dell alienware way too overkill liao.

the integrated graphics in the intel processor is good enough liao. dont even need dedicated gpu.

jtec14

Looked like Dell is going full scale in gaming desktop/laptop, all videos related to gaming using Dell machines, be it from Inspiron or Alienware. The gaming market must be good to make $$, I supposed gamers are more than willing to fork out $$ for superb visual and audio experiences in gaming?

But for a laptop, I still maintained the same view, best leave it for a bit of gaming and on the move usages. Furthermore I seldom see people gaming on the move using laptop. Or those serious gamers always bring the Alienware 15 R2, Alienware 17 R3 + the Alienware Graphics Amplifier to each other's houses for gaming sessions overnight, mass gaming orgies??? =:p Siao leh, dunno need how many multiple plugs... Of course if free one, i certainly dun mind. :p

I think only alienware 13 met my criteria for gaming on the move with a 13.3" screen. Hardcore gaming, would preferred desktop like the Alienware Alpha and at home.

Ohayo!

There is room for Dell to improve their Alienware Grahpics Amplifier, at least to make it smaller and smaller, so that easy to bring it out .

may be next coming model Dell will include this Intel Realsense Technology to make use Wondows 10 Hello.

I don't think the Alienware Grahpics Amplifier is meant to be portable. After all, you have to connect it to a powerpoint.

http://www.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/alienware-graphics-amplifier

You can see that the word "Home" is mentioned multiple times in the site above.

Actually i dont mind it a bit larger, as long as it will be able to fit new graphic cards.

I wouldnt want to run to the store happily, buy the latest high performance gaming card and realise it wont be able to fit due to physical size constraint.

mosmos

Hmm... Nah I rather build my own... Of course the Dell Alienware 17 R3 + Graphics Amplifier cannot compare with desktop...

But the Area-51 I really dislike the fact that it does not let us opt-OUT (factory) of getting the Office 2016, crappy McAfee software... SSD only up to 512GB... Wireless still using the old Intel 7260..

I guess Dell Area-51 at this price already include everything, out of the box you can already start gaming. But kind of pity such high end, high price system, they only include a basic 512 SSD, even Samsung SSD T1 already easily available selling at 1TB capacity.

Maybe Dell Alienware and Dell Inspiron 24 7000 need a storage capcity upgrade badly out of the box.

Ohayo!

must see the price and the release date of the dell alienware laptop. ytd someone showed a link that showed nvidia made the desktop 980 into the size of a laptop 980?

so got chance is the desktop 980 version. but if is the early 2015 alienware, then should be typo.

edit: yeah i think is typo. i think so far dont have a laptop on the market with gtx 980. still in progress only.

Have GTX 980 graphic cards on laptops. Someone posted this image here before.

geforce-gtx-980-notebooks-upcoming-models-r2-640px.png

But then it will be extremely bulky and take up huge space. Battery life also severely affected. That's why Alienware choose to manufacture a separate AGA for its gamers to enjoy desktop gaming when they are at home. Best of both worlds!

WhiteHunter

yeah. the dell alienware way too overkill liao.

the integrated graphics in the intel processor is good enough liao. dont even need dedicated gpu.

integrated graphics can only play football manager on low settings and totally cant play the sims as it will crash. min at least a GTX 960 for sims to be on high settings with good frame rates.

Ohayo!

I think by adding a touchscreen to Alienware laptop, it will make the pricing less attractive liao since Alienware already cost a premium. Also are there any good games that utilised touchscreen?

Sure! There are a lot in fact. You can check them out on the Steam url below.
http://store.steampowered.com/tag/en/TouchFriendly/#p=0&tab=NewReleases

It is especially useful for those detective games where you have to tap on items/clues to play the game.

Alternatively, you can play your Android games on your PC using emulators like Bluestacks http://www.bluestacks.com/ or GenyMotion https://www.genymotion.com/.

Looked like Dell is going full scale in gaming desktop/laptop, all videos related to gaming using Dell machines, be it from Inspiron or Alienware. The gaming market must be good to make $$, I supposed gamers are more than willing to fork out $$ for superb visual and audio experiences in gaming?

But for a laptop, I still maintained the same view, best leave it for a bit of gaming and on the move usages. Furthermore I seldom see people gaming on the move using laptop. Or those serious gamers always bring the Alienware 15 R2, Alienware 17 R3 + the Alienware Graphics Amplifier to each other's houses for gaming sessions overnight, mass gaming orgies??? =:p Siao leh, dunno need how many multiple plugs... Of course if free one, i certainly dun mind. :p

I think only alienware 13 met my criteria for gaming on the move with a 13.3" screen. Hardcore gaming, would preferred desktop like the Alienware Alpha and at home.

At the very least, it will consume less powerpoints than desktop users :s13:
Desktop require CPU, Monitor, Speakers(or dont need if using headset).

Its good for gaming la. Play with friends games like CS:GO or DOTA 2 should be able to run max settings even without the Alienware Graphics Amplifier. Those games dont really require high performance cards. That is the whole point of portability and mobility.

I also prefer desktop for gaming. Having a bigger screen is always better for gaming. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.